FREE PATTERN: High Speed Racer

Hello Friends, I hope you are well.  I am always amazed at the names the Benartex team comes up with for my designs.  Most of you know I am dismally lame when it comes to naming my quilts.  I really like the name of another of my free-to-use design…. High Speed Racer.

High Res_Vroom_48 x 56

This design uses a pre-printed panel, and the rest is simple pieced blocks.  Whenever I am assigned a fabric line with a specific theme to work with for designs, I often do research on the side to come up with designs that will reflect the particular fabric theme.   For this design, “NASCAR” was one of the words I typed for my searches…. and then, it was a no brainer for me to include the black and white checks in the design!  It’s amazing what a quilter can learn in the designing process – that I can definitely tell you! :)

Click here to view the entire fabric range.

Click here to download the free to use pattern instructions.

I also chuckled at the quilt name High Speed Racer… because I feel like I have done some high speed racing lately where work is related.  I am racing against time to get a few things turned in before Spring Market next week.  I won’t be there personally, but my quilts and designs will…

Thanks for stopping by – I have a bit of racing left to do this evening before bedtime.

***

[My free to use designs from previous years are listed under “FREE PATTERNS” on the side bar.]

January: A Red Letter Day using Seeing Red (Benartex)

January: Star Struck using Caryl’s Feathers (Benartex)

February: Happy Home House Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Runner (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Throw Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Farmville using Green Farms (Benartex)

February: Zoey’s Flowerbed using Zoey (Benartex)

March: Camp Cozy Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

March: Pretty Little Houses using Tango (Benartex)

March: Ariel (Quilting Treasures)

March: Flutter B’s using Butterfly Effect (Benartex)

April:  Baby Bunny using Bunny Hop (Benartex)

April: Yuki (Hoffman Fabrics)

April: Shimmering Constellations using Gold Standard (Benartex)

April: Bonjour (Quilting Treasures)

April: Baby Boutique (Quilting Treasures)

May: High Speed Racer using Vroom (Benartex)

6 thoughts on “FREE PATTERN: High Speed Racer

  1. I always wanted to make a “car” quilt for my grandsons, it never happened. Maybe it will be perfect for my husband, who is definitely a “young boy at heart”. Very intriguing. Thanks for the inspiration, Wendy. Wheels are turning…………. (No pun intended.)

  2. Hi there Wendy – love this pattern – it is so cute. But have you considered strip piecing the checkered flag section? I have included a link to Jamie’s u tube video. It is way faster – more accurate – and takes the monotony out of piecing little squares. Hope this helps.

    Jennie Arns

Leave a Reply

