Editorial Feature Overload #3: Cover Quilt and More in Fons and Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2017)

Happy Friday, Friends!  I hope you have had a good week.  I am excited to share with one of my quilts made cover again in the current quilting publications!!!  That quilt is mine, and it’s Pound of Sugar!  A seriously sweet name for a quilt made with sweet 30’s fabrics, no? :)

This quilt uses the Feedsack fabrics from Windham Fabrics.  And I absolutely absolutely love for it turned out!

I don’t have this quilt back with me because it is going to be displayed at Spring Market next month in St. Louis.  But I am glad the picture shows the quilting details well enough!

Yesterday,  you saw my County Fair quilt that is made of pinwheels.  Pound of Sugar is ALSO a pinwheel quilt, except the way the pinwheels are constructed give an on-point effect!

The next editorial feature I have in the same magazine issue is Cozy Castles – a baby quilt that is made with 30’s flannel fabrics from Windham’s Storybook Flannel fabric line.  Click here to view fabrics.

Incidentally, I designed a free-to-use sailboat quilt to support this fabric group.  Click here to download pattern.

Missouri Star is also carrying another baby quilt kit called Starburst, for which I designed using the same fabric line! Click here to purchase the quilt kit.

I always love working with 30’s fabrics.  I am actually hoarding 30’s fabrics to hopefully work on a quilt of my dreams…. when I retire from designing, hahaha!

Alrightie, Friends… I have to fly for now!  I hope you have a lovely weekend.

***

My 2017 Line-up

Editorial Feature

American Patchwork & Quilting (Jan/Feb 2017):  Close Quarters (Cover Quilt)

Fons & Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2017): Pound of Sugar (Cover Quilt)

Fons & Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2017): Cozy Castles

McCall’s Quilting (May/June 2017): Village Square (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quilting (May/June 2017): County Fair

McCall’s Quick Quilts (Feb/March 2017):  I’m Blue For You

McCall’s Quick Quilts (April/May 2017): Stamp Pad

 

Free-to-use Design

Jan 2017:  Stars and Stripes Forever (Hoffman Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  HOPE (Windham Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  Bleecker Street (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Sheeps and Peeps (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Smarty Cats (Windham Fabrics)

Feb 2017: Wildwood Way (RJR Fabrics)

March 2017: Hamilton (Windham Fabrics)

April 2017: Vines (Windham Fabrics)

April 2017: Storybook Flannel (Windham Fabrics)

9 thoughts on “Editorial Feature Overload #3: Cover Quilt and More in Fons and Porter’s Easy Quilts (Summer 2017)

  1. Love, love, love all the 30’s fabrics quilts. You churn them out too quickly; I can’t sew that fast in order to keep up. And………way too many are “my favorites!!” Yikes!! I need 30 hour days!! Continue to inspire us, Wendy 👏🏻😉👏🏻

  2. Love your quilts! 30s fabrics are my favorites followed closely by batiks–both are hoarded here. You always inspire me! I need to find more time to quilt, but I’m feeding two bottle calves these days and have lots going on here.

  3. Wendy, I too am a hoarder of 30’s fabrics. So much so that I had to buy a second storage suitcase for them !! Aren’t the flannel 30’s just the best!! Love your patterns!!

Leave a comment