Midnight Flurry in THE QUILTER (Holiday 2013)

holiday_cover

Hello Friends, some of you expressed you would like to see Midnight Flurry first from my latest stack o’ quilts.  Here it is!  Midnight Flurry is featured in The Quilter’s special Holiday 2013 issue.  You may purchase the issue at most newsstands, or online here.

MidnightFlurry-for-web[image source:  The Quilter]

The design of this fun and easy quilt is spiced up by alternating fabrics and orientations of the same block.

Design 2f_46 x 58_high res

The fabrics I used are from Holiday Dreams by RJR Fabrics.  Click here to view the entire fabric range.  Don’t forget to check out the blue/cappuccino colorway!

IMG_2303

I really like the fact that the beige neutral fabric is printed with words:

IMG_3848

Here are more shots of the quilt:

IMG_3838

IMG_3839

As much as I like how the blocks play out in the overall design, I think I like the borders the best in this quilt.

IMG_3853

IMG_3855

I quilted my Jester’s Hat motif on the quilt using Aurifil Mako Cotton 50 thread over Hobbs‘ Tuscany Silk batting.  The quilt has a really nice feel to it.  You may click here, here and here to read about Jester’s Hat.

IMG_5316

IMG_5322

I hope you liked seeing Midnight Flurry.  And I would love to see your version if you are making the quilt!  By the way, does anyone know how many days do we have till Christmas?

Thanks for stopping by.  Hugs to you all.

***

Have you see my other 2013 magazine features/published work?

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes Book (April 2013): Sunburst Melody

Annie’s Fat Quarter Shuffle (October 2013): Persian Rug

Annie’s Fat Quarter Shuffle (October 2013): Starry Dance

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Curious Cats

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Fabrique Foursome

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Fall 2013): Interlock

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

QUILT (June/July 2013): Color Burst

QUILT (June/July 2013): Pattern Play

QUILT (August/September 2013): Enchanted Forest

QUILT (October/November 2013): Rise & Shine

Quilt-it…today (July/August 2013): Yay Day

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilt Trends (Fall 2013): Manhattan

Quilts and More (Spring 2013): 2 Wishes

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World (Summer 2013): Garden Mist

Quilter’s World (Autumn 2013): Christmas Cheer

Quilter’s World (Autumn 2013): Quilty Christmas Ornaments

Quilter’s World (Winter 2013): Elephant Walk

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts & Sewing (Spring 2013):  Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

The Quilter (August/September 2013): Rising Stars, Cover Quilt

The Quilter (Holiday 2013): Winter Wonderland

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farmyard Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Benartex Free Pattern (June 2013): Birds on a Wire using Let’s Tweet

Benartex Free Pattern (July 2013): Silver Lining using Urban Oasis 

Benartex (August 2013): The Gallery using Floral Philosophy

Lecien Free Pattern, Lynette Anderson (April 2013):  Forest Floor/Wildflower Wood

Lecien Free Pattern, Lynette Anderson (September 2013): Country Stars/Mending Fences

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (June 2013): Simply Sweet using lief!Lifestyle

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (July 2013):  Rooster Royale

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (October 2013): Moonflower

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (October 2013): Tutu Cute

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (May 2013): Nature’s Harmony/Silent Harmony

RJR Fabrics Free Pattern (May 2013): Tied with a Bow/A Gingerbread Christmas

14 thoughts on “Midnight Flurry in THE QUILTER (Holiday 2013)

  1. Wendy the quilt is really beautiful! I just can’t get over how quicky you design, piece AND quilt these beauties!! Thanks so much for sharing — your posts always inspire. I googled “days till christmas” and came up with 61. Oh my, I better get off this computer and on to the sewing machine. Have a wonderful day ! Karen on Keuka

    http://www.xmasclock.com/

  2. Ooh, I like what I see. Very much Christmas. I like the inside as well as the border. Think I will like it in other fabrics……maybe florals, maybe 30’s……hmmm!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. I don’t want to think about how many days we have left!!!! I saw your quilt in my magaizine and recognized it immediately. I really like that one with the black.

  4. Pretty quilt! I have no idea how many days are left until Christmas and am afraid to even look! LOL
    I love fabrics that have words printed on them. When cut into small pieces and used in a quilt they just add another level of interest.

  5. Beautiful quilt! Reminds me of a Mary Engelbreit collection I have in my stash! I’m a sucker for fabrics with words on them too! It’s finally cool enough at night for it to be quilt weather in Houston~just in time for festival next week! It’s going to be a wonderful (exhausting) week!

Leave a comment