Christmas Quilting with Wendy Sheppard – Project #8

My Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring  NEW PATTERNS JUST LISTED!

Fat Quarter Shop: https://shrsl.com/337dq

Connecting Threads: https://shrsl.com/4adn4

Wendy Sheppard related offerings on Annie’s: https://shrsl.com/3xtvh

Emerson Creek Pottery: https://emersoncreekpottery.com/?ref=Wendy

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM FOR MORE PICTURES: https://www.instagram.com/ivory_spring/

***

Hello my friends, me again! Happy Tuesday to you all!

Once again, I want to thank ALL of you who have bought my Christmas quilt book. Your support is much, much appreciated. My publisher ran out of books and had to reprint several times. There should be sufficient stock now for all the local quilt stores that wish to stock the book.

Fun fact about the book projects – EACH quilt is named after a Christmas carol. Some might be familiar, and some might not be so familiar to you. I hope that with this book, you not only get to make make fun and cozy Christmas quilts for yourself or loved ones, you might also pick up a new Christmas carol or two to sing for Christmas 2023.

In case you missed the previously shared quilt projects in my Christmas book, here they are! Just click on the quilt names.

#1: Heaven and Nature Sing

#2: O Christmas Tree

#3. Meowily on High

#4. Little Road to Bethlehem

#5. Give Us Figgy Pudding

#6. Once in Royal David’s City

#7. While Shepherds Watched

***

TODAY I am sharing with you the second last quilt in the book that I have named Deck the Halls! Here are a few interesting fun facts for you to impress your family and friends about this Carol:

Deck the Halls” is a traditional Christmas carol. The melody is Welsh, dating back to the sixteenth century, and belongs to a winter (New Year’s Eve) carol, “Nos Galan“, while the English lyrics, written by the Scottish musician Thomas Oliphant, date to 1862 (Wikipedia). One thing we know is that the Welsh culture is very much a singing culture. And digging deeper, Thomas Oliphant was an impressive guy!

Finished size: 69 1/2″ x 69 1/2″

#1. This quilt is constructed with a mixed of traditional and foundation piecing. The foundation piecing portion is actually straightforward. So, if you have been curious about and wanting to try out foundation / paper piecing, this would be a great project for you.

#2. I made fabric placement for this quilt quite straightforward. ONLY the trees use different prints. The rest is just the same red fabric repeated over and over.

#3. I used BLIZZARD fabrics for this quilt. It is a more muted take on the classic red/green Christmas colors. If you recalled, I am using the same fabrics to make my Kringle Clippers quilt. Click HERE if you have missed my post on that.

It looks like there are no yardages left at Fat Quarter Shop. Check with your local quilt shops. That said, stocking up on the charm packs might come in handy for you for your future projects.

I used the red/green present on white print for backing.

I have posted more pictures on Instagram. Check them out there.

Thanks so much for spending a few minutes visiting with me today. I hope you have a lovely rest of your day!

One thought on “Christmas Quilting with Wendy Sheppard – Project #8

  1. Do you have any suggestions on how to line up the triangles with the tree fabric? I’ve never done a paper piecing project with such a long run. I’ve made the same tree three times trying to get it right.

    I appreciate your help!

Leave a comment