Bloggers Quilt Festival: Scattered Leaves


In keeping with the fall season, I thought I would show my Scattered Leaves in Amy’s Fall Bloggers Quilt Festival this year. My Scattered Leaves quilt is special to me because it was selected to be the cover quilt of The Quilter‘s November 2010 issue. My regular readers are probably sick of me showing this quilt (sorry!), but I thought the new visitors might like seeing it…


Fall is a favorite season in my household. So I jumped at the opportunity to work with RJR‘s Autumn into Winter fabric collection. I used just about all the fabrics in that collection to achieve a scrappy look even though the fabrics are from the same collection.


The blocks are the popular maple leaf block, with a “signature” twist. Instead of stitching and commemorating names of people, I hand stitched popular food items we enjoy in the cold months of the year on each block.


Quilting was done free-motion on my domestic machine. I quilt all my quilts on my Bernina 640E.

I used Aurifil Mako 50 threads of different colors to match the main color of each block for quilting.  Using Hobbs’ Tuscany Silk Batt makes my quilt soft and cuddly.

This quilt will be treasured in our household because it will memorialize the comfort of food in our family for many many years to come.

Thank you for stopping by.  I hope you have enjoyed the Bloggers Quilt Festival.  Should you feel like viewing more fall quilts I have made this year, here are the links: Fruit of the Vine, Cascade of Leaves.  You may also click here for my Japanese Fruit Pie recipe – a favorite at our house.

Have a blessed and fantastic autumn!

21 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival: Scattered Leaves

  1. Well Wendy my dear,
    You have gone and smashed all our hopes of winning the
    Blogger’s Quilt Festival!!!
    You’re so awesome, I think our boats just sank!!
    Really I love your blog and your work.
    Barb

  2. I could never get tired of seeing this quilt – but you’re welcome to send it here so I can hang it and see for myself, lol! I love it on so many levels.

  3. I love this quilt, and I love how you put coordinated pretty little teacups in your photos. The design picture looked like it was done in a software program — which one do you use, and do you like it?

  4. Wendy, I never get tired of looking at your quilts. I only wished I lived closer so I would have your mentoring with machine quilting.nn Have a wonderful weekend.

  5. I never get tired of seeing that quilt, Wendy! Your used these fabrics to perfection! I’m going to try the pie! I’m known for my pecan pie and I’ll tell you what – the addition of coconut sounds fantastic!

  6. Wendy, no one could be tired of seeing that beautiful quilt!!!
    I bet the quilt magazine will be flying off the shelves because of your quilt on the cover. CONGRATUATIONS~~~ !!!!

    Not many people get their quilt on the cover of a magazine, and I am just priviledge to know a fellow blogger who accomplishes so much and gets it published. Simply wonderful!

    The fabrics are gorgeous also!!

  7. That is so beautiful! Maple leaf is one of my all-time favorite blocks and I absolutely love the little signature ‘twist’ in the center! That quilt is just gorgeous. Your quilting is amazing.

    xo -El

  8. Your twist on the leaf block and signature is outstanding! I love the idea of the food items stitched on. Totally unique and stunning–I could look at this for an hour! By the way, whose little toy is gracing the center of the quilt in the photo? Cute! Thanks for sharing your quilt’s story :)

  9. My mom just made this quilt without the signature squares — but the signature square concept is a fun twist! I can’t wait to tell her about this fun adaptation.

  10. Congratulations cover girl. And what a unique twist on the signature and maple leaf blocks. I’ll bet people will make signature quilts with this pattern but it will be interesting to see what other lists are chronicled — favorite things? Oh -for an eye spy quilt-use eye spy type fabrics for leaves and write in what to ‘spy’ but in a different block so it would be a hunt.
    Come see my antique 1890 schoolhouse quilt
    http://utahquiltappraiser.blogspot.com/
    or my black/white/pink scrappy miniature
    http://starleyquilts.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

