Hole In The Wall in GENERATION Q (May/June 2014)

10300118_695639350495575_2583532536010213091_n

Happy Thursday, my Friends!  I hope you are doing well.  As promised, I am sharing another first time feature with you — this time it’s my Hole in The Wall quilt in Generation Q‘s May/June 2014 issue.

IMG_7177

You do see why I named this quilt A Hole in The Wall, don’t you?  [Hey, for once, the editor kept the name I had suggested for my quilt!  Maybe there’s hope for my quilt-naming skill after all.]

Gramercy Park Redo3

IMG_7163

IMG_7151

I wish you could see this quilt in person to get a hold of the fabrics used in this quilt.  The quilt uses fabrics from rather unlikely combinations – kids themed fabrics mixed with florals, for example – to give an “unexpected” element to the final design. The fabrics I used are all from Benartex: Gramercy, Solids, 10000 BC, English Rosey, Palm Springs, and Florabunda.  You will find A Hole In The Wall very user-friendly for any fabrics you might have in your stash.

IMG_7158

What I really like about the quilt is the quilting on this one!  Quilting is free-hand on my domestic sewing machine using Aurifil Mako 50 thread over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

This is the very quilt that I spent a day ripping out stitches after the quilt was about 1/3 quilted.  The original quilting scheme quit speaking to me, and it was a battle within me to decide whether to keep going or hunker down and get the seam ripper ready to work.  The seam ripper won!  And I have to say I am very happy with how the quilting turned out.

IMG_7157

IMG_7166

IMG_7160

IMG_7154

IMG_7155

IMG_7171

I hope you have enjoyed Hole In The Wall.  Thank you for stopping by, and thank you for being such sweet friends!

Till tomorrow.

***

Click here to view the exhaustive list of my featured designs and projects.

My 2014 lineup to date —

Editorial features:

Annie’s Row Quilt Book (March 2014): Stardom

Annie’s Dazzling Diamond Quilts Book (May 2014): Solar Star

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 68): Stars Aligned

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2014): Teething Rings

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2014): Hurry Home

Generation Q (May/June 2014): Hole in the Wall

McCall’s Quick Quilts (August/September 2014): Owl Be Your Friend

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2014): Spiral Squared

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2014): Bird Watching

Popular Patchwork, UK (April 2014): Mending Fences

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Enchanted Forest

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Urban Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2014): Urban Oasis

Quilter’s World (Summer 2014): Starry Repetitions

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farm Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

The Quilter (April/May 2014): All Squared Up

The Quilter (April/May 2014): Tulip Trail

The Quilter (June/July 2014): Garden View

The Quilter (August/September 2014): Song of Praise

Free to use designs / PDF download:

January: Midori’s Place using Gramercy by Benartex

January: View on Lexington using Gramercy by Benartex

January: Everything’s Coming Up Rosey using English Rosey by Benartex

February: Verde (Quilt) by Quilting Treasures

February: Verde (Banner/Runner) by Quilting Treasures

March: Hot Topic by Quilting Treasures

March: Poseidon’s Adventure using Neptune’s Dream by Benartex

March: My Cozy Sweater using Palm Springs by Benartex

March: Wild Kingdom using Sew Rousseau by Benartex

April: Fun with Frosty (Quilt & Runner) by Quilting Treasures

April: The First Thanksgiving (Quilt & Runner & Placemat) by Quilting Treasures

May: Party Poppers using Paintbox/Shadows by Benartex

May: Sprinkled Sweets using Paintbox/Shadows by Benartex

May: Dino Craze using 10,000 B.C. by Benartex

June: Monster Mash by Quilting Treasures

June: Santa’s Sleigh using Starry Night by RJR Fabrics

June: Learning is Fun by Quilting Treasures

17 thoughts on “Hole In The Wall in GENERATION Q (May/June 2014)

  1. Never heard of that magazine but I really like the pattern. Good to use up scraps. Congrats. The quilting, as usual, is awesome.

  2. So fresh and fun! Lovely quilting. Congratulations. When you have time (do you sleep?) tell us more about the magazine.

  3. Rosemary B here:
    I love this quilt, Wendy. Wowie it is bright and happy. My two favorite things!
    Have a fun end to the week and sail into the week-end!

  4. WOW!! Wendy – the quilting is stunning!! I love the chain of boxes going diagonally down the quilt…a beautiful, stair-step effect. Wonderful in every way!

  5. Another winner……..quilting is spectacular!! Colors are fun. Adding another publication to your resume, impressive. Thanks for continuing to inspire each of us. Have a great, and restful(?), weekend!!

  6. Love the quilting Wendy! Will you have anymore quilting classes on line? I would love to watch you do these beautiful designs.

  7. I just saw this one in Generation Q!! Not only are you an amazing quilter, you are an amazing ripper!! I would have had a hole in this, I would have gotten disgusted and made it a UFO. Glad you kept going!!!

  8. Dear Wendy….who couldn’t be friends with you? You are a wonderful and giving person, a mighty fine example of God’s work on Earth!
    And I loved the quilt, too! It would make a great simple pattern for soft flannels. It’s simple and graphic in nature, p
    erfect for a man’s quilt.
    Take care, Your friend from South Central Kansas.

  9. Your quilting is just fabulous. No pictures of what didn’t work for you??? I can’t imagine.

    This is a great design and the fabrics are wonderful. Very Generation Q”.

Leave a comment