Fabrique Foursome in Fons & Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013)

EQ130032

Welcome back, Friends!  I hope you had a restful and wonderful weekend.  Our little family took a little break from our fast-paced life over the weekend.  I am happy to report to you that I packed in quite a bit of sleep over the weekend.  So now I am all ready to work on all things Spring Quilt Market!

You might recall my Curious Cats quilt was featured in the Summer 2013 issue of Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts.  Today, I am sharing with you another quilt that is featured in the same issue.  My Fabrique Foursome!

ff1

IMG_1221

The colors!  That’s my feeling when I look at my Fabrique Foursome quilt.  The fabrics are from Paula Nadelstern’s Fabrique-istan and Extreme Colors collections, by Benartex.  The instructions in the magazine detail how the fabrics are fussy cut to easily achieve the “burst” effects you see in the quilt blocks.

IMG_1214

IMG_1228

IMG_1215

I like to use both black and white to tie the quilt design together when I am using a lot of colors within a design.

IMG_1328

Snapping these pictures was not without challenges…. as you can see in the following sequence! :)

ff3

ff4

IMG_1335

You can probably imagine what ensued… my little lovely assistant, who worried about my Stained Glass quilt falling into the water, had a “more important” pursuit (literally!) during this photo shoot.

ff5

Now back to Fabrique Foursome the quilt… A quick thank you to Sherry McConnell from Indiana for piecing the quilt.  The design itself is meant to showcase the fabrics, and so quilting was kept to a minimal using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

IMG_1231

Fabrique Foursome quilt kits are available for purchase here.  You can also browse here for non-quilting Paula Nadelstern products.

IMG_1208

I hope you have enjoyed the colors in Fabrique Foursome.  And I want to wish you a very Happy Monday and week!  God bless you all.

***

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Fabric Foursome” – click on the links for more information:

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Annie’s Sweet Layer Cakes (April 2013): Sunburst Melody, to be posted

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2013): Curious Cats

Fons and Porter’s Love of Quilting (March/April 2013):  Now I know my ABC’s

Machine Quilting Unlimited (March/April 2013): Quilting Curvy Feathers

QUILT (June/July 2013): Pattern Play, to be posted

QUILT (June/July 2013): Color Burst, to be posted

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilts and More (Spring 2013): 2 Wishes

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World (April 2013): Monkey Around

Quilter’s World (Summer 2013): Garden Mist, to be posted

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Simple Quilts & Sewing (Spring 2013):  Stained Glass

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Flora Linda/Catalina

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

24 thoughts on “Fabrique Foursome in Fons & Porter’s EASY QUILTS (Summer 2013)

  1. I love the quilt! I’ve seen that fabric and have wondered what I could do with it. The fabric is scrumptious and I like your idea of splitting the starburst. Now, I will have to get a yard or two. oh my. ;)

  2. Love the quilt & the fabrics. But Miss Baby really stole my attention looking like the classic Morton Salt Girl (You may be too young to know that reference). She just needed an umbrella to look like the cute little girl in rain gear. Such a sweet picture.

  3. LOVE the fussy cut quilt blocks and the colorful sashing. Some help with the photos is nice as well! lol. The purse looks great with the quilt as well. Thanks for sharing with us.

  4. Yet another stunner! I was at the bookstore this weekend and saw Garden Mist in one of the quilting magazines.

    Your little assistant and the kitty made me smile!

  5. Wat een prachtige Quilt. Hoe kom ik aan dit tijdschrift voor het patroon
    Ik woon in Holland. Heb wel hier de stof ontdekt
    hoor het graag

    • I am impressed. Your website probably saved my marriage. {You must be really proud of the work you’ve done here.|I was checking out a seo consultant the other day but I still I have really been thinking about purchasing a seo consultant but I honestly have no clue which one I should purchase. Seeing your website is way better than snuggles. I would like to say good blog!

  6. Did you use both star bursts I only see one as the focal point, could you use the other one for a center also?

  7. Ooh, how did I miss this one, Wendy? I LOVE how you used this print! Now that I see how you fussy-cut this fabric so successfully, it’s a shame that my Lars will just be randomly cutting his into strips for fence rail and 9 patch blocks!

  8. The quilt is absolutely gorgeous. I love the idea of the foursome but I am not quite into the fussy cutting yet. I love your sequence of Little Miss following the kitty. I several cats so I can see why she would go after the kitty. And I love your skillful assessment that using black and white would be so perfect with all the colours. I must remember that when doing a foursome. I have been away from my computer — have missed this blog and hearing from you Wendy.

Leave a comment