Christmas Quilting with Wendy Sheppard – Project #2

FOLLOW ME @ivory_spring on Instagram IF YOU HAVEN’T. Instagram is where I best interact with quilters, and where I share the latest news and MANY more pictures!

***

Happy Friday, my friends! I hope you have had a good week!  I am happy to hear from some of you that your books have arrived. Again, thank you so much for your support. I just checked – the book is still a Bestseller! Thank you, and thank you!

Before I share about quilt #2 in the book, I want to make sure you know that there WILL be sewalongs before Christmas 2023, as well as through 2024 using the book. I want you to get your money’s worth, haha. I am waiting on a few details, and then, I will be able to share with you!

I really like that the book comes in printed or PDF format. I personally like to work off my computer with PDFs because I can enlarge the text / figures for easy following.

You may purchase the book HERE.

Fun fact about the book projects – EACH quilt is named after a Christmas carol. Some might be familiar, and some might not be so familiar to you. I hope that with this book, you not only get to make make fun and cozy Christmas quilts for yourself or loved ones, you might also pick up a new Christmas carol or two to sing for Christmas 2023.

***

Today I am sharing with you O Christmas Tree. I actually didn’t sing O Christmas Tree much as a kid growing up. I actually didn’t know about this carol until I came to the States, and even then, I knew only the tune from the Peanuts Christmas Special.

I didn’t grow up with Christmas trees in the home, except for that ONE year my parents put up a plastic Christmas tree. I shared about that memory in the book.

Quilt Details

Finished size: 59″ x 73″.

It is a 2-block quilt.

Sample Quilt Details & other fabric suggestions

#1. I wanted to include in this book a few quilts that are not necessarily screaming seasonal. I thought a muted green quilt would work perfectly as a summer display quilt. So I used all the green fabric prints in Moda’s Christmas Eve fabric line.

This is another scrap friendly quilt – you can just shop from your stash and pull out all the different greens to make your quilt.

You may click HERE for more fabric information.

#2. This would be a great quilt to for “a block a day” challenge! The blocks are quite simple to make!

#3. I can see this quilt in hues of blue for a wintry look. This one uses Moda’s Cascade fabrics. Click HERE for more fabric inforamtion.

#4. I also think a traditional red/green colorway works beautifully as well! This one is colored with Moda’s Reindeer Games. I have made quite a few quilts with this fabric line – it is officially my favorite Christmas line for 2023! You need these fabrics if you like the traditional red/green for Christmas. Click HERE for fabric information.

#4. I used the a boughs of holly print from Christmas Eve to back the quilt. I love this print.

I hope you would enjoy making O Christmas Tree as much as I had designing it!

***

***

POSTSCRIPT

My Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring 

Find all my stand-alone patterns: https://shrsl.com/337dq

Wendy Sheppard related offerings on Annie’s: https://shrsl.com/3xtvh

One thought on “Christmas Quilting with Wendy Sheppard – Project #2

  1. I’m excited to receive my printed copy of Christmas Quilting 😊. All of the quilts are tempting 😂. I, too, love the Moda Christmas Eve fabric line. Are we thinking “Christmas in July?”

Leave a comment