Americana Florals in THE QUILTER’s January 2011


Happy Monday, Everyone! I hope you are having a great start to another new week! I received my copy of The Quilter (Jan 2011) last week. Yes, it’s Jan 2011! January 2011 means Miss Baby will be two, and that I will be yet another year more mature! :)


Many of you had said kind words on my Americana Florals quilt — now you get to see the bigger picture. I really like this quilt because of the “Old World” look.



The fabrics are from Benartex‘s Americana Collection. Check out their other colorways – they are breathtaking!


I quilted around the applique shapes. Because I used Hobbs‘ Tuscany Wool Batt, the applique ended having a nice little POOF! The heart buttons really made my roses special, I think!


I quilted what I called “heart blossoms” in between the appliqued Kansas Roses using a pale blue thread (Aurifil Mako Cotton 50) a add a bit of subtlety to the quilt. If you are a regular, you know I often use Aurifil Mako Cotton 50 to quilt my quilts.


The following are the two other colorways I cooked up using the other fabrics in the collection:


Don’t feel like making 12 of the applique blocks as shown in the quilt diagram? Why not just make two, and frame them with scraps for a couple of throw pillows? Don’t you just love all the endless possibilities in quilting?


Quakertown Quilts is carrying kits for this quilt. The last I checked, they haven’t included the Jan 2011 kits from The Quilter on their website. You might call or wait a few days to check their website again.

Thanks for stopping by. It’s going to be another challenging week for me. Do think of and pray for me!

24 thoughts on “Americana Florals in THE QUILTER’s January 2011

  1. Lovely Quilt. I need so to start working on mine. I guess I will set aside a couple hours a day to finish them.
    congrats on the soon to be two.
    Happy Blue Monday to you, I’m #39 on the link list.

  2. This is a gorgeous quilt and I want to make it NOW LOL. I went to four stores this morning and could not fine the Quilter issue. I guess I will have to wait till it comes to Canada. Love the quilting on it to just gorgeous. Bunny

  3. Pingback: Hot Chili Peppers in THE QUILTER (January 2011) « IVORY SPRING

  4. Pingback: Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #14 « Ivory Spring

  5. Pingback: Year in Review #1: The Quilter « Ivory Spring

  6. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #5: DENSE QUILTING, part 2 « Ivory Spring

  7. Pingback: Virtual Trunk Show #14: Flowers | Ivory Spring

Leave a Reply

