Exclamation Point in QUILTS and MORE (Spring 2015)

QMR1415_CV1CN_600

Happy Monday, Friends!  I hope you are doing well, and your week has gotten off a great start!  I am happy to finally share with you my quilt Exclamation Point, featured in Quilts and More’s Spring 2015 issue.

102319983_600

Used with permission from Quilts and More magazine. 2015 Meredith
Corporation. All rights reserved.

Exclamation is a paper-pieced quilt that was most fun to make!!  You know I love gray — and RED as well!  I added a slight hint of red amidst the grays to interject a bit of sparkle to the overall design.

IMG_0294

Exclamation Point is just that – lots of pointy points, achieved by paper piecing!

IMG_0259

You might be surprised/amused to find out this quilt, though in a contemporary look, is made using Lynette Anderson’s fabrics!  Lynette is known for whimsical and sweet, but her Bread and Butter fabrics turned out to be perfect for Exclamation Point.  Click here to view the Bread and Butter fabrics.

productimage-picture-bread-and-butter-fat-14-1506_jpg_980x700_q85

Since the neutral quilt design is pretty much uniform from block to block, I relied on the quilting to add personality to the overall look of the quilt.

IMG_0300

Quilting was done using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting – a totally winning combination for domestic machine quilting.

IMG_0254

IMG_0256

IMG_0253

Pattern instructions to make Exclamation Point are included in the magazine issue.  In case you missed the newsstand copy, you can still purchase the digital format here.

I can definitely see the quilt in many other color combinations.  If you aren’t a gray/red person — what would be your color combination of choice?  Nosy mind wants to know.

Thank you for stopping by!  I hope you have a most lovely rest of the week.  I have to get out of this sluggishness I contracted while we were on vacation last week…. reality check, Wendy — you aren’t on vacation anymore… you are back in real life!!!  YIKES!

***

My 2015 Line-up

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Get Happy

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Migration

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 73): Over The Fence

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Sunny Delight

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Family Dinner

Fons & Porter’s Scrap Quilts (Spring 2015): Stars are Brightly Shining

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2015): All In Knots (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quilting (March/April 2015): Making Valentines

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2015): Cozy Town

Quilter’s World (Spring 2015): Zigs and Zags

Quilts and More (Spring 2015): Exclamation Point

Free-to-use Designs:

January: A Red Letter Day using Seeing Red (Benartex)

January: Star Struck using Caryl’s Feathers (Benartex)

February: Happy Home House Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Runner (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Throw Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Farmville using Green Farms (Benartex)

February: Zoey’s Flowerbed using Zoey (Benartex)

March: Camp Cozy Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

March: Pretty Little Houses using Tango (Benartex)

March: Ariel (Quilting Treasures)

March: Flutter B’s using Butterfly Effect (Benartex)

April:  Baby Bunny using Bunny Hop (Benartex)

April: Yuki (Hoffman Fabrics)

April: Shimmering Constellations using Gold Standard (Benartex)

April: Bonjour (Quilting Treasures)

April: Baby Boutique (Quilting Treasures)

May: High Speed Racer using Vroom (Benartex)

May: Flower-Scapes using Blue Paradise / Sundrenched (Benartex)

May: Rusty’s Sleeping Hollow using Rusty & Friends (Benartex)

May: Christine’s Rose Garden using Christine (Benartex)

June: Treeline Drive (Hoffman Fabrics)

10 thoughts on “Exclamation Point in QUILTS and MORE (Spring 2015)

  1. Lovely as usual, Wendy. Grey wouldn’t have been my first choice, but after seeing it with the bit of red, I would reconsider!!

  2. Lovely choice of fabrics, especially after seeing them up close. The touch of red really sparks the quilt. I’m not sure about paper piecing though………. Have a good week.

  3. Gorgeous! I really love this grey quilt, which totally surprises me. This is a really effective way to use grey in a quilt – and love those bread and butter fabrics!! If I were to make it, I have a feeling it would be pinks and green.

  4. Very pretty. From where I sit it almost looks 3 dimensional like the popular pattern Mexican Stars. The red is perfect.

  5. I am totally in love with your Exclamation Point quilt……thank you for your gift of quilting. I would love to make this. I am having a hard time finding the fabrics. Also, what fabric numbers did you use? Thank you again.

  6. I just stumbled on this quilt YEARS later and I am IN LOVE with it!! I cannot find the magazine anywhere and need it. Is the pattern available for purchase?

Leave a comment