Mending Fences in UK’s POPULAR PATCHWORK (April 2014)

ppapr14

Hello Friends,  thanks so much for your get well wishes.  I am not feeling any better today, but I am hanging in there (by a thread, pun intended, ha!) Nonetheless, I am most excited to share with you my “joint venture” feature with Lynette Anderson in the latest issue of Popular Patchwork (April 2014), a UK publication!  A special thank you to Kay Harmon for constructing the quilt top so that I could jump right into quilting it.

Design 2f_48 x 67

Mending Fences

Lynette added the applique portion to my pieced design, and made the quilt into a really fun one!

IMG_5184

IMG_5187

Here are more shots of the quilt:

IMG_5228

IMG_5263

IMG_5215

Mending Fences uses fabrics from Lynette Anderson’s Mending Fences fabrics.

6a00d83455610269e2019aff31d63b970b

[image source: Lynette Anderson Designs]

You may recall I already have two other featured quilts, both named Farm Crossing, made using fabrics from the same collection.  Click here, and here to view additional quilt photos, and for information on the magazines in which the quilts are featured.

IMG_4125

IMG_0076

Now back to UK Popular Patchwork’s Mending Fences quilt… this quilt afforded me many opportunities to do some fun quilting.  The following pictures will show you what I mean.  Quilting is done using Aurifil Mako 50 cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.  The quilting is done totally unmarked and free-handed.

IMG_5234

IMG_5688

IMG_5690

IMG_5694

IMG_5706

IMG_5708

IMG_5713

IMG_5691

IMG_5719

IMG_5721

IMG_5726

IMG_5717

IMG_5734

See what I mean about the quilting being “fun”?  Can you tell I thoroughly enjoyed the quilting the quilt?

There are many things I like about this quilt, but I think what I love best is the feel of coziness that permeates throughout.

Now, I am not sure where one could buy Popular Patchwork issues in the States. If you do, please let me know!

Thanks for stopping by.  I would love to hear your thoughts on this quilt.  Hugs to you all.

p.s.  I am still waiting for favorable weather conditions to take pictures of my other currently featured quilts.  Stay tuned for details.

***

My 2014 lineup to date:

Annie’s Row Quilt Book (March 2014): Stardom

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2014): Teething Rings

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2014): Hurry Home

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2014): Spiral Squared

Popular Patchwork, UK (April 2014): Mending Fences

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Enchanted Forest

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Urban Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2014): Urban Oasis

Quilter’s World (Summer 2014): Starry Repetitions

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farm Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

The Quilter (April/May 2014): All Squared Up

The Quilter (April/May 2014): Tulip Trail

January: Midori’s Place using Gramercy by Benartex

January: View on Lexington using Gramercy by Benartex

January: Everything’s Coming Up Rosey using English Rosey by Benartex

February: Verde (Quilt) by Quilting Treasures

February: Verde (Banner/Runner) by Quilting Treasures

March: Hot Topic by Quilting Treasures

March: Poseidon’s Adventure using Neptune’s Dream by Benartex

March: My Cozy Sweater using Palm Springs by Benartex

25 thoughts on “Mending Fences in UK’s POPULAR PATCHWORK (April 2014)

  1. What a wonderful fun quilt! It made me smile just looking at it! Your quilting is, as usual, superb!

    I do hope you start feeling much better soon!

    > >

  2. What a sweet design that is perfect to show off free-motion quilting. Of course, it looks wonderful with “your” FMQ….but an inspirational design with flowers and sweet birds. I definitely want to make this one. I need to practice your swirly feathers as they are gorgeous and work so well on this design.

    Sure hope you feel better soon.

    SewCalGal
    http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

  3. Another beautiful job! I love this! The frilly quilting on the birds tails is over the top! Hope you feel better soon? Any chance of allergies??? This is such a bad time after the horrible winter we had.

  4. I totally agree with Peg G. That little birdie is fab!!! Quilts with applique are always more fun (IMHO) and this one was a perfect opportunity for all your incredible “bag of (quilty) tricks”!!!!!
    Chicken soup for you????? Sleep/rest????? Ha! Hugs………………..

    • Good to hear from you again, Dear Friend… unfortunately, no rest for the sick and weary, hahaha. Too much to do. I am waiting for my dilly dallyer daughter (especially when it comes to eating) to finish up her dinner so that we can get on with the bedtime routine. :)

      And then, tonight, I get to start on a new quilt that I hope to finish by tomorrow before I go to bed. Crazy, eh? I really do think I have a screw loose somewhere. Hahaha.

      Anyway, it looks like you are busy too!!! :)

      Hugs, Wendy On Tue, 08 Apr 2014 17:57:04 -0500, Ivory Spring wrote: >

  5. WOW! I am speechless after seeing the beauty of this quilt. Absolutely stunning, love the pattern. And your quilting is just awesome! The birds tail which you quilted with swirly feathers is my most favorite!

  6. Oh dear, somehow I missed your post last evening. I hope that this one finds you feeling lots better. Not much fun being “under the weather.”

    Oh, I love this quilt; it is such fun. The piecing is delightful, the fanciful quilting really enhances it. Fun, fun, fun!!

  7. Do hope you are feeling better now.

    Penny did not drop that this was your quilt Wendy. being in the UK we have had this magazine a while, in fact have the may one too. I do love the quilt, the design, applique, and the quilting itself is beautiful. Must get my act together and have a play as still cannot do machine quilting. Seem to have lost the comment I wrote before, maybe it has gone on the blog if so sorry for repeating myself!

  8. This is a wonderful quilt. So fun with the addition of the applique. I love your quilting especially the tail feathers on the little bird!
    Have a great day.
    Always, Queenie

  9. I love the vertical pieces with the patchwork along the bottom. I am still looking for this magazine at B&N.

    Hope you are feeling better soon……there is nothing like orange juice!!

  10. as always so gorgeous to look at and what an inspiring work you are doing. I do enjoy reading and looking at your blog each day, thank you!

Leave a comment