Orange Marmalade Bread

I found that making homemade bread (I mean, bread made in a bread machine) is a great way to make the house smell like I have slaved for hours in the kitchen. I tried an orange marmalade bread over the weekend:

Bread1

It turned out very tasty, especially with a bit of apricot preserves:

bread2

Here is the recipe (from “Great Bread Machine Baking” by Marlene Brown):

1/2 cup warm water (80 F)

1/2 cup orange marmalade or apricot preserves

1/4 butter, softened and cut up

1 egg

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon grated lemon peel

3 1/2 cups bread flour, unsifted

2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast

1. If your machine does not have a preheat cycle, combine water and marmalade or preserves and heat in microwave on HIGH power for 30 seconds. Add to the bread pan with remaining ingredients according to the manufacturer’s directions for your machine. Set the CYCLE, LOAF SIZE, and CRUST SETTING. Press START.

2. After about 5 minutes of kneading, check the consistency of your dough. If dough is not in a smooth round ball, open lid and with machine ON, add liquid a tablespoon at a time if too dry, or add flour a tablespoon at a time if too wet.

3. Remove the bread promptly from the pan when the machine beeps or on completing the cycle. Cool on rack before slicing.

***

I am working on my Sunbonnet Sue quilt deadline.  I hope to have some pictures for you soon!  Have a lovely day.

11 thoughts on “Orange Marmalade Bread

  1. We have been using a bread machine for YEARS. I love fresh bread and so many purchased breads have problematic ingredients. Generally I make the dough in the machine but do the final rise and baking in a loaf pan.

  2. I think I can smell the bread from here! It must have been absolutely delicious! We keep thinking about buying a bread machine — think maybe we’ll just start looking at them soon! Fresh-baked break in the fall would be a huge treat!

  3. Your recipe sounds delicious – don’t you love the convenience of a bread machine?! I also use the dough only cycle quite a bit and finish with baking in the oven. And I agree – the house smells wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. I can almost smell it from here. I love the smell of home bake bread. DH backs bread at our house. Thank for the recipe, I will print it out for him to try.

  5. Oh, Wendy, thats sounds delectable! I must give this recipe a try ~ Gentleman Farmer will just love it, I’m sure! Especially with homemade apricot jam ~ his favorite! ;~}

  6. That bread sounds delicious. I’m a sucker for marmalade! I don’t have a bread machine though. Don’t know if that’s good or bad – probably both. Good that I don’t have it because I’m a sucker for homemade bread but certainly don’t need the calories LOL, and bad because now I can’t even try it!

  7. I LOVE my bread machine and will give this a try!! I also have a fantastic recipe for pizza dough that I make in the bread machine :)

Leave a comment