Twas the few hours before I leave…. & Market Giveaway!

… for FALL QUILT MARKET in Houston!

Hello Friends — loooooooong time no chat/visit!  I have missed you.  I want to check in with you to let you know I am doing well.  Thank you to those who emailed and asked if I was doing okay.  Quick answer is:  yes, I am!  And I do appreciate you checking up on me.  Long answer is:  I have been inundated with a huge amount of unplanned assignments the last few weeks!  It’s been crazy!  Honestly, it’s been a test of strength and faith for me in some ways.  And yet, I thank God for sustaining me through loooooong hours… there were a few nights there where I barely slept in order to meet a tight and non-negotiable deadline.

Enough about my past trials and tribulations… :)  I am heading to Houston for a few days!  I am looking forward to meeting up with friends, and seeing what’s new!  Keep your eyes out on something new I have been blessed to be involved with… AuriKIDS!  If you know your local quilt shop owner is going to Market, be sure to have him/her check out AuriKIDS at Schoolhouse:

or… on Sunday at Aurifil’s booth!

The other exciting thing about Market for me is my third book is finally out!  Stitching Pathways is based on my many years of Thread Talk posts.  So many of you have asked for a book… and the book is finally born!!!  You can preorder the book here. Click on the link to see the layout of the book.  I honestly cannot be more excited about how the book has turned out.

I had promised you I would share more about the book, and I still plan on doing that after Market!

GIVEAWAY – As with Spring Market earlier this year, I will be bringing back hot off the press or upcoming fabric bundles from Market.  I have no idea what they are – but they are more than likely FQ bundles!  And this time, I have a checked baggage (in addition to my carry-on).  You remember last time I went to Spring Market with merely a 16″ x 16″ carry on for my clothes and goodies! :) Leave a comment here to enter the giveaway for: FQ Bundle #1, FQ Bundle #2, and a copy of my book.  I will select 3 winners for each prize. :)

That’s all for now.  I still have to finish up packing and laundry (argh!)… and I leave for the airport in 5 hours!  Tootles for now, and remember some bunny loves you! :)

p.s.  Instagram is where you will find the latest about me.  It’s been easier for me to update things there because I can do that in just seconds instead of 1 1/2-2 hrs to compose a blog post.  Follow me at ivory_spring — and check in with me there!

190 thoughts on “Twas the few hours before I leave…. & Market Giveaway!

  1. Glad to hear all is well. Some day I hope to quilt as well as you do! Thanks for the great giveaways — whatever they may be. =)

  2. Wow, I’m super excited to hear about your book. I can’t wait to get a copy. I’d absolutely would love to win a FQ bundle. I hope you pick me! Have fun at Market.

  3. Your book looks wonderful – congratulations!! And that is an amazingly generous giveaway!

    I hope you have a wonderful time at Market. Given how well Ms. Baby has done with her needlework skills, I can’t imagine a better person than you to be involved in Aurifil for kids!

    Cathi

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. So excited for you and your book. What an accomplishment!! One of your quilts is on my 2018 to do list … Keep on doing your magic!!

  5. Congrats on your new book! I would love to win a fq bundle and then purchase your book! Enjoy a well deserved break at quilt market. I live in TX but I am not able to make this one, maybe in the spring. Thanks for doing the give away.

  6. I am speechless. I could stare at the bunny forever! It is stunning! Is this something from your new book? WOW!!! :D

  7. Have fun at Quilt Market! Would be happy to win a FQ bundle. But to get your book would send me over top. Have been following you when ever possible almost from the get go!

  8. I am moving into the area of machine quilting instead of by hand. Your book looks like it would be the perfect companion as I explore and learn

  9. Some bunny loves you is adorable and the quilting exquisite! Thanks for the chance at the giveaway.

  10. You are very generous, to give us the chance to win fabric or your book! The book looks very interesting. Wish I could get the hang of free motion quilting, but it seems beyond me.

  11. Wendy, You are such a remarkable quilter and woman! I have learned so much from your blogs and other books and will definitely get your newest book ! Thank you for sharing your talent with us! Have a wonderful time in Houston!

  12. Hi Wendy, I love how you show us step by step to complete a free motion design, it is easy to follow and practice with it. I also love the desigh around the applicate piece. I ‘ve been following you on Instagram, can‘t wait to read your newest book. Good luck with Quilt Market.

