Hurry Home in FONS & PORTER’S LOVE OF QUILTING (January/February 2014)

LQ140200

Happy Monday, Friends!  I appreciate all your sympathy and empathy regarding my dalliances with a “temporary BFF” (click here).   The weekend came and went in just a flash!  I hope you had a good one.

I am happy to share with you my Hurry Home quilt that is featured in the January/February 2014 issue of Fons & Porter‘s Love of Quilting magazine.

IMG_5293

The colors of this quilt are inspired by the colors in the large print fabric used in the outer border.  This design concept might come in handy when you have a large print fabric with which you don’t know what to do — use it in the outer border, and then gather fabrics for the quilt center that have the same colors as the large print fabric.

IMG_5302

The fabrics are from Thimbleberries Sweet Home collection, released by RJR Fabrics.

FP_Sweet Home_High Res

This quilt is designed for piecers, if you like to piece!!  I am blessed, my “piecing elf” Sherry McConnell actually pieced this quilt top for me!

IMG_5300

IMG_5285

Quilting was done with my allover Jester’s Hat motif (click here, here and here to read about Jester’s Hat), using Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton thread over Hobbs Tuscany silk batting – my fool proof combination of thread and batting when it comes to free-motion quilting.

IMG_5022

IMG_5283

This is my second Sweet Home published quilt.  You might remember seeing the following quilt, also made with fabrics from the same collection… but both quilts look totally different:

In the Meadow (The Quilter, April/May 2013)

TQ_Sweet Home_High Res

IMG_0253

I hope you have enjoyed Hurry Home.  Being out and about during the winter time always makes me want to hurry home!   What makes you want to hurry home?

Have a lovely week, Dear Friends!

****

My 2014 lineup:

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2014): Hurry Home

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2014): Spiral Squared

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Enchanted Forest

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Urban Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2014): Urban Oasis

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farm Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

January Free Pattern: View on Lexington using Gramercy by Benartex

January Free Pattern:  Midori’s Place using Gramercy by Benartex

January Free Pattern: Everything’s Coming Up Rosey using English Rosey by Benartex

8 thoughts on “Hurry Home in FONS & PORTER’S LOVE OF QUILTING (January/February 2014)

  1. Happy New Year, Wendy. It’s a brand new year now and you can put your seam ripper back in the drawer. Everything will be all right.

    I can’t help admiring this quilt–it is absolutely gorgeous. I have many beautiful florals that I love so much and you have given me a good idea. Thank you.

    Stay warm,
    ellen

  2. Lovely again, Wendy! But, that is all I expect from you…loveliness in quilts and in your soul.
    I hurry home for Jeopardy!
    Take care! I think the winter storm we are being blessed with today and tomorrow is headed your way. We are to get 6-9″ here in Wichita.

  3. Congrats on your quilt being published. It is lovely and your quilting is wonderful. I loved all the feathers on version one.

Leave a comment