Making Valentines in McCALL’S QUILTING (March/April 2015) & Giveaway!

Cover FULL

Hello Friends, you know how excited I was when my first feature in McCall’s Quilting happened! I thought I had arrived when I saw with my own eyes Spiral Squared in the magazine spread.

IMG_5275

I am so excited I have another feature in McCall’s Quilting this year… meet Making Valentines.

mccallQuiltBtn

Making-Valentines-FLAT-600px

Making Valentines consists of easily constructed heart blocks, colored differently by different fabrics.  When I make Valentines with Miss Baby, I tend to make variations of the same style after making 5 of the same Valentines.   It just makes making Valentine that much more fun.

IMG_0185

Thus, the differently colored heart blocks in Making Valentines.

IMG_9443

IMG_9444

IMG_9445

IMG_9446

IMG_9447

I used Lynette Anderson’s Hearts and Flowers fabrics (released by RJR Fabrics) for a slightly different take on the usual Valentine’s Day colors — slightly muted and darker red paired with beige, gray and taupe.  I used white to offset the gray to give the overall design a Scandinavian feel.  Limited number of kits are available here.

IMG_9440

The simplicity of the 9-patch sashing blocks add whimsical touches to the quilt.  Notice my blocks aren’t wonky — that’s because I have a little trick when piecing small squares.  Click here for my little trick to chase away the wonkiness.

IMG_9452

I quilted allover Jester’s Hat on the quilt – using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  You can read about my Jester’s Hat motif herehere, and here.

IMG_9455

IMG_9454

IMG_9453

IMG_9450

IMG_9466

I hope you have liked seeing (and even making) Making Valentines.

IMG_9471

Now about the Giveaway… McCall’s is having a giveaway of my Recreating Antique Quilts book on their blog.  Read about my book here Click here for more information on the giveaway, and what others thought of Making Valentines.  My heart had gone afluttering reading about some of the sweet comments on my quilt.  Hurry to enter the giveaway – the deadline is Feb 14th.

00 RAQCover

And a big(!) thank you to McCall’s Quilting for sending me 2 magazine copies to give away to Ivory Spring readers.  Just leave a comment and tell me what you think of my Making Valentines quilt to enter the giveaway.  Winner will be announced on February 20th.

Thank you for stopping – and I do hope you have a sweet Valentine’s Day weekend!

***

My 2015 Line-up

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Get Happy

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Migration

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Sunny Delight

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Family Dinner

Fons & Porter’s Scrap Quilts (Spring 2015): Stars are Brightly Shining

McCall’s Quilting (March/April 2015): Making Valentines

Quilter’s World (Spring 2015): Zigs and Zags

Quilts and More (Spring 2015): Exclamation Point

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: A Red Letter Day using Seeing Red (Benartex)

January: Star Struck using Caryl’s Feathers (Benartex)

February: Happy Home House Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Runner (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Throw Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

46 thoughts on “Making Valentines in McCALL’S QUILTING (March/April 2015) & Giveaway!

  1. I love your quilt! That color combination is my favorite! I may have to make this quilt for next year. As always your quilting is beautiful and thank you for the tips and the giveaway.

  2. Rosemary B here
    Wendy, this quilt is soooo adorable.
    I have been very busy and a bit panicky, but I read your blog every time it comes in. I am so proud to know you.
    Happy Valentines Day to you and your sweet family.

    • Oh yeah, I wanted to add that I love your quilting always. Do you use one of those Sweet 16 type of machines? Your result is always so neat and tidy

  3. Last night I picked up a copy of Quilts and More. Your quilt Exclamation Point is spectacular. I’ve never foundation pieced before, but your pattern inspires me. Thank you. Nancy

  4. Wonderful Quilt.. became another of those quilts I need to make immediately when I saw it when I received the latest issue.. yumm.. yumm… yummm

  5. Love the quilt! I would love to win this magazine so I can make this quilt for my daughter it is her turn for a quilt, but she has already told my she wanted a Heart quilt. I have been looking at some different patterns, but it’s not what she wants. This is the pattern for her. Thanks for a chance to win!

  6. Wow. Congratulations for being in the magazine. Your quilt is stunning. Thanks for the giveaway too. I’ve also shared your giveaway on my Giveaway List for sewers & quilters at wowilikethat.com. Thanks again. (debbie at wowilikethat dot com)

  7. Making Valentines is certainly worthy of being featured in the magazine! I love hearts on anything and your quilt is quite lovely! I love that your 6 year old daughter keeps reminding you of Valentine’s Day…it’s my favorite holiday!

  8. I love how you compared it to making real valentines- it makes me love it that much more knowing there is a little story behind it :) super cute quilt!

Leave a Reply