  13. You are probably on your way to Market now 6 am CST. I hope you have a really fun time there!
    I’d love to win fabric and your book so enter me in. Thanks for the giveaway.

  14. Congrats on the new book!! Hope to see you at Houston. Plan to be there a few days and enjoy every minute of it. Thanks for the great giveaways–so very great of you to share.

  15. Hi Wendy!! I’ve been wondering about you, but knew you must be busy with new, wonderful projects! The new book looks absolutely wonderful! Your diagrams always were so easy to follow! You & you alone are responsible for my success with free motion quilting! Have a wonderful trip to Houston & I’ll imagine you looking & looking at all the wonderful booths!!

  16. Sounds like Market will be a fun event for you, and maybe even a bit more restful than your last few weeks! Hope you enjoy every minute, and thank you for hosting this giveaway! I’ve always loved your Thread Talks and that’s a guarantee that I’ll also love the new book.

  17. Safe travels. Congrats on your new book. I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy! As far as the luggage goes… You can always ship things home!

  18. Good for you for sticking with it. All good things take work, and we all know the good things that come from you. Enjoy yourself at market. Wish I was there.

  19. Congratulations on your new book and the AuriKids venture!! Your quilting is simply amazing. I hope you have a chance to relax and have fun in Houston – you deserve it!

  20. Glad to hear life is treating you well! Enjoy your trip to market, too. It looks like a fun time but a lot of work, too.

  21. Have fun at Market! I’m excited to hear about your book. I wish I could be at Market for your book signing. I love Thread Talk, so to have it all in a book will be wonderful! Wishing you the best.

  22. Wendy, You are amazing! You have had a great year. I can’t wait to see all of the new goodies that you and others will share at Quilt Market. Will be following your adventure on Instagram and blog. Have a great time!

  23. Have fun at Market. I have you, but sounds like you were super busy. I’d love a chance to have a FQ bundle or you new book. Thanks for a great giveaway.

  24. oooooooooh! This book looks yummy! Can’t wait to give it a look-through! Thanks for coming back . . . I’ve missed you!

  25. Wendy, your quilting is extraordinary and I look forward to your book. Enjoy the time at Quilt Market and try to get in a little relaxation…….. Thank you for the giveaways.

  26. Congratulations on another wonderful book! Love your beautiful work. Enjoy your time at market and hope to hear from you soon. lol

  27. I’ve added your book to my Christmas list. Have fun at Quilt Market. Looking forward to lots of pictures.

  28. Sounds like you deserve a change of scenery! Have a great time at Market. Bring home lots of goodies for yourself- and a FQ bundle for me, please!

  29. I have been sewing your patterns for years now. I am drawn to them. Looking forward to getting your new book. Have fun at quilt market.

  30. You give so much to the quilting community. Can’t wait to see your new book. You never let time stand still, you keep us inspired with all you do. Thank you so much!

  31. Looking forward to hearing more about AuriKids. I’m still trying to get my daughter to be comfortable behind a sewing machine, and she’s 31!! She wants to learn but lacks time and confidence. I have two granddaughters that I hope to introduce to sewing someday. One is almost three years old and the other was just born October 2!
    Thanks for the opportunity to win!

  32. Oh how I envy you! Going to Houston will be so exciting. I hope you have an awesome trip, and thanks for sharing all the inspiration!

  33. I truly have missed your updates. What a schedule you have to keep. Whew!!! God has so blessed you! Love your amazing artistic design in all your creations. What beauty in your designs. Loved your “bunny” design for your sign off of”Some Bunny” loves you! Sweet!
    Barbara Johnson

  34. Have a great time in Houston. I will be there for Quilt Festival and will look you up. Your new book sounds incredible!

  35. I can’t wait to see your new book. I’ll be in Houston next week visiting two sets of grandchildren and hope to spend one day at the Festival. Hope you have a fun and frenetic time at Market.

  36. Your new book looks like it will be a wonderful resource. Enjoy your time in Houston, and thanks for offering a giveaway :-)

  37. Some bunny loves you sew much. Have a safe trip and your book would make a wonderful compliment to my sew special sewing.

