Over The Fence in AUSTRALIAN QUILTERS COMPANION (Issue 73) & Giveaway!

11218881_10152330736504979_8348672812722872449_n

Hello Friends, I hope you had a blessed Memorial Day weekend.  Ours involved a bit of whirlwind traveling.  We are home now, and are back to our normal schedule.

I have been anticipating my copies of the latest Australian Quilters Companion to reach me from Australia… because I am being profiled in the issue – a small fish like myself!  A huge thank you to the editor for the lovely feature!

It felt sort of weird reading about myself in the profile — because in the core I am a private person and always do my best to not stick out.  I don’t even like to look at my own pictures. But at the same time, I also felt like the feature was an effective way for me to connect with my quilting friends.  So I am torn… In this particular article, you will find out one of my “darkest” skeletons in the closet “sewing-wise”… keyword is zippers!

IMG_0117

Immediately after the profile in the magazine spread is a feature on my joint-venture project with Lynette AndersonOver the Fence.  The complete pattern instructions are included in the magazine.

_MG_0733

[image source: Australian Quilters Companion]

You may recall the fabrics used in this quilt, Lynette Anderson’s Hearts and Flowers fabrics by RJR Fabrics in my Making Valentines quilt.

Making-Valentines-FLAT-600px

Lynette and I used the same fabrics in a different way for the pieced and applique Over the Fence quilt.

_MG_1004

[image source: Australian Quilters Companion]

The wooden buttons are exclusive to Lynette Anderson, and are available from her store. You may also give Sew Graceful Quilting a call and see if they might carry the buttons if you live in the US.

IMG_7859

IMG_7866

I had so much fun quilting this quilt, and will let the pictures tell all!

IMG_7873

IMG_0120

IMG_0121

IMG_0123

IMG_0124

IMG_0127

IMG_0128
Please allow me to take this opportunity to welcome all the new followers — thank you for following.  For those who are new, I quilt my quilts on a domestic sewing machine made by Bernina (a 640 to be exact).  And I construct and quilt my quilts (exclusively) with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads, and often over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting.

IMG_0133

IMG_0134

IMG_0135

IMG_0136

Thank you for suffering through all the pictures, Dear Friends!  I hope you have enjoyed Over The Fence.

You may purchase or subscribe to the magazine in digital format by clicking here.

Should you wish to preview the magazine in person, Australian Quilters Companion graciously sent me an extra copy to be given as a giveaway prize.  Leave a comment here between now and June 3, 2015 to be entered in the giveaway.  Winner will be announced on June 4. This giveaway is only open to US addresses.

Thank you for stopping by!  I wish you a lovely rest of the week, and shall catch up with you later!

***

My 2015 Line-up

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Get Happy

American Patchwork & Quilting 2015 Calendar: Migration

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 73): Over The Fence

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Sunny Delight

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2015): Family Dinner

Fons & Porter’s Scrap Quilts (Spring 2015): Stars are Brightly Shining

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2015): All In Knots (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quilting (March/April 2015): Making Valentines

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2015): Cozy Town

Quilter’s World (Spring 2015): Zigs and Zags

Quilts and More (Spring 2015): Exclamation Point

Free-to-use Designs:

January: A Red Letter Day using Seeing Red (Benartex)

January: Star Struck using Caryl’s Feathers (Benartex)

February: Happy Home House Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Runner (Quilting Treasures)

February: Happy Home Throw Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

February: Farmville using Green Farms (Benartex)

February: Zoey’s Flowerbed using Zoey (Benartex)

March: Camp Cozy Quilt (Quilting Treasures)

March: Pretty Little Houses using Tango (Benartex)

March: Ariel (Quilting Treasures)

March: Flutter B’s using Butterfly Effect (Benartex)

April:  Baby Bunny using Bunny Hop (Benartex)

April: Yuki (Hoffman Fabrics)

April: Shimmering Constellations using Gold Standard (Benartex)

April: Bonjour (Quilting Treasures)

April: Baby Boutique (Quilting Treasures)

May: High Speed Racer using Vroom (Benartex)

May: Flower-Scapes using Blue Paradise / Sundrenched (Benartex)

May: Rusty’s Sleeping Hollow using Rusty & Friends (Benartex)

56 thoughts on “Over The Fence in AUSTRALIAN QUILTERS COMPANION (Issue 73) & Giveaway!

