Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #65

thread-talk1

Hello Friends, I am happy to share with you a “faux” long-arm free motion quilting motif that I have quilted on my latest completed quilt.  I am going to show you how “quilting off the seat of one’s pants” works out in real life using a piece of paper.  The goal is to fill the paper with the motif — exactly like how we would quilt an allover quilting motif on a quilt.  So, first let’s look at the progression of filling up a space with quilting motifs, starting from #1.  The different colors denote different repeats of the motif.

IMG_1430

IMG_1432

So, here you see I “quilted” #1-9 with not much of any abnormality.  I do want you to note how I always have my “starting” swirl of each repeat going a different direction — as much as I can — that gives the overall effect a sense of movement!  I also want you to notice that the leaves aren’t in any particular shape as long as they taper inward, as well as the filler swirls I use to fill up some open space that is too small to fit another repeat of the motif.

IMG_1434

I sort of quilted myself in a corner at #9, and have no convenient to get out to fill the remaining open area.  No big deal, cut the thread, and find a convenient spot to start again.  Thus #10 and so on, until an entire area is filled up.

IMG_1436

IMG_1439

Here is what is on paper transferred to a real quilt looks like on the back of my latest completed quilt…

IMG_1424

IMG_1422

Curious what the quilt looks like on the front?  I am afraid you have to wait.  All I can tell you is that my husband loves the quilt.  He has great taste, because he…. married me!  HAHA.  Please note I am totally cracking a lame joke at that one!  Alrightie, I shall catch up with you later!

p.s.  You may click here for my other Thread Talk posts.

17 thoughts on “Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #65

  1. Thanks so much for adding another beautiful motif to my sketch book!!!!! I can see how this would be easily used to evenly do an E2E (for those who prefer a “panto” look!)………hugs…….

  2. Wow…it is beautiful! I do not do any free motion quilting anymore. Yep, I pretty much just gave up and will leave it to those of you who know what you are doing. I think your joke was cute. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful creative day!

  3. I love the quilting design. Your husband definitely has great taste, they all do when they choose their wives mine is one lucky man lol. Can’t wait to see the front.

  4. The quilting motif is lovely. Thanks for the “step by step.” Of course your husband has excellent taste……in many areas☺️ Looking forward to seeing the front of this quilt.

  5. Your husband does have good taste–love the step by step. Sure that this will require practice and practice for me. Can’t wait to see the front!! I am sure it will be spectacular! May not have spelled that word right!

  6. Love it! Thanks for more great inspiration (and permission to start again if I get stuck in a corner). Great ideas!

  7. You are so gracious to take the time to share this excellent tutorial. I love it and can’t wait until my morning chores are done so I can draw it out!

  8. Thanks for sharing the quilting motif! May I use it for my bee? I’m still trying to get them to do a free motion quilting challenge. I think I have more of them interested. This would make a great motif to use! Hugs!

Leave a comment