  38. Enjoy Houston….thanks for the opportunity of a great giveaway. Your new book looks like a super tool and resource!!

  39. Congrats on your book, just what I need. I am trying to learn to quilt on my home machine. Fabric pack 2 is my pick. I used to have a sewing class with kids, oh how they loved it. We had so much fun making quilts.
    djcutting2(at)gmail(dot)com

  40. Congratulations on your quilt. Enjoy Quilt Market. I’ve started doing more of my quilting. Would love to be able to do what you do, but I’m happy with improvement. I love your work.

  41. I have missed your blog. It is the ONLY one I read whenever it comes in. Not trying to guilt you, just letting you know I LOVE your blog. I have been seeing the Instagram, but I don’t always remember to check it…

    Anyway, I am looking forward to your book and in my never-ending path to downsizing, it is one book I will purchase!

    Have fun at Market!

  42. I hope one of these days I can get to Houston to visit family while you’re there and meet you in person! Congratulations on the new book! I’d especially love to win that!

  43. Congratulations on your new book. Your free motion work is so inspiring. Thanks for the chance to win it as well as some fabric.

  44. I thought you were busy with Quilt Market requests. I hope you have loads of fun at Market and find time to relax and enjoy when you return. I think you’ll need a little (or big) break after all you’ve been doing. Glad you are taking another bag to market too! Of course I’m interested in your new book. It looks to me like a best seller. If you have a chance, can you keep an eye out at market for any threads, yarns, ribbons that might work for “couching”? I’d simply like to hear your recommendation for sources and things I should try.

    QuiltShopGal
    http://www.quiltshopgal.com

    PS – I’m eager to learn more about AuriKids, after you return and have time to share such insights. Sounds like a wonderful new program to help the next generation of quilting and sewing enthusiasts.

  45. Have fun at the event – know you will be well received! Thank you for the chance – book is first choice but of course will be happy with fabric or anything else too. Always fun to win. Thanks!

  46. Your book looks awesome and would be an awesome win! Can’t wait to see the fabric you bring back with you . Have fun in Houston!

  47. How generous of you to think of a giveaway when you are so busy. Hopefully the event
    in Houston will be a wonderful experience for you.

  48. Hello Wendy; So glad to hear that all is well! How exciting about your new book! I hope that you have a fantastic time in Houston! How exciting for us to have a chance at three give aways from you! Thank you! Just have a great time first and foremost.

  49. Your new book looks very interesting….. if I don’t win it I will definitely purchase it, to go along with all my other “Wendy” things. Have a great time at market. Definitely on my bucket list.
    TTFN Betsey

  50. Good Luck at Market! I just went and followed you on Instagram, so show us lots of good stuff please! Congratulations on the new book!!!

  51. I have missed your posts but totally understand that you have a very busy life–bettter to take time with Baby than a post for us for sure! Hope you can sleep on the plane and that you have a great time in Houston! Thanks for the giveaway, too!

  52. Love your bunny. You really make quilting designs pop!!! I would love your new book! Enjoy your well deserved time at market

  53. I have seen your designs in many publications, so know you must be a very busy lady–
    Congratulations on your new book and have a wonderful time at Quilt Market!
    barbkaup(at)(yahoo)(dot)(com)

  54. Congrats on the book, and meeting the deadlines. If you have a moment to stop by Island Batik, I may have 2 quilt designs hanging in the booth. I can’t wait to see your book! Hugs, and have a blast.

  55. Congratulations on the new book, looks awesome! Enjoy Houston and have fun playing with the new fabrics you bring home. Thanks for all you share.

  56. Congratulations on the book! I can’t wait to see it. Your quilting is exquisite and if I can learn to be a quarter as proficient as you I would be thrilled. Have a safe trip.

  57. Hi Wendy, I’m so happy you did a book on your Thread Talk posts. They were always exceptional and I’ve missed them. Thanks for the opportunity to win one but there’s a place for a copy in my library whether I win one or not! Congratulations! Hugs!

  58. Wendy, I have learned so much from your blog and am very excited for you and the release of your new book!

  59. Good luck with Quilt Market. I look forward to hearing about it when you return. Looking forward to reading your new book too!

  60. I can’t wait to see your book, it sounds wonderful. I can only imagine the eye-candy you will enjoy at Market. Have a fun, safe time. Thank you for the chance to win some quilting goodies.

  61. Congratulations on your new book. Have a great time at Market. Thank you for offering a giveaway of some of your goodies and a copy of your book.

