2-Cent Tuesday

Hello Friends, it is 11.30pm my time on Tuesday, and it looks like I made our 2-Cent Tuesday party in the nick of time! I hope you have had a good day. First off, a new magazine feature in the Summer 2021 issue of Primitive Quilts and Projects! So often browns are used as accent fabrics in blocks. I set out to give the various browns the major role in this quilt design.

And here are my two cents for today: I never cut all my block pieces at one time before sewing. AFTER COMPLETING A TEST BLOCK (always do a test block!), I only cut enough pieces to do the number of blocks in one block colorway. That keep things from being too boring and monotonous for me.

For example, in the brown house quilt above — I would cut enough pieces for one light brown colorway, and sew the pieces together to make the blocks. Then, I cut the second round of fabrics – enough to make blocks of a different colorway, and so forth! I find that I keep my concentration better that way and make fewer mistakes.

And those are my 2-cents for today, now it’s your turn! Happy Quilting, my Friends!

***

Find me on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ivory_spring/

My Etsy Shop (THREADS SHIP FREE to continental US): https://www.etsy.com/shop/ivoryspring 

My Online Machine Quilting Classes: https://www.anniescatalog.com/onlineclasses/instructor.html?id=16

5 thoughts on “2-Cent Tuesday

  1. I usually cut block pieces as I go because I’m often using multiple fabrics or scraps. The exception is when I’m prepping for a quilt retreat and want to have all the pieces pre-cut. But those projects are simple blocks and don’t require making a test block first.

  2. Great 2-cent tip. Thank you. I’ll confess I haven’t been good about a test block and later sorry. I’m now inspired by your tip and will definitely pursue making test blocks for all future quilts.

  3. And ready the pattern thru first! I do test blocks (if a new blodk to me) and only cut color sets in a few amounts – sew, repeat.

Leave a comment