Now I know my ABC’s in Fons and Porter’s LOVE OF QUILTING (March/April 2013)

LOQ_March2013

Hello Friends, it’s good to have you visit again.  Some of you had written to ask where you could access the pattern of this quilt when I had posted the following preview a few months ago.

IMG_3344

I am happy I can finally show you the quilt in its entirety, and tell you where to get the pattern instructions.  “Now I know my ABC’s” is officially featured in Fons and Porter’s latest Love of Quilting issue (March/April 2013).  Electronic download is available here.  Kits are also available here.

FP_Googlies Redo1

This lighthearted child’s quilt finishes at 64″ x 74″ and should sufficiently fit a toddler’s bed.  The fabrics are from Benartex’s Googlies collection.  Click here to view the full range of fabrics.  If you are thinking of making this for a girly girl, be sure to check out the pastel and pink colorway.  But then again, would a girly girl like a Googlies-themed quilt?

IMG_3279

This quilt came back to me at the right time because Miss Baby’s is into monsters right now.  She was besides herself when she saw the myriad Googlies characters when I showed her the quilt.

Now-I-Know-my-ABCs

[image source:  Fons and Porter]

Let’s take a closer look… shall we?

IMG_0205

IMG_0207

Quilting is done using Aurifil‘s Mako 50 Cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting.  You will see I outlined quilted the Googlies, and added accents here and there to add a bit something to the overall look.  This quilt is not heavily quilted because I intend this quilt to be used, and not just for the eyes.

IMG_0211

IMG_0214

abc

IMG_0210

I quilted fun swirls on the quilt border.  I hope you can see the yellow thread I used against the printed white fabric.  I shared about how to do these swirls here on my Thread Talk post, and here in my online class.

IMG_0220

IMG_0224

I don’t really say this often, but I think this quilt is an instance where the backing makes the quilt!  Patch-print fabrics are quite popular these days, and I often use them for backing when they are available in a collection.

IMG_0215

I hope you enjoyed my Googlies quilt.  If you remember, I had shared with you here a free quilt pattern I designed, also using the Googlies, but in the pink girly girl colorway.

Design 3b_High Res

Thanks for visiting!  I hope you have a fun-filled day!

***

My 2013 lineup thus far besides “Now I know my ABC’s” – click on links for more information:

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Spring 2013): Baubles, Baubles

The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013): Not Too Square

Quilt Trends (Winter 2013, Cover Quilt): Tango

Quilter’s World (February 2013): New Life

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): In & Out

Quilter’s World QUICK & EASY QUILTS (Spring 2013): Garden Maze

Annie’s Love Those Precuts Book (January 2013):  Apple of My Eye

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  2 Wishes, to be posted

Quilts and More (Spring 2013):  Watercolor Sketches, to be posted

Quilter’s World (April 2013):  Monkey Around, to be posted

The Quilter (April/May 2013):  In the Meadow, to be posted

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (January 2013): Mediterranean Dream

Quilting Treasures Free Pattern (February 2013): Butterfly Kisses

Benartex Free Pattern (March 2013): Pumpkin Patch/Autumn Fauna

18 thoughts on “Now I know my ABC’s in Fons and Porter’s LOVE OF QUILTING (March/April 2013)

  1. Wendy, I just got my Fons and Porter magazine on Saturday and just loved this quilt! How fun!!

    As a sidebar, could you share what you do with the threads when moving from one area to another in machine quilting. I find myself having “tails” and using a needle to pop them into the batting, but this can be tedious.

    Thanks!

  2. Such a cute quilt. Love the bright colors too. Wish that my Grandkids were a bit younger. I like friendly monsters……so maybe….. As always, your quilting is creative and fun!!

  3. Hello again! I love this quilt and went looking for the Googlies alphabet fabric with NO success! Seems everyone is out of it! Darned shame it’s in a new magazine and can’t be found!! Do you by any chance know where one can find it?

    • I finally found the alphabet panel! Every place I tried was out of it but found it at a quilt shop in Bayfield WI!! I’m in central Ohio and it came today and is BEAUTIFUL!!! (the shop is Orchard’s Edge) I have the F&P issue that it’s in but don’t know if I’ll be able to do that exact quilt but so glad I found the panel. Now the challenge is……will I be able to cut it up!!! And if I do get a quilt done from it…..will I be able to give it away!!! The panel for the back is still available so may get that later. Just love the quilt!!

      • Hi Polly,

        So glad you were able to locate the panel. I was told by Fons and Porter that the kits at their end are totally sold out! So, if you want that patch print fabric for backing – you might want to get it SOON!

        Happy Quilting, WS

Leave a comment