  62. Have fun in Houston. On my bucket list to go one day. Would love to win one of your books!

    Ella in Alabama

  63. Enjoy Quit Market! I have missed your posts, no pressure, LOL! I’ve purchased 2 of your online classes and would love a book as a prize, but really anything. I plan to buy your book anyway.

  64. You amaze me with the amount of quilts you complete! Every time I open a magazine you have another quilt in it and I love every single one of them. Have a great time at market and congrats on the new book

  65. Have fun at market. I’m sure you’ll come home with some fun goodies – thanks for sharing! Looking forward to your new book.

  66. Quilt Market sounds like so much fun!! Wish I could join you…. The prizes look delish!! Thanks so much for the chance to win. Vivian wvoaks at comcast dot net

  67. I am going to Houston, also! I haven’t used a passport in 40 years! The pictures are quite different! Lol!
    I was so good to see your post. I love your quilting projects!

  68. Your new book looks amazing!!! I am very excited to see the inside! I’ve been following you on IG as well as your blog–continue to enjoy and be inspired by your work.

  69. Have fun at market. Hopefully you will get some rest afterwards. Look forward to hearing more about aurikids.

  70. Wendy, your work is exquisite. I would love to have the Thread Talks all in one book. Thanks for the giveaway and travel safely!

  71. Have an awesome time at “Market.” Looking forward to owning a copy of your new book! I know it’s a winner! You are the perfect person to be included in an Aurifil for kids adventure. Thanks for your continued inspiration! Enjoy every minute of your time in Houston! ❤️

  72. Absolutely love the colorful quilting on the bunny quilt. I need to expand my horizon and confidence to get out of the blending habit. The book looks great, looking forward to seeing more. Thank you for being an inspiration.

  73. So glad you’re doing well and staying busy…we are all so proud of you! 2 surgeries down and cast finally off leg….back to driving some this week (of course I got back to quilting last week…lol….first things first…right???) Congratulations on the new book…I’ve loved Thread Talk since I read the very first post….and would LOVE to win a copy. Thank you for the chance! Blessings….(I did miss news of Miss Baby and her artwork and stitchery).

  74. Have a GREAT time at market! I know it can be exhausting, but so fun to meet up with old friends and catch up too.

  75. Wow– your third book! Your first two have been instrumental in helping me better machine quilt so am looking forward to getting your new one. Enjoy quilt market.

  76. Hi, Wendy! I knew you had been busy–every time I opened a magazine and loved a quilt, it was yours. I swear you are the most popular designer out there! I saw that you are making appearances at various booths to talk about your book, too. Do you ever sleep? Hope you fun a little time to relax. Have a great time! Congratulations in your book! I will definitely be getting my hands on a copy of it.

  77. Oh, I’m so jealous! I would love to go to market. But a little taste with a giveaway will have to do. TFS.

  78. AURIkids sounds very interesting. I will be looking forward to hearing more about it. I cannot wait to get your book. I have followed your Thread Talk for years and learned so much from them. Have fun in Houston.

  79. How exciting — repping for a vendor at Market (not to mention getting to attend it) and a new book coming out! Your giveaway is exciting for all of your followers. Can’t wait to see what you bring back and pictures of your trip if you get a chance to take some!

  80. OMG! When I lived in TX, I used to love going to the Houston show to see all the new fabric, patterns, quilts, and notions. Have a great time and buy a lot! loll

  81. I have been watching all the social media feeds about the market and found my way here. Your book looks great and I will definitely check it out – as I am currently learning FMQ.

  82. Your book looks awesome! Sew happy you will be doing schoolhouse sessions. Introducing sewing to young people will often generate more interest in the craft and help them appreciate handmade goods. Have a wonderful and safe time in Houston. May you be blessed as others bless you with the joys that come with sewing and quilting.

  83. Dear Wendy, may you have a most wonderful time at Quilt Market and may your students enjoy what you teach them. Love your posts.

  84. It is soooooo good to hear from you again!!! I thought you might be busy working on your Quilt Market sewing. Am so excited to see your new book. I have your DVD’s on machine quilting and have viewed them several times. Have fun in Houston!!

  85. Hope you have a wonderful time at market! I placed your newest book on my wish list at Amazon. I would love to learn to quilt my quilts as beautiful as yours. Currently, I am only using my walking foot since I have not learned free-motion quilting.

Comments are closed.