From Holland with Love

Hello Everyone, I am joining in “Blue Monday” a little late today.  I am still in the process of getting back into the groove of things after visiting with family.

blue monday

This Delft Blue plate from Holland was given to me by a Dutch friend, one of the sweetest girls I have ever known:

Delft1

She remembered me being a dish-aholic after visiting me.  Upon returning to her home country, she bought me this plate.  She had packed it in regular envelope and wrapped the plate with minimal bubble wrap.  I was thoroughly surprised the plate made it without a scratch from Holland, and that’s after the postman just tossed it in the mailbox.  So, whenever I look at the plate, I am mindful of the treacherous yet safe journey it has made in order to get to my home:

delft2

Today, Delft is synonymous with Dutch pottery.  But you might be interested to know that the Delft pottery was not original to Dutch or Delft.  The pottery recipe was developed to imitate the Chinese imports in the 15-16th centuries by Dutch potters.  They were so good at it that their products stood and continue to stand in a class of their own, with scenes unique to Holland:

Delft3

Happy Monday to you all!  I will catch up with you later!  I will get to your emails, and comments you have left for me last week!

14 thoughts on “From Holland with Love

  1. The plate is gorgeous. How fortunate it safely made the long journey. It’s wonderful to have objects that remind us of friends. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  2. What’s a nice friend you have, I love that Delft Bleu Dutch dish! I am a bit of a dish-aholic too, but only looking and admiring them. I have no room to store them in our small home. Will just admiring yours and enjoy.

  3. Howdy
    Happy Blue Monday to you.
    Wow what an adventure .
    Thank you so very much for sharing .
    The photos are all gorgeous.
    Have a very blessed rest of the week.
    Happy Trails

  4. Hi Wendy, I’m have been a little bit laxed with my blog reading, so I am sorry if I am late.
    I love your Blue Delft Plate. I have 2 that I lugged around Europe on my walls. They are really beautiful aren’t they. I love blue and white china.

Leave a comment