Bedazzled in FABRIC TRENDS (Fall 2011)

Yeap, quite a few hands I see when I asked for Robyn Pandolph fans out there! She is definitely no stranger to quilters and home decorators who love shabby chic, flowers and romance! I just think her Desired Things collection (which has a total of 35 different fabrics) is one of her best collections yet. Just look at these swatches… or click here to view the full scope of the collection:


I was over the moon when I was asked to work with these fabrics for a magazine feature. Bedazzled is the end result. It is featured in the Fall 2011 issue of Fabric Trends.

If I have to pick a favorite quilt I have made this year, I think Bedazzle is probably it – but only if I am backed into a corner and stipulated to come up with only one favorite quilt! I love how it was photographed for the magazine spread.

Photo from Fabric Trends


The quilt is made up of simple pieced blocks. I think in this case, the fabrics are what made the quilt!

I am rather partial to the quilting even though the motif isn’t feathery. Quilting is done on my domestic home machine with a pale mustard yellow thread (Aurifil Mako 50, color 2125) over Hobbs Tuscany Silk Batting. I will share more about the motif in my Thread Talk post tomorrow.


Kits are available for sale from Fat Quarter Shop. They have chosen a slightly different fabric in the blue colorway for the backing. Of course, you can definitely pick whichever fabric out of the 35 choices in this collection as your backing fabric of choice!


It’s another sunshiny day over here! I can just hear it now — another beg-gathon to go to the playground from Miss Baby. We already went earlier, but I guess we will again later. The cold weather is going to descend on us before too long… Thanks for stopping by, Friends! I hope you enjoyed my Dedazzled quilt, and are dazzled by Robyn Pandolph’s Desired Things fabrics!

18 thoughts on “Bedazzled in FABRIC TRENDS (Fall 2011)

  1. I can’t say which quilt would be my favorite because I’ve liked each one for different reasons, but I think Bedazzled would be at the top of the list. The colors of the fabric are so inviting and peaceful. Can imagine curling up with it, a good book, good music and the telephone off the hook!

  2. Pingback: Thread Talk from my Sewing Machine #25 « Ivory Spring

  3. Pingback: Year End in Review #5: Fabric Trends and a recap and a thank you! « Ivory Spring

Leave a comment