Smocked Bishop: Ready for construction

Good morning, everyone.  I hope all is well with you!

The smocking on this bishop is complete.  The smocking plate is from the Spring 2006 issue of Sew Beautiful.

williamsburg smocking6

I can’t say I had enjoyed this plate because of the 3-step trellises to be completed in half-rows, but the effect is pleasing and agreeable on the dress:

williamsburg smocking4

williamsburg smocking3

For some reason, the effect reminds me a dahlia blossom (picture from Pacific Bulb Company):

dahlia1

I did not follow the smocking plate for the sleeves.  I wanted the smocking on the sleeves to be rather subdue to highlight the cluny lace:

williamsburg smocking5

Now, it’s time for the HARD part!  Putting together a garment is definitely not my strength!

10 thoughts on “Smocked Bishop: Ready for construction

  1. You are right about the smocking looking like the dahlia blossom. It is beautiful and you did a terrific job on it. I like the way you did the sleeves so the lace didn’t get lost. I am sure that you will do just fine putting it all together.

  2. I’ve always loved the effect smocking gives a garment but I’ve never taken the step to try. I have some of Sew Beautiful magazines with some smocking designs… You’ve done some beautiful work. I can’t wait to see the completed garment.

  3. This is beautiful Wendy and you’re right – the smoking pattern looks exactly like a dahlia! I can’t wait to see this finished – I have no doubt about your being able to finish the dress perfectly. All your sewing is just wonderful.

Leave a comment