Brownies – slightly dry or moist?

Happy Friday, Friends!  This is totally off quilting… I realized it’s been a while since I showed you I actually do other things besides quilting!  HA!

IMG_4825

The recipe for the above “slightly moist” brownie is available here.  I didn’t have dark chocolate chunks.  So I just regular semi-sweet chocolate chunks.  Turned out de-lish.  Now it’s your turn to tell me if you like your brownies slightly most, or dry.  There is of course no correct answer to this question.  Do you also have a favorite recipe for brownies?

Have a great weekend!  Today I am taking about 4-5 quilts for styled outdoor photography.  Stay tuned for details.  Have a lovely weekend!

19 thoughts on “Brownies – slightly dry or moist?

  1. good morning Wendy!
    Gosh, this is such a personal question heehee
    I like my brownies … um medium. I do not like them oily
    I like them dry enough that they do not smear all over the place and on my teeth.
    Have a delightful Friday
    It is windy here and I just rolled out of bed.

  2. Moist…for sure. Really enjoyed the picture as I am a “dessert plate” person. Love to serve my guests a home made dessert on a pretty plate.

    Would love you to give some tips on setting up quilts for photography.

    Have fun weekend!

  3. My Craft Group had a brownie bakeoff last year, and I was lucky enough to be the winner. Here is the recipe:

    3/4 Pound butter
    2 1/4 cups sugar
    5 eggs (or 6 if smaller)
    1/2 Tablespoon vanilla extract
    3/4 cup plus 1 Tablespoon flour
    3/4 cup plus 1 Tablespoon cocoa powder (Rodelle is a dutch dark cocoa)
    1/4 Tablespoon salt (I used salted butter so left this out)
    1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
    3/4 cup chopped nuts (optional and I did not use)

    Preheat oven to 350. Line a 9 x 13 pan with parchment paper and spray lightly with cooking spray. Melt butter and sugar in a heavy saucepan on very low heat. Let the mixture slightly cool and transfer to a large bowl. Add eggs gradually mixing well. Add vanilla extract.

    Sift dry ingredients together and add to the egg mixture, stirring gently and minimally. Add chocolate chips. Pour into pan and bake for approximately 35 minutes. Do not over bake. Cool prior to cutting. Turn onto a surface and peel parchment paper off.

    Serves 12 so says the container, but it makes quite a large pan.

    There were quite a few discussions on the type of brownie people liked, and most of the vote was for dark and chewy!

    Your brownie on the plate is lovely. Very nicely placed with the single rasberry on top, and the whipped cream under. Lovely, thanks for sharing!

  4. My recipe is very similar to Linda’s (above) which come out very moist and wonderful!! My “go to” brownie recipe! I would like some photo pointers, also, if you have any to share! The “pros” have their secrets that turn a photo from ordinary to extraordinary! Yummy post! Hugs, SSAB

  5. Depends on how I want to eat brownies: dry if I can wait for my glass of milk to dunk or moist if I can’t wait and want it right out of the oven. But what I really can’t wait for is to see the quilts you’re photographing! More hugs, ellen.

  6. You have to have a MOIST brownie! Your brownie looks so darling cut into a heart shape. And that way you could eat all the edges and inbetween each brownie. Your ideas are alwlays so superb! I do have a favourite brownie I have made for 37 years. It is a fudge brownie — very moist and chocolately! If you would like the recipe, let me know and I will send it to you.

  7. I’m definitely a moist brownie girl! We are hosting a crawfish boil this weekend here in Magnolia, Texas. My BFF wanted to know how many brownies to bring…which at the time, made my really crave a yummy brownie…will have to wait till tomorrow! Sounds like we all have brownies on our minds this weekend!!

  8. Moist … and the family likes them down right wet. One year for hubby’s birthday, I made a batch and instead of baking just gave him the bowl.

  9. I like my brownies very dense & on the moist side. Course then again there’s the fight to get the corner brownie with the crispy edges!

Leave a Reply

