Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #64

thread-talk1

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend.  I had to pack in quite a bit of work to make something happen, but that’s okay.   I am just now catching up with your comments/emails!

Often times what I plan in my mind for quilting scheme on my quilts don’t come to pass.  On this most recently finished quilt, I had planned for formal feather plumes — but one just can’t quite force formal on adorable polka dots.

IMG_0735

In the end, I turned to my informal pseudo feathers and “plume-ified” them.  Basically, I quilted my plumes as I would in my regular feather plumes, except forming my feather lobes differently.  It took a little bit to get used to. Just make sure you follow the path of quilting the regular feather plumes, and go from there, and I think you will be fine.  The effect is lighter, air-ier, and sweeter!

Click here to read about my Thread Talk post on feather plumes.

Click here to read about forming psedo-feathers.

Click here to read all of my archived Thread Talk post.

Thank you for stopping by – I have to run for now.  I have A LOT to get done before I can go to bed tonight.  I shall catch up with you later!  Love and hugs to you all.

6 thoughts on “Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #64

  1. I think that your middle name is “Energizer” as you just keep on going and going and going. I find it amazing how our quilts “speak” to us. You might think one idea is the way to go but then a nagging feeling begins to tug, telling you that something is just not quite right. Seems as though it is these little changes that take so much more time. However, in the end, the change is usually for the best. I am excited to see what you have done. Red and polka dots……it has got to be spectacular!!

  2. I just discovered your blog today and spent some time going through your posts: I just had to tell you that your quilting is wonderful, and I love the quilts you’ve designed! :-) I’ll be looking for your new booK!! Hugs, H in Healdsburg

  3. As much as we LOVE those (more formal) feathers, those little sweet dots just wouldn’t take to being paired with such!!!!! Wonderful choice!!!! “Air-y”, graceful……like a ballerina doing a pirouette!!!!…….that’s what comes to my mind (oh those very early ballet days now in the deep shadows of an early, and very young, past!!! sigh………..). Hugs to you!! SSAB

Leave a comment