Fun tag-alongs for Quilt Retreats

Hello my friends, I hope you have had a good start to your new week! Thank you so much for your support for my Pattern of Month offer! I hope those of you who purchased the pattern will enjoy making the quilt. I honestly don’t know why I hadn’t done this sooner because I have had SO MUCH fun picking out the patterns to highlight for every month this year. Some months, we will actually have more than one pattern! Click HERE in case you missed yesterday’s post.

***

I know many of you enjoy going to quilt retreats to just sew and have signed up for the retreats you want to attend with friends this year. Today, I am sharing with you a few tag-alongs you might want to consider taking with you to streamline packing for you retreat, and make sewing at a retreat more enjoyable for you!

And even if you aren’t attending a retreat, I think you might find these “tag-alongs” can become useful “permanent fixtures” in your sewing area.

ONCE YOU CLICK ON THE DISCOUNT LINK I SHARED ABOVE (or here: https://glnk.io/mzmmj/ivory-spring), THEN TYPE IN THE KEYWORDS IN THE SEARCH BAR TO ORDER THE ITEM! That way, we can be sure you get the discounts.

Keyword
Search
DescriptionMy Thoughts
Quilter’s CaseSize:
14 1/2″ x 14 1/4″ x 2 3/4″
Storage Depth: 2 3/4″
ID identification


#1. Honestly, I can see this being used as a personal item on a plane if you have a in-plane/lobby project.
#2. I love the luggage strap + the separating board with the mesh bag to store a quilt pattern.
#3. I am able to store: 36 FQs, Rulers, Magnetic Pin Case, Threads, Diagonal Seam Tape, Bobbin Box, Needles, Rulers. I like that I can also store finished blocks made during the retreat in this area as well.
#4. The side flap has other storage pouches for storing more notions: seam ripper, writing utensils, WonderClips, Rotary Cutter, Bandaid, a binding needle in the attached needle book. [Note, if you are flying and bringing this as a personal item, I am pretty sure rotary cutter isn’t allowed in the cabin. So, it’s best to pack it in your checked-in baggage. Of course, it’s a different story if you are driving!]

I would like to just get a whole bunch of these cases in lieu of plastic storage boxes to store the different ongoing projects.
Omnigrip 8 1/2″8 1/2″ ruler with neon markingsThe 8 1/2″ and 6″ x 9″ are my all-time favorite rulers. They are my two most used rulers at home. I can easily store them in the Quilter’s Case (pictured above). I don’t have a large cutting area. So I use the foldover method when I want to cut a long strip. For example, if I want to cut a 2 1/2″ x 16 1/2″ strip. I would fold my fabric in half, and use my 8 1/2″ ruler to cut at the 2 1/2″ x 8 1/4″ marking. 8.25 multiplied by 2 is 16 1/2″.
Magnetic Pin CaddyA magnetic pin caddy that has a lid that can double as a waste bin while you sew at your retreat station.The lid of this pin caddy is everything for me in that it makes sure all the pins are secure during transit.
I am even able to fit my Merchant & Mills baby bow scissors. You may find these very affordable UK-made scissors HERE. These scissors cut well, and aren’t too expensive to bring on a trip.
Nested Zipper CaseI find these really useful to organize the bibs and bobs associated with going on a trip!
Set of two
Large: 8 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ x 2″
Small: 7 1/2″ x 5″ x 1 1/2″
The large box is perfect for bringing little gifts for the friends you meet at a retreat. Retreats are for meeting old friends and making new friends. It’s always nice to have something small and handy to gift your friends. Items to bring: A FQ or two, a charm pack, non-breakable ornaments that are symbolic of where you are from, a little notepad, AND very important — name cards with your contact info!

The small box is perfect for storing snacks! I always pack my food items separately from my quilting things in case of a piece of melted chocolate getting on a tool or fabric.
Quilters Select
14″ mat
Size 14″ x 14″Sometimes the retreat centers provide cutting mats, but sometimes it’s hard to have to wait on someone else who is using the cutting table. 14″ mat is a nice size to have at your own sewing station at the retreat in case you just want to do a small cut, or even mark on your fabric pieces. I can attest this mat is quite useful in my small cutting table. I can cut almost all my block pieces on this mat.
Large Tote BagSize: 19 1/2″ x 17 1/2″An extra tote bag (or 2 or 3) are always welcome retreats if there are purchases to be made. Meanwhile, it is great to hold the different loose items on the way to the retreat. At $2.95, it is great to bring a few extras to give as gifts to your retreat friends… because they might have not planned ahead on how to lug their purchases!

BONUS: Many of you know that I also dabble in needlework. I would definitely use the Quilter’s Case and the nested cases at a needlework event! As you can see the Quilter’s Case has PLENTY of room left to fit in purchases etc.

And on that note, I want to thank you for visiting and hope you have lots of fun quilting in 2024, whether at retreats or right at your sewing desk!

***

SUPPORT MY WORK:

My Etsy Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring  

Fat Quarter Shop: https://shrsl.com/337dq

Connecting Threads: https://shrsl.com/4adn4

Wendy Sheppard related offerings on Annie’s: https://shrsl.com/3xtvh

Emerson Creek Pottery: https://emersoncreekpottery.com/?ref=Wendy

FOLLOW ME ON INSTAGRAM FOR MORE PICTURES: https://www.instagram.com/ivory_spring/

***

Leave a comment