Daughters of Longbourn: Part 1

This is a meager showing of my progress on Daughters of Longbourn. But I have had a great time stitching it, and I feel like doing a Jane Austen post! :) I am not using the charted Crescent Colors threads. I am using DMC to substitute as best as I can:

Pride & Prejudice is one book I read over and over AND over again. I normally would randomly flip to a chapter and just read for leisure. I love the wit in this book.

“Mr. Bennet was so odd a mixture of quick parts, sarcastic humour, reserve, and caprice, that the experience of three-and-twenty years had been insufficient to make his wife understand his character. Her mind was less difficult to develope. She was a woman of mean understanding, little information, and uncertain temper. When she was discontented she fancied herself nervous. The business of her life was to get her daughters married; its solace was visiting and news.” (Pride & Prejudice Chapter 1)

Who is your favorite Longbourn character, my dear readers?

Here are a couple of favorite Austen links [Warning: they can be addictive]:

Republic of Pemberley

Jane Austen Today

Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate your visit. Have a good one.

15 thoughts on “Daughters of Longbourn: Part 1

  1. Wow, techy sis… you’ve a vote page on your blog! I’m so excited with new features you included here! Sorry, dont know who is Longbourn, I dont know who to vote! :)

  2. It has been many years since I have stitched on a sampler. Back in the day, I made quite a few. Now you’re making me want to drag out floss, even-weave and charts again. Where do you buy your materials? I remember a catalog from which I ordered called The Scarlet Letter….I believe that is what it was? Lots of reproduction sampler kits in varying levels of difficulty. I still have a kit I bought, probably 20 years ago….now where did I put that? Your work is lovely….keep showing us!

  3. Whoa…looks like Elizabeth is winning the poll. I do appreciate Mr. Bennet, too. We watched Young Victoria and really enjoyed it!

  4. Your Daughters of Longbourn is coming along nicely. I’ve been so busy trying to catch-up but I feel as though I’m falling further and further behind. LOL

    I love Elizabeth Bennett’s character. She is my kind of woman!

  5. What a fun piece, Wendy! Is that counted cross stitch? My cousin used to do that. I probably couldn’t see to do it at this point. I admire you for all the creative things you do.

    I love PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, and I have a little quiz on my blog. I ended up being Elizabeth out of the Austen characters.

    In addition to her, I love Jo in Louisa May Alcott’s LITTLE WOMEN.

    XO,

    Sheila :-)

  6. I enjoyed Jane Austen for me Elizabeth would be top on the list.
    I love all your cross stitch projects and thinking of starting one myself. I have a really cute alphabets set that I should start – Hugs Natima

  7. I think I actually like Jane just slightly more than Elizabeth, though both of them are favorites.

    Once begun is half done, as they say! You’ve got a good start!

  8. Thanks for visiting my blog and your nice comment.
    You are quilting, stitching and what else..??
    Lovely work.

    Good weekend

    Helen from Toronto

Leave a comment