All Squared Up in THE QUILTER (April/May 2014)

157008_720387318006675_1484002938_n

 

Hello Friends, you have seen my Not Too Square quilt featured in an older issue of The Quilter (December 2012/January 2013 to be exact, click here to view more pictures.)

IMG_4423

From Not Too Square to All Squared Up that is featured in the April/May 2014 issue The Quilter — what do you think of the play of words in the naming of my quilts by the editor?

Pattern Instructions are found in The Quilter’s April/May 2014 Issue for purchase here.

Quilt kits are also available for purchase here.

1960117_732535136791893_1683587024_n

IMG_6123

All Squared Up is what I would consider a modern quilt design that uses the “power of black” in thin strips to frame the interior of single fabric blocks.  It is an effective way to draw the eye to the large print fabric swatches in the individual blocks.

High Res_all squared up

IMG_5988

All Squared Up uses fabrics from contemporary line “Dwellings”, released by Benartex.  The collection is a mix of contemporary prints of stylized floral, confetti and log cabins.  Click here to view the entire fabric range.

I had a hard time deciding if the floral design in the prints are based on any real flowers… until I was photographing the quilt beneath a dogwood tree.  I am inclined to guess the florals are loose and contemporary interpretation of the dogwood blossoms.  What do you think?

IMG_6004

dogwood

I quilted my allover Jester’s Hat motif on the quilt to give a contrast to the squared up blocks so they don’t look so “stuffy”. :)  Quilting was done with Aurifil Mako 50 Cotton threads over Hobbs Tuscany Silk batting.

IMG_5993

IMG_5991

Click here, here, and here to read my Thread Talk posts on Jester’s Hat.  I also discussed the motif at length in my online “Learn to Machine Quilt” class here.

IMG_6118

And here we take a look at the borders… that stripe print is probably my favorite swatch in the entire collection.  I had to find a way to include it in the quilt.

IMG_6025

I hope you have enjoyed All Squared Up.  As you have probably surmised, this design lends itself to a variety of fabric themes.

IMG_6120

Thanks for stopping by, Dear Friends!  Please know that I appreciate all your comments.  Please don’t forget to head on over to Benartex’s blog to read about a few aspects about the quilt that are not covered here.

Have a lovely day!  God’s blessings to you all.

*****

My 2014 lineup to date —

Editorial features:

Annie’s Row Quilt Book (March 2014): Stardom

Fons & Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2014): Teething Rings

Fons & Porter’s Love of Quilting (January/February 2014): Hurry Home

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2014): Spiral Squared

Popular Patchwork, UK (April 2014): Mending Fences

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Enchanted Forest

Quilt Trends (Winter 2014): Urban Stars

Quilter’s World (Spring 2014): Urban Oasis

Quilter’s World (Summer 2014): Starry Repetitions

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Farm Crossing

The Quilter (December 2013/January 2014): Boxing Day

The Quilter (April/May 2014): All Squared Up

The Quilter (April/May 2014): Tulip Trail

Free to use patterns:

January: Midori’s Place using Gramercy by Benartex

January: View on Lexington using Gramercy by Benartex

January: Everything’s Coming Up Rosey using English Rosey by Benartex

February: Verde (Quilt) by Quilting Treasures

February: Verde (Banner/Runner) by Quilting Treasures

March: Hot Topic by Quilting Treasures

March: Poseidon’s Adventure using Neptune’s Dream by Benartex

March: My Cozy Sweater using Palm Springs by Benartex

March: Wild Kingdom

April: Fun with Frosty (Quilt & Runner) by Quilting Treasures

April: First Thanksgiving (Wallhanging & Runner & Placemat) by Quilting Treasures

10 thoughts on “All Squared Up in THE QUILTER (April/May 2014)

  1. Definitely a “modern quilt.” I like that you have “softened” it a bit with your Jester’s Hat quilting. The dogwood fabrics are beautiful, almost like the real thing. Since moving, I have fallen in love with dogwood trees and hope to plant a couple in our yard in the next couple of weeks. Have a happy rest of the week.

  2. I really love them both……but I really like your purse!!!!!! As I recall, it looks very familiar! The feather quilting is always a “heart throb”!!!!!! Hugs……………SSAB

  3. Love this quilt!! Just had to tell you I was at a quilter’s ” celebration” tonight and won an Aurifil Sampler pack as a door prize!!

  4. I really like this design for the large print fabrics. “Power of black”…..I am going to have to remember that one. The continuing theme for the quilts is very clever too.

  5. Yes I like the design a lot too. I think it would look fabulous in Asian fabrics. TO me those are ones that I would want to showcase, not cut up small.

Leave a comment