Quilting “uniquely good”…

Hello Friends, I hope you are doing well.  Beloved Bunny of The Creative Hare sent me the link to an article documenting a recent study that concludes quilting is uniquely good… click here to read the article.

garden mist

Of course, we quilters know that quilting is uniquely good for everyone, eh?  It is good for the quilter, and it is good for the recipient of quilts (in many cases for generations)!  So, my quilting friends – now we have NO excuse or whatsoever feeling guilty when adding to our fabric stashes, right?! :)  And that brings me to share with you the fabrics going into my next quilt…

IMG_3837

What do you think of these new fabrics?  Do you like them?

Thanks for stopping by!  Hugs to you all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 thoughts on “Quilting “uniquely good”…

  1. The fabrics are very pretty and soft, very contemporary. Think that I am more of a traditionalist. One of my favorite quilts of your is the first one shown on this blog with the more vibrant colors. However, I am sure that whatever you do with the new fabrics will be stunning.

  2. Can’t wait to see what you do with these fabric. They seem very different from what we’ve seen before. Not my favorite colors, but I think they are very interesting.

  3. Thank you but no. The weave of the fabric looks like drapes from the 1940’s my mother owned and I threw away. The print reminds me of the 1970’s and I don’t want to do those years again.

  4. I can’t wait to see what you do with this group. I love the fresh,updated but also traditional feel of the designs. Love you blog.

  5. Interesting feedback you’re getting Wendy. The answer for me is complicated. I would normally choose more traditional fabrics – but because I have young granddaughters between the ages of 15 and 9 years old the more modern fabrics catch my eye (for them). I think they are pretty, i would make something for my granddaughters out of them, but I am not sure i would choose them for a project that I was going to keep for myself.

    Regardless, can’t wait to see what you do with them !

    Hugs,
    Karen

  6. Well, I’m obviously in the minority here, but I especially like the floral print and the stripe. Love the colors! I’ve made quilts along the spectrum from traditional to contemporary–any excuse for more fabric!

    The quilt at the top of your post is very fun!

  7. Well, I don’t mind the stripe in the middle… but I have to say that I just do not like the new “modern” fabrics coming out, nor the modern style of quilts. That being said, I’m sure you’ll do something interesting with those fabrics!

  8. I think those are neat fabrics and very current. I look forward to seeing what you do with them, Wendy. And I adore that first quilt. Wow! And double Wow!

    I like the idea that the fabrics have a retro feel. Actually,the floral has a latter 19th century look with a bit of a watercolor look to the flower. Some of the designs from that period are throwbacks, too, to more of the Arts and Crafts period, and for some reason I sense a bit of that in the floral design. The squares have that Mid-Century Modern look and remind me of the Jetsons! The stripes look a little like Laura Ashley which I always loved.

    While it might not be to everyone’s taste, I think it is important to provide young quilters with what might be considered more contemporary fabrics. It was interesting that some people remarked that the fabrics looked like old clothes. Well early American quilts were often made from old clothes. My grandmother and her sisters would actually recycle their dresses into quilts so that each of them could have bits of their sisters’ favorite dresses. And during the Great Depression, people made quilts from feed sacks and old clothes both. They are some of my favorites. When I think about it, it might behoove all of us to look at some of the fabrics in our own clothes and see if they can be recycled into quilt squares. Great way to recycle! And while it could easily be the difference in my monitor, these look bright and pretty to me. Granted I’m not really an orange fan, but orange is big in design from looking at the design blogs. Fun question!

    • Good answer!! Modern/contemporary is really something we all saw before, it is just Retro. So JETSON’s….funny because I would guess a lot of MODERN quilters don’t have a clue who they were!

  9. I love the orange!! I used a lot of orange last year, and am drawn to any fabric that has those pops of orange and turquoise. These fabrics, while modern, take me back to the 1960’s…the MOD fabrics!! Orange is tricky because some people have definate opinions!! It is a strong color, so you must love it to use it.

  10. Of course we all know about the joys of quilting. I have to say that those fabrics would not be my choice, but I know you will do wonders with them.

  11. Sorry, I don’t care for the fabrics at all …too faded, too modern. They remind me of drapes and upholstery fabrics from the 50s. But as I always say, it was your money and you are the one looking at them so if it’s something you like, go for it.

  12. Many posts ago you showed us a storage cupboard you had a woodworker make for your stash. Do you think we could have an update as to how big of a stash you have stored in there?

    • Oh absolutely! I have already planned to show that when I share with you my American Patchwork & Quilting calendar cover quilt… so, just be a wee bit patient with me. :)

      Hugs, Wendy

  13. I love the applique quilt. Is there a pattern for it?
    I always enjoy seeing what others do with color combinations that I probably wouldn’t have chosen. You always make beautiful quilts!

Leave a Reply

