A new purpose

show-and-tell1

I am not a pack rat, but for some reason, I just couldn’t bear throwing this cracked teacup away. This pitiful cup was shoved to the back of the cabinet – being relegated to a state of uselessness…

teacup-pincushion1

I had read about how someone had turned a teacup into a pincushion – sorry, I can’t remember whose blog it was. I thought it was such a cute idea, and decided to give my cracked teacup a makeover, a new purpose in life!! First, I cut out a circle about three times the diameter of the teacup:

teacup-pincushion2

Then, I sewed some buttons somewhere in the center of the circle:

teacup-pincushion3

Next, I ran gathering stitching while turning the edge of the circle:

teacup-pincushion4

I then pulled the thread to make a yoyo, stuffed it with polyester filling, and inserted it into the cup:

teacup-pincushion5

Now I have a teacup pincushion. Buttons of different colors were sewn to help me keep my needles organized since I do different kinds of needlework. That way, I keep all the needles for one purpose at the same location using the color coded buttons:

teacup-pincushion6

teacup-pincushion7

To cover up the hairline crack, I attached a magnet on the cup to hold my scissors. To complete the ensemble, I added the saucer to my teacup pincushion to catch any waste and loose threads. Now my cracked teacup is no longer ashamed to be displayed together with its own kind because it is now doing the job no teacups normally do:

teacup-pincushion8

As always, thank you for stopping by. I hope your day goes well for you!

52 thoughts on “A new purpose

  1. Lovely. Judith Adams has a lovely smocked teacup pincushion workshop/class. It is really fast. I think I have mine smocked, just need to get it stuffed and in a teacup. I think what stopped me is …. there is a slight pleat/wrinkle in the pleat (pleating late at night, double layers, 3rd attempt, tired…. ) it bothers me. Judith saw it and knew it was bothering me and just told me to put a silk ribbon flower on it and no one will know…. (But don’t enter it in any SAGA shows at convention…. It has to be perfect…)

  2. What a terrific idea! I love the way you camoflauged the crack. And how clever to use the buttons for organizing your different needles.Wish I’d thought of that! :~P

  3. Dear Wendy, I love what you’ve done with the tea cup! It’s born anew! When I saw the title of your post on my blog list – ‘A New Purpose’ – I immediately thought, ‘Oh no! She’s not quilting anymore’! So happy to see this is not the case!!

    I’m patchwork and quilting madly at present – for the bushfire families in Australia. Have organised quilting bee’s with local ladies. A lot of fun and very rewarding.

    It’s good to be back in blogland after such a long absence. It’s a joy to reconnect you again!

    Blessings,
    Kalianne

  4. Great ideas, Wendy! Thanks for the inspiration filled post!

    I love the button idea and was really wowed with the scissor idea. You have an endless supply of creativity don’t you?!

  5. Just look what you’ve done with that!!!!!! Now, that is so super and such an amazing idea….I think I’m gonna steal the concept and make me one too.

    My show n tell is all about afghans this week. Do stop by if you get a chance. Happy Friday.

  6. One of my favorite things in life is to give new purpose to a “disposable” item……you’ve really done it here! I love your idea and your finished product……

    Warm blessings,
    Spencer

  7. I love the brown transferware cup all by itself but it is perfect when finished. Great idea putting your scissors on the side and using the saucer for stray piecew of thread. Love it! Jean

  8. really cool project! our 4-H kids made candles with tea cups – the pin cushion idea would be great also. by the way, my mom and dad had this exact set of dishes :O)

    There is always room for the in The Shadow of the Cross. Feel free to visit anytime.

  9. what a neat idea! I loved that!reminds me of way way back in the day when I didn’t have a pincushion & I took a canning jar lid & put fabric & stuffing inbetween the lid & the seal & made one LOL
    Helen

  10. What a fabulous idea! I love that – you are just so clever! Wouldn’t that make a great little gift? I may have to do that with some of my odd cups. Gosh, thanks for the great craft tutorial!
    Kathy

  11. Pingback: Ideias criativas utilizando xícaras & canecas! « Garota Criatividade

  12. Pingback: Thank You, you… « Ivory Spring

  13. Pingback: Stitching Butlers « Ivory Spring

  14. I, too, can never discard anything beautiful. Enjoyed the tutorial and reading all the warm comments. Love your site–I’ll be back. Thanks. Alice

  15. Pingback: Gift from the heart « Ivory Spring

  16. As a photographer I take pride in hobby and my work, its clear that you doo with your insightful
    blog post. I had been fortunate to find it here. So I can find my way back here, thank
    you for posting this information and That I’ve saved the website!

  17. This could be because they do not see themselves as computer savvy, or they might not have
    access to enough time to invest in it. For that reason, social media marketing has developed
    into a favorite among both seasoned and new entrepreneurs.
    But certain characteristics of social media marketing marketing-the prevalence of impression-based messaging and the “soft”
    cultivation of brand and reputation-defies quantifiable measurement by basic,
    off-the-shelf marketing tools. http://blogs.rediff.com/pushband5/2016/12/20/introducing-uncomplicated-instagram-methods/

  18. Genius idea and definitely worth your 2 cents!
    Love the button idea. One could probably glue buttons onto an existing pincushion.

  19. Oh! Thank- you SO much for this idea. I bought a nice big mug/tea sample/tea ball gift set to find the mug is hand wash only and not microwave safe :-( It now has a purpose in life…
    I like your multi color thread talk quilt explanations. Very clear and helpful.ii
    Best, Tricia

Leave a comment