  1. Absolutely beautiful work… thank you for sharing so many lovely photos. What a generous opportunity to obtain the publication.

  2. You deserve all the accolades and its so nice to see you being recognized. Love the pattern and all the pictures. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Congratulations on being featured. You are sew deserving. The quilt and quilting are fantastic. Thanks for a chance at the magazine…

  4. You deserve to be profiled–enjoy it! The quilt is adorable and your machine quilting adds so much charm–congratulations!

  5. Went to Australia a few years back & would love this magazine as a reminder of that great trip

  6. Wendy, your over the fence quilt is so sweet!! Loved all the photos and no suffering involved…LOL!!!! Would like to take a look at the Aussie magazine, too!!!

  7. Your quilt is delightful! I’m always amazed at your sensational quilting! My daughter collects birdhouses and loves everything birds. She would love a quilt from this pattern. You deserve the feature article–spread the inspiration you give to more quilters!

  8. Wendy, you are a talented and hard-working quilter with a lovely personality. Of course you should be featured! Congratulations! Love the Over the Fence quilt too! Thanks for sharing the photos!

  9. I really like Over the Fence and will get the digital magazine, but I’d love to have that hard copy! Thanksk for all the up close pictures!

  10. Lovely pattern – would love to win to gift the magazine on to my Mother who gave up her subscription (senior cutbacks).

  11. Beautiful! Would love to win a copy of the mag, read the story about you and get the pattern! Thank you for offering this giveaway!

  12. Being a digital subscriber to the “Australian Quilters Companion” I very much enjoyed reading the profile of one of my very favorite quilters. It was very complimentary of you, Wendy. You deserved all the kind words. “Over the Fence” is fabulous. This one may need to sneak to the top of my list of “to do” projects. My husband is a bird fancier, he would be thrilled to have this one. Many thanks to you and Lynette for the inspiration, and the pattern.

    PS. A hard copy would be the icing on the cake, thanks for a chance to win.

  13. Congratulations on your feature in Australian Quilter’s Companion! Love the quilting on “Over the Fence.” Thank you for the chance to win the magazine.

  14. I’d love to have a copy of this magazine. They are hard to find in the US. Your work is beautiful.

  15. How fun to travel to Australia. Both quilts are lovely. I’m not only a fan of yours, but Lynette’s too!

  16. You sure are prolific! I am amazed at the wonderful quilting you do on a domestic machine! I can barely manage to quilt-in-the-ditch!

  17. Wendy, I am in awe of your quilting on a domestic machine. I have a 640 also and you are an inspiration. Thanks for posting all those lovely photos.

  18. Love everything about that quilt! Would love to be the lucky receipent of the magazine so I’d have my own pattern! Love your blog!

  19. Wonderful quilt —- you are so talented. The magazine was fortunate to be able to
    feature an article about you. Would love to have the issue.

  20. Congrats on the magazine feature. Wendy, you quilting on Over The Fence is exquisite. Love the tail feathers of the birds.

  21. I love the quilt..the red and. grey are lovely together. I am in awe of the quilting, especially because you did it on your home machine!

  22. Red and Grey are my colors, this quilt is sew sweet. Congratulations on another Magazine post, and thank you for sharing your talent

  23. This is wonderful Wendy! Love this quilt and the way they photographed it. Congratulations Wendy!

  24. Congrats Wendy. You deserve it for sure by what I just observed from your pictures. I just love your quilting! You are so, so creative.

  25. So proud of you and your accomplishments. Thank you for all the close up pictures of your beautiful quilt.

  26. Congratulations on the feature….I’m so happy for you and so proud of you! It would be so lovely to win the magazine….wish you have one for every entry. I always look forward to seeing a Wendy Sheppard quilt in a magaine…(sometimes I recognize your work before I’ve even seen your name—your beautiful quilting is quite distinctive). Blessings…kathy

    • I don’t know if I was having a senior moment or my keypad needs cleaning! lol….I meant “wish you HAD one……” and ” in a magazine”…..oh my….typos stand out to me and I’m so picky about them—-He’s just keeping me humble I suppose…. :)

  27. This quilt is so pretty and the quilting is amazing! I’m taking notes about the echo quilting around the flower and the quilting design at the bird’s tail. I love your ideas!!!!

Comments are closed.