Apple of My Eye in LOVE THOSE PRECUTS by Annie’s

98389

Hello Friends!  I had shown you last summer sneak peeks of a quilt I was making using Riley Blake’s Apple of My Eye fat quarters!

IMG_2352

IMG_2719

I am happy I can finally show you “Apple of My Eye” in its entirety!  It is featured in “Love Those Precuts“, a newly released Annie’s quilt pattern book.

Apple of My Eye

This was a fun, easy and quick quilt to make.   I thought the snowball blocks made cute sashing accents among the fabric squares.

IMG_0162

IMG_0164

The publisher creatively styled the quilt as a child’s bed quilt.  I think it can also be used as a table topper for a spring whimsical themed tea party.

AppleOfMyEyes_Setup_Annies[image source:  Annie’s]

Here, you can see I have styled the quilt to go with more serious props.  I quickly stole a few minutes from work to set out my props while Miss Baby was resting!  If you had followed me in my early Ivory Spring days, you would know that I used to style my quilts with tableware A LOT more, and always enjoyed it.  Life is just a little bit more complicated for me to play with my dishes now compared to my pre-Miss Baby era.

IMG_0175

IMG_0181

The quilting was accomplished with my usual partners in creativity – Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

IMG_0166

The quilting motif was inspired by the paisley print on the border fabric.  You can see it better from this picture of the quilt back, and a close up of the fabric print.  I have posted the stitching path of this motif in a Thread Talk post here.

IMG_2720

IMG_2789

Here is the question of the day – what dishes (or props) would you use from your stash to go with “Apple of My Eye”?  I would personally like to look in Ellen and Mrs. Magpie‘s stashes to see what else would go with the quilt. ;)

Thanks for stopping by – it’s back to work I go!!

****

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Apple of My Eye” – click on links for more information:

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  2 Wishes, to be posted

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches, to be posted

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

21 thoughts on “Apple of My Eye in LOVE THOSE PRECUTS by Annie’s

  1. I’m laughing because you sent me to grammarstars.blogspot.com   Actually, the name of the book in the picture is Love THOSE Precuts, which is grammatically correct, not Love THEM Precuts. Sorry, I’m my mother’s daughter.

      Susan Henyon suehenyon@rocketmail.com

    ________________________________

    • Oh gosh, Sue — That is embarrassing!! Now, you are going to think I talk “cheap” English, rather than the “Queen’s” ;) Thanks for pointing that out. I think I have made the necessary corrections in the appropriate places.

      I am over-worked, what can I say?! ;) Still, there’s no excuse for making such an error, eh? :)

      WS

  2. Love the new quilt!! It is feminine, floral, and fun. Thanks for the “thread talk” on how to quilt the new motif.

    Think that I would display the quilt with a bouquet of roses that are in a milk glass vase.

    • I have always been fascinated about the topic and I plan on doing more reading on the subject some day soon. All use social media to raise their profiles. You must really have a smart head resting on your shoulders. What is really great about this website is that it provides really quality information while also being entertaining. Top Website experts would really like your page.

  3. Love that stitching motif and so glad to see the rest of the quilt! So many of the fabrics I have in my stash are some type of floral! “Snowball” blocks have got to me one of the most versatile! Gorgeous finish!!! Hugs…..

  4. I absolutely LOVE the snowball block sashing with the simple squares. Definitely a winning combo, and thanks for showing the paisley quilting from the backside. Very pretty and unique. Congratulations!

    • Spot on with this website. It is very informative and you are obviously very knowledgeable in this area. How many people could really believe in that sort of thing? This might be a weird thing to to say but, I like your blogs.

  5. Ohhhh, another beautiful quilt!!! I am imagining it set with my pink depression era glass. Maybe a piece or two of antique silverware. Thanks for sharing!

  6. I would love to use my Aqua Pyrex serving pieces. They would be perfect. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment on my blog. I appreciate your thoughtfulness.

  7. i’ve been eyeing this fabric line for weeks — thanks for making my decision easy! your quilt is beautiful & you’ve totally inspired me. :)

Leave a comment