Out of the Nest in THE QUILTER (August/September 2012)

I am not sure if you remember my cute little birdies, who made their appearance in Nestlings, waiting eagerly for their Mama in their nest last year…

I am excited to announce that a companion sequel piece to “Nestling” is officially featured in The Quilter’s August/September 2012 issue!

This follow-up little wallhanging or door banner is aptly named “Out of the Nest”.  It’s my quilty tribute to all parents out there (including my own) who have worked hard to raise their children to the point where their children are now out of the nest!

[Image source: The Quilter Magazine]

Don’t you think our little birdies here grew up rather nicely? :)

There are other signs of growth too, if you compare “Out of the Nest” with “Nestlings” — the overall palette in “Out of the Nest” is generally a little warmer than that used in “Nestlings.”  The leaves are all green in “Out of the Nest”, and there are even blooms on the tree!  The flowers were made with Clover’s yoyo flower maker.

Applique was machine fusible, using Warm Company’s Steam-A-Seam 2 fusible web.  The appliqued pieces were then finished with blanket stitches.

Even my quilting is partly quilted with a green contrasting thread!  Click here to read a few tips on quilting with contrasting thread.  The feathers you see in this quilt are totally unmarked and free-handed.  I used Aurifil‘s Mako 50 cottong threads for quilting over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

Both Nestlings and Out of the Nest finish at about the same size. I trimmed and squared mine to be exactly the same size.  Click here to purchase a back issue copy of The Quilter for the pattern instructions of Nestlings if you don’t already have it.

I hope you have enjoyed my Out of the Nest door banner!  Thanks for stopping by.  Happy Monday!

40 thoughts on “Out of the Nest in THE QUILTER (August/September 2012)

  1. O.M.G! I loved Nestlings – didn’t know it would/COULD get even better. O.M.G! I *adore* Out of the Nest! I’m thinking that has got to be your best work EVER!! Truly gorgeous!!!

  2. Both just lovely ! I really like the shape of the grown up birds–and being one of those people who can’t “just draw a bird” and have it come out as a recognizable creature, I appreciate your art ability more. And very brave of you to quilt in green.

  3. Of course I remember your birdie quilt — it was (is!) one of my favorites. The 3-D yo yo flowers are really interesting on this one, and it’s a treat to be able to see your quilting even better with the contrasting thread. The more I experiment with FMQ myself, the more amazed I am by what you are able to achieve with your quilting!

  4. Your work is so beautiful ~ what an inspiration you are! Thank you for sharing your talent with us! Just lovely
    Godspeed,
    mary

  5. Oh my gosh – Wendy! Your work is always such a delight! And the quilting that you do on your quilts is astounding – I am always waiting to see what you will come up with next and have never been disappointed lol. Congrats – I will be picking up a copy for sure!

  6. “Nestling” is just stunning, Wendy! Really remarkable. Spectacular! I’m looking at it and wondering if I can improve to your skill level, now that I have a Bernina with a BSR. I took the machine out of the box a few days ago and have been sewing daily. Oh, have I missed sewing! Will be trying that BSR in the near future. As always, I appreciate your inspiration.

  7. I have just read you will be doing the August tutorial for FMQ Challenge at SewCal Gal. I’m so excited. I saw your recent “Out of the Nest” and thought it absolutely exquisite. I will be looking for the past issue for “Nestlings”. You do beautiful work. Thanks for sharing with us.

  8. Pingback: Great minds think alike… « Ivory Spring

  9. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown #1: Sweet and Fresh « Ivory Spring

  10. Pingback: Ivory Spring Quilt Showdown: FINAL! « Ivory Spring

  11. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #10: Spring 2013 | Ivory Spring

  12. Pingback: Bird Watching: Sneak Peek #1 | Ivory Spring

  13. Pingback: Thread Talk from My Sewing Machine #58 | Ivory Spring

  14. Pingback: Sew in Love {with Fabric} blog hop: Christmas in July | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

