Tuesday Tidbits 2/21/2023

FOLLOW ME @ivory_spring on Instagram IF YOU HAVEN’T. Instagram is where I best interact with quilters, and where I share the latest news!

***

Hello Friends, I hope you are all well. How is it we are nearing the end of February already? The last few months have been hectic, but I have been working on a very exciting project for release later this year. It’s quite exciting, and I can’t wait to share with you! Now that THAT particular special project is finished, I am moving toward another special project. It’s something I have never done, but have thought a lot about the last couple of years. I will definitely share with you if something comes off this next project.

HAPPENINGS – QUILT ALONG, STITCH ALONG

#1. Well, the Harrisonburg Quilt Along kicked off with a loud bang! Thank you again for your generous support toward the Virginia Quilt Museum. If you haven’t watched Pat Sloan on YouTube, you need to. She posted several videos of her recent visit to the museum, and got a chance to see the original quilt.

Details are HERE if you have missed it.

This is my Harrisonburg quilt – close to 350 fabrics later! I am going to actually add an additional outer border so that I don’t run the risk of having my binding cut off the points in my diamond-in-square units! I worked TOO HARD on those diamond-in-squares units.

#2. STARTING MARCH 3!! The annual Quilters World series quilt quilt along will be my Chestnut Grove quilt!

Details are HERE in case you missed it.

AND — I mentioned to you I would let you know once I have information about kits! There will be kits offered in a BOM program. Click HERE to join!

#3. STARTING MARCH 1!! And today, I announced on Instagram there will be a needlework stitch along with the H.Purdy Sampler from NeedleworkPress’ Christmas Duo chart. You may purchase your chart from 123stitch.com.

#4. ONGOING — COLOR DANCE SEW ALONG – latest post & details HERE. I am still running behind on this but it is definitely on my March radar screen!

PRETTY FABRICS ALERT

Have you seen Andover’s Strawberries and Cream? Oh my goodness – the reds/pinks/cream in this collection are absolutely gorgeous!

Click HERE for fabric INFO.

Pattern will be released in my pattern line sometime in May this year. Stay tuned!

BEFORE I GO….

I managed to stitch over the weekend, which was a luxury for me.

Click HERE if you are interested in my INDIGO Thread Collection. I have one box left in my Etsy shop here.

Tell me what project you have been working on! And thank you again for stopping by. I shall catch up with you later! [I actually also cleaned out my sewing room, and have more destashing opportunities coming up! Stay tune.]

***

POSTSCRIPT

My Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring 

Find all my stand-alone patterns: https://shrsl.com/337dq

Wendy Sheppard related offerings on Annie’s: https://shrsl.com/3xtvh

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tidbits 2/21/2023

  1. You’ve had such a productive start to the year, Wendy. It’s no wonder the months are passing so quickly. I glad you were able to enjoy some quiet stitching. I’m loving the red and green scrappy tree blocks.

  2. I suspect never a dull moment at your house…..always the busy lady 😊. Sew many projects to complete. I have two High School graduation quilts that I need to have completed this spring. I have finished my “Crockpot SAL” quilt, hand stitching the binding will take place this weekend. What a fun, non-stressful event 😁!! Such a happy feeling when projects are done!!

  3. Wendy, I love your cross stitch, so glad you found time to stitch. It looks like you have a busy year ahead and I’m looking forward to seeing the special projects you have planned. With nearly 50 pieces in the beautiful Christmas tree blocks, those are definitely scrap busters and good practice for my accuracy. Remember to sleep…

  4.     I’ve lost my mojo.  I won the Benartex kit for Harrisonburg and was all set to begin with the sew along on Feb. 14.  I got stuck on sorting my fabrics into Fabric 1, Fabric 2 and 3. In the kit, there are 6 quarter yard cuts so Fabric 1 is chosen. I have watched and rewatched Pat Sloan’s videos. No mention of sorting fabrics. I know I have a choice and can do as I please. I want to know how the fabrics were chosen to be where they are in the Sleepover version. The photo of that example is not sharp. I see in the pattern cover version the 3 colors in each block are color coordinated. Pat has mentioned she is making all the “blue blocks” first. In that case, how did she (not literally) sort for Fabric 2 and Fabric 3? She told me she doesn’t precut. It almost sounded like she doesn’t presort, either.     At this point, I just want to be told what goes where, and then I might do a switch or two. Can you please help me? I hate to waste all this beautiful fabric.Thank you,Karen K     

Leave a comment