DETAILS – CHRISTMAS ALL YEAR ROUND QAL

My Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring  NEW PATTERNS JUST LISTED!

Fat Quarter Shop: https://shrsl.com/337dq

Connecting Threads: https://shrsl.com/4adn4

Wendy Sheppard related offerings on Annie’s: https://shrsl.com/3xtvh

Emerson Creek Pottery: https://emersoncreekpottery.com/?ref=Wendy

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM FOR MORE PICTURES: https://www.instagram.com/ivory_spring/

***

My friends, Christmas will be officially over this Saturday after Twelfth Night! It’s time to work on keeping Christmas all year round in our quilt (ahem, heart!). I had designed the following quilt for a quilt along using the blocks featured in my Christmas book! 

ABOUT

  1. Throw Size Quilt (63 1/2″ x 63 1/2″)
  2. Low stress QAL – if you had sewn along with me, you know my QALs are relatively low demand and low stress
  3. Again, all the blocks are blocks used in the quilts in my Christmas book. We are just using some of the blocks to make ANOTHER quilt.

WHY

  1. You might see a quilt in the book that you like, but aren’t quite ready to take the plunge to make the entire quilt. This QAL will give you a chance to sample the different blocks. You can even treat this QAL as if you are making test blocks for all the different quilts.
  2. Some have told me they shy away from small pieces. I always tell my quilting friendls small pieces are like big pieces. My tried and true tricks: cut accurately, sew slowly, remake units if necessary, dry iron with no steam. Click HERE if you missed my guest post on Aurifil’s blog, Auribuzz, right before Christmas 2023. This quilt will give you opportunities to gain confidence playing with small pieces.

WHEN

  1. The 15th of every month from Feb-Oct 2024. That way, you will have time to finish it for Christmas 2024

HOW DOES IT WORK

  1. Refer to the monthly assignments, make the blocks and units as referenced in the page number of the book.
  2. I WILL NOT LIST THE FABRIC PIECES TO CUT. YOU WILL NEED TO FIGURE OUT THE PIECES TO CUT based on the blocks we are making for a month since the information is already in the book. That will give you an experience on how to adapt a pattern for your own liking if you have never done that before. Based on the cutting and construction information, you will make the blocks.
  3. You would have to get my book for the block patterns. You may purchase the book HERE.
  4. On the 15th of each month, I will share pertinent details (if applicable) on my blog and show you pictures of the blocks I make for that month.
  5. For the 15th of October, I will share with you the additional background pieces we will cut for the assembly in order to make all the blocks fit together!

WITH THAT, I SHALL SEE YOU ON FEB 15 TO START MAKING OUR CHRISTMAS ALL YEAR ROUND QUILT!

18 thoughts on “DETAILS – CHRISTMAS ALL YEAR ROUND QAL

  1. What a clever idea, combining several patterns to create a quilt. This sounds like my kind of thing. I already have your lovely Christmas Book! I’m in!! PS…… and I have a year to stitch – wooo hooo 😁

  2. Thank you for doing this, I’m excited and looking forward to this. Quick question: Does the fabric requirements include the pretty striped/angled border on this quilt as well, or should we have additional fabrics for that outer border? Thanking you in advance for your response.

  3. I am excited for your QAL! I fell in love with the quilt on the cover and bought the book. This opportunity will give me a chance to try out the patterns! 😁

  4. I love the idea of a Sampler quilt from your book. Just as an FYI, on my Android mobile device, it took me several tries to get to the blog post. And once I did, I didn’t know if I was in the right place because of all the stuff that is extraneous to scroll through to eventually get to the actual content. I almost gave up. You might have lost participants because of this. I plan to join in to the fun! OMG and there just was a huge NEXT button that appeared that I thought I was supposed to click on. But no. It redirected me! I found my way back. I might need to rethink joining if I have to wade through so much stuff that could be spam and unsafe!

  5. My 13 year old grand daughter fell in love with the cover quilt that has the pine trees, so I kept trying until I finally purchased it. I loved it too, but when I looked at the book, I fell in love with the one we will start on February 15. One I decorate with ginger bread items for Christmas, but two, my husband’s sister, who passed away right after Christmas two years ago, was named Joy. It will be displayed on the back of my living room couch.

  6. I’m starting a little late, but look forward to “catching up! I have your book, but will need some of the sew-a-long particulars. Thanks for a wonderful book of Christmas quilts AND for the sampler. I love the idea of keeping Christmas in my heart throughout the year (by sewing). 😃

  7. Exciting. For the April blocks, not certain how many whites, greens and reds to cut as the fabric listed is for the whole quilt but we are only making the 2 star blocks. Could you list how many of each color to cut for just the Star blocks? Thank you.

    • Dear Anonymous: Here are the cutting directions for ONE Large Star….WhiteFabric: A, 3- 6”sq. C, 24-2.5”sq. E, 4-2+3.5”ret. F. 4-2”sq. H, 2-1.5+6.5”ret. I, 2-1.5+8.5”ret.    Green Fabric: B, 3-6”sq.   Red Fabric: D, 4-2”sq, G, 1-3.5 sq.  Use the 8 at a time method on page 23 in your book to make the HST using the A & B sq. Square to 2.5…..Hope this helps you….Dot M. In Pa.

  8. hi Wendy! Thanks for this sampler, I was going to start on the candy stripe border and was wondering are the HST units going to be the same as in the book as I noticed a difference in size of quilts. Thank you!

Leave a comment