Curious Cats in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013)

EQ130032

Hello Friends!  I hope you are well.  Have you seen the latest Summer 2013 Fons and Porter‘s Easy Quilt issue?  I want to say “Thank You” to those who wrote to tell me you saw my Curious Cats quilt in the magazine issue, way before I received my copy!  You see, oftentimes I have several quilts waiting to be placed at Fons and Porter, and I normally don’t know what gets placed where, until a magazine issue is officially out.

Curious Cats

Back to Curious Cats… here is another behind-the-scenes snippet to share.  There were many an email exchanged between the editorial team and myself while we were finalizing the design.  I think the design went through like eight revisions before I received the final green light.  I said all that to share with you magazine editors are very serious about featuring in their magazines what they think as the best and most helpful to their readers.  When you think of it, drop a line and thank the editors of the magazines you receive.  You will encourage them greatly.

IMG_0373

IMG_0376

This design majors in versatility in that it uses two of the easiest and most common blocks to highlight the fabrics in Benartex’s Ziggy Cat collection.

IMG_0371

This easy to put together, weekend project sort of quilt makes a quick gift, or a quilt that’s meant to be used.  I call our “meant to be used” quilts car quilts because I always take them with me on my way out to the car to bundle Miss Baby in the cold months.

IMG_0370

Quilting was done using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  Looking at the overall look, I think you would agree with me feathers won’t probably feel at home.  So I opted for straight line quilting, with a bit of a twist to the grid.

IMG_0372

Click here to purchase the quilt kits.  You may also click here to access the material lists if you want to make the quilt in twin or queen sizes.

IMG_0381

I hope you liked seeing my Curious Cats.  Now, curious mind wants to know what fabrics you will use in the designs if the cats aren’t your thing!  Keep the ideas coming – you might help a fellow reader decide just the fabrics to use in a design like my Curious Cats quilt!

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a fantastic day.

***

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Curious Cat” – click on the links for more information:

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Fabrique Foursome, to be posted

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  2 Wishes, to be posted

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts and Sewing (Spring 2013): Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

6 thoughts on “Curious Cats in Fons and Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013)

  1. I love cats, and I love this design – this may be the design I’ll use for my next grandbaby’s quilt, which I need to begin really soon! These fabrics would be great since we won’t know the baby’s gender until s/he is born.

  2. Charming cat quilt!! Recently I have been drawn to fabrics that are sewing themed. The cat portions could be replaced with fabrics that have thread spools, needles or pincushions printed on them.

    Have a great week!

  3. Very classic, quick and easy quilt pattern and good to highlight those particular fabrics! It would work for sewing themed fabrics and I would like puppy or zoo or jungle fabrics, too. I liked the straight line quilting as it seemed the best for the pattern and busy fabrics….simple and straightforward without anything to detract from the fun fabrics.
    I machine quilt all my bed quilts and throws. I know how my kids and grandkids use those types of quilts and hand quilted ones wouldn’t last. I only hand quilt my wall hangings now where
    my extensive quilting won’t be harmed.
    Hope you are having a good week!
    donna j from KS

Leave a Reply

