Fleur de Noel: Final Sneak Peeks

Good morning, my Friends! I hope my post finds you well. Thank you so very much for your kind, assuring and encouraging words you have left for me on yesterday’s post.

I experienced machine issues when I was able to quilt my Fleur de Noel project. I brought Baby along when I took the machine to see my dealer. Fortunately it wasn’t something major. I was able to take the machine home the very same day and worked on quilting Fleur de Noel.

I find the black and red combination to be a very chic combination. These fabrics are from Henry Glass‘ At Home for the Holidays collection:

Instead of doing all free-hand designs allover the already busy fabrics, I decided to use a stencil design this time. The main reason is that I didn’t want to just stitch-in-the-ditch for the star blocks. I wanted to something different. I first stitched without the top thread through layers of vellum paper with the design transferred by pen on the top sheet:

Then I centered and pinned one sheet “perforated” with the design onto a block and start stitching (this time with thread) to quilt the block. The only thing you have to be careful is to be gentle when you tear the paper off so that you don’t “pull” the stitches loose:

Here are a few more quilting sneak peeks:

A quick view of the back:

This project is scheduled to be featured in Quilter’s World‘s December 2010 issue. Until then, I hope you have enjoyed these sneak peeks! :)

Till next time, tootles!

23 thoughts on “Fleur de Noel: Final Sneak Peeks

  1. Amazing! you’re able to “TRACE” patterns onto fabric using machine and thread? (I dont think I can do that with paper and pencil! haha) This is very pretty!

  2. Beautiful….always love your work. I have used that transfer method a bit in the past..but it is hard on the thread I found. I dont really like marking before I baste the the quilt…never thought of using the perforated sheet as the actuall pattern…interesting. The colours are really quite stunning

  3. It looks so elegant. Do you find that you need to change your stitch length when you use the paper pattern? I do not like to mark my quilts and have used the paper on borders before.

  4. Wendy, you quilting is beautiful and really makes the quilt pop. I love the red and black color combination. In fact, I have some fabrics I’ve been aging for the perfect project. lol

  5. Congrats on Quilters World! Very sophisticated quilt. It really has a rich feel to it. I’ll have to remember that trick with the vellum.

Leave a comment