Nestlings in THE QUILTER (April/May 2011)

Break out your scrap stash if you want to make my Nestlings project!


You may remember this is the version 2 of my Spring Song quilt that had appeared at the Houston Quilt Market last year.  I was tasked with tweaking the original Spring Song design for a small wallhanging that can also double as a door banner.  Thus my Nestlings, finishes at 17″ x 21″.


I had used Benartex’s Forever Spring by Nancy Halverson, but this project was designed with scraps in mind!  And… I am in love with these little nestlings!


Quilting was done with YLI Silk 100 over Hobbs Tuscany Wool Batt.  Totally free-motion quilting with unmarked motifs.  There are swirls and feathers and pearly circles all mixed in together.

Pattern instructions are in the upcoming April/May 2011 issue of The Quilter magazine.  Magazine should be hitting newsstands in early March.  Keep your eyes peeled for that issue to come out.  Lots of great projects in there, including two additional quilts of mine.  With so many beautiful spring project patterns out there, it’s going to be a busy spring for some quilters.  I am sure of it! :)


This little wallhanging is going up on the wall as a reminder what’s in store for us in the spring!

Thanks for stopping by!  Have a lovely day, you all!

47 thoughts on “Nestlings in THE QUILTER (April/May 2011)

  1. I love this one so much Wendy, I can’t WAIT to make it – I never buy quilt mags anymore, so could you remind us when it does come out? Or at least me, lol? My horrid memory and all….I do NOT want to miss this one!

  2. Wendy, having gotten in excess of 12 inches of snow on Sunday, this is the breath of spring and fresh air I have been waiting for.
    The quilt is adorable and as always, the quilting fantastic.

  3. That’s beautiful. I guess I’ll have to go buy that magazine since I don’t subscribe. I love the wall hanging. The colors are just perfect for Spring. Thank you so much for the heads up and congratulations!

  4. Went clicking all the back links to previous versions.
    LOVE.LOVE.LOVE (You are not helping my pledge to finish UFO projects. I want to make something new-itis kicked up another notch looking at your gorgeous quilt!!)

  5. That is so, so sweet.

    When you mentioned what’s in store for you in the spring….did you mean spring itself or spring projects or the appearance of birds…..or expectations of another kind?

  6. I just happened upon your blog and look forward to browsing it. I love this quilt! It is so spring-like and I am always a fan of birds used in any kind of art. We have very long winters, here in Laramie, WY, and I SO look forward to spring (which often happens in May!). Thanks for sharing your lovely quilt with the world.

  7. Absolutely beautiful. I am going to buy the issue just for this pattern. Thank you for sharing this, my area has a dreary cold rainy day and this brightened it up for me!

  8. Pingback: Feathers, feathers « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Year in Review #1: The Quilter « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Favorite among the favorites! « Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: Gearing up for… « Ivory Spring

  12. Pingback: Nestlings Sequel: Sneak Peek #2 « Ivory Spring

  13. Pingback: Out of the Nest in THE QUILTER (August/September 2012) « Ivory Spring

  14. Pingback: Bird Watching: Sneak Peek #1 | Ivory Spring

  15. Pingback: A Mother’s Love in POPULAR PATCHWORK UK (September 2014) | Ivory Spring

  16. Pingback: Sew in Love {with Fabric} blog hop: Christmas in July | Ivory Spring

Leave a comment