Tango in QUILT TRENDS (Winter 2013)

COVER200

Hi Friends!  Thanks for all your sweet emails/comments the last couple of days.  I haven’t been at the computer much.  So, it’s nice to open up my inbox and read through a string of sweet emails/comments from you!

Tango is going to be the last magazine feature quilt I am sharing with you this year.  And it is a COVER QUILT, featured in the Winter 2013 of Quilt Trends Magazine!  If you aren’t aware of Quilt Trends Magazine, I would say the projects featured in the magazine are contemporary quilts with style!  Check out their website for a sampling of the projects if you aren’t already familiar with the magazine.

Undoubtedly, Tango is very unlike my usual style!  But it was good to step out of my comfort zone when designing this quilt for a more contemporary look.

Tango

Tango uses the contemporary style fabrics from Red Rooster Fabrics’ Mango Tango fabric collection.  These fabrics are truly stunning in the visual effect department.

IMG_3521

And the design also illustrates the concept of using solids/basics/blenders to highlight the print fabrics in the collection.  Click here to purchase quilt kits.  [A side question: What do you think of that red couch in the styled shot?  No, it’s not like my antique camelback couch, but I think it is growing on me!]

Tango Style Shot

[Image source:  Quilt Trends Magazine]

Here are a few close-up shots.

IMG_3527

IMG_4549

IMG_4548

As you can see from the pictures, quilting was simple.  I quilted circles to kind of “break up” the stuffiness of the squares!  Click here to read about the method I used to quilt the circles.  As usual, quilting was done using Aurifil Mako 50 thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

Thanks for stopping by, my Friends!  I can’t believe 2012 is almost over, and most of you have been such encouragement to me this whole year!  Please know that I do appreciate your friendship and love.

I have to go to the store for some last minute Christmas errands.  So I’d better run….

11 thoughts on “Tango in QUILT TRENDS (Winter 2013)

  1. Interesting quilt! Went down to RSC for more pictures when there weren’t tons of people milling around! Awesome! See you the 29th! Merry Christmas!

  2. I was drawn to this quilt because of the color combination, then was pleasantly surprised to see that you designed it. I love it and have been collecting fabrics. Now I think I have the perfect pattern to use them in! Thank you! And now, I’d like to wish you, Wendy and your family a very Merry Christmas and a Blessed New Year. Can’t wait to see what designs you come up with next!

  3. Wendy, having tried to quilt circles myself, I am in awe of yours — I don’t care what you were tracing around. The only way I can quilt circles as smooth as yours is IN MY EMBROIDERY HOOP! ;-)

    Congratulations on another beautiful magazine quilt, and MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and your family!

  4. Another winner Wendy – and on the cover too!!!! I love the boldness of this quilt – and those fabrics are wonderful :*) Love the way you quilted it in circles – works perfectly with all the lines in the design.

    Hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas and a prosperous New Year! We love and appreciate you too – very much!!!

  5. I love the colours and the prints in the fabrics, but my tastes lie in the Victorian Era — but after seeing the fabrics closer, I feel like the fabrics couild be used in a traditional layout and could be used by both those who like modern and traditional. Have a wonderful Christmas and enjoy a break with your little one. I can hardly wait to get going in my machine quilting class but I had to put it off to make my quilted table topper Christmas gifts. I have done five and have three more to do before Christmas. The couch — not my style.

  6. (sigh) I had promised to stop buying magazines, since I have enough patterns, etc, to last several lifetimes but I really like this one….yup, I do…..and can see it as a QOV. Even have some fabric that would work so well! I would do stars all over it (using the freezer paper method, too—–great stuff!!!!). I have decided that as much as some patterns have a more ‘today’ feel…the thing they have in common is the fabric and that is what draws me! So bring it on……all, and any, of it! Am so in love with the whole process!!! OK, enough!-D Christmas Blessings, D

Leave a Reply

