2-Cent Tuesday

Hello Friends, Happy December to you! I am just about finished with my Christmas decorations. How about you?

***

Before we get into the Christmas-sy stuff, don’t forget I am kicking off my Leaders/Enders sew-along on December 16! Here are the details:

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is unnamed-2.jpg
This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is fq-friendly_aunt-grace-heart1_66-x-75.jpg

I am going to do a sew-along between mid-December 2021 and April 2022 with this Aunt Grace Sew Charming Hearts quilt. All are welcome to join!

Click HERE to purchase the kit from Hancocks of Paducah. Picture below shows exactly what you are getting with the kit — a FQ bundle, background and binding fabrics! These 30s’ prints from Marcus Fabrics’ Aunt Grace Sew Charming line are absolutely adorable. Click HERE to see the individual prints.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is sew-charming.jpg

This is supposed to be a stress-free sew along because you will just be sewing the blocks as leaders-and-enders when you work on your main quilt! It’s never a race. And you are more than welcome to join in if you just want to make the quilt at your own pace, or make the quilt a main quilt project. I will, however, have a few dates (12/16/21 – 3/21/22) where I check in with you on your progress. Our first date is 12/16/21. You will have some time to get the kits in the meantime. So check back on 12/16/21 for our first assignment! With the assignments I will share with you as time goes on, you will find that these heart blocks are great as leaders and enders blocks! You can join in anytime even if you are not able to get your fabrics ready by 12/16!

Click HERE if you just want the pattern to sew along with your own fabrics.

***

Here are a few of my published Christmas projects this year. The patterns for are all in Quilter’s World Christmas 2021 Special Interest Issue.

***

Now for my 2-cents this week — you know the pins we use to secure fabrics pieces we are supposed to sew together? They get dull too — much like our sewing machine needles. I recently retired my old pins and bought some new pins, and was surprised at how easily the new pins penetrate layers of fabrics!

That’s my 2-cents this week. Now it’s your turn to share your 2-cents!

Wishing you a blessed Christmas season, my Friends!

p.s. Have you been following my “A Christmas Quilt A Day” on Instagram?

Find me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ivory_spring/

***

My Etsy Shop (THREADS SHIP FREE to continental US): https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring 

My Online Machine Quilting Classes: https://www.anniescatalog.com/onlineclasses/instructor.html?id=16

Find all my stand-alone patterns: https://shrsl.com/337dq

9 thoughts on “2-Cent Tuesday

  1. Yikes!! I never thought about “dull” pins. I have always just added new pins to old pins, just mixing them up. I may have to splurge and “start all over,” with my pins, that is.

    I always use “leaders and enders.” I’ve thought about making a quilt using them, but I seem to lose interest in the “leader and ender” project. With my love for hearts, maybe I can finally do this. What a fun way to create a stress-free quilt.

    Thank you for “two for the price of one” outstanding ideas.

  2. I am obsessed about pins. I only buy the extremely fine clover straight pins. They bend easily but they are so sharp.
    Wendy, I love your Christmas decorations.
    I hope you have a very happy special Christmas this year.

  3. The pictures here are SO pretty. Were they all taken in your home? You certainly make gorgeous quilts, Wendy, and I’m happy for you to have had so much success working with different companies. Your name will go into the annals of quiltmaking history.

Leave a comment