My turn: Windham Fabrics’ Back to School Blog Hop

backToSchool-03

Hello Friends, I am not sure if you have had a chance to follow Windham Fabrics’ Back to School Blog Hop the last few days… but if you haven’t, this is the schedule:

AND – IT’S MY TURN TODAY!!!  And be sure to read through the end for a chance to win fabrics!

Background story: I had used fabrics from Whistler’s Studio’s We Share One World group to design a super panel quilt (64″ x 84″) a while back.  The design is available as a free pattern you can download here.  You can then purchase the panel from your local quilt shop to make the project, or you can purchase the kit from Missouri Star Quilt Company.  Click here to purchase the kit.  And you get 299 pts for Quilter’s Cash!

I love this quilt panel because it is very educational – and provides easy and convenient teaching moments between a child and a parent (or grandparent, or teacher).  It’s always easy to find baby/infant quilt designs, but sometimes the designs are a little hard to come by for school-aged children!  So this super 64″ x 84″ panel quilt would be a fun and easy one to make a child to encourage learning.

We Share One World is a really fun fabric group.  First, it has that nifty world map super panel with tremendous educational value.  Then, it has these prints with Hello in different languages. Miss Baby had lots of fun looking for the versions of Hello she knows.  I really like the children of world print included in the group.  And then, there are the animals of the world print!  It’s just a fun, fun group!  Click here to view the fabrics, and ask your local quilt shops to carry the line!

Now about that blog hop project… For the blog hop project, I decided to make a companion geography wallhanging to go with the super panel quilt!

This time I appliqued the map of United States myself… and used a star button to indicate where I live.

It was really fun working on this little wallhanging because it brought by memories of my elementary school days in south-east Asia.  My father raised me to be an informed child through geography, and I will forever be grateful for that.  I also remember being in a race with a boy in class about world trivia.  Some days, he beat me… some days he didn’t.  In my quest to beat him fair and square every time, I kept a notebook with different world facts for an ever-ready come back, ha! I haven’t thought about that little episode of my life for a while… I wonder what happened to the boy.  I do remember that he is the son of my mother’s schoolmate.

One thing I would like to share about this little project is that… I got the machine quilting idea from the red tonal grid fabric.   So often, the quilting motif is right before our eyes. The grid is irregular, so I just used my walking foot to go with the flow, and quilted irregular grid on the rest of the quilt even where I didn’t have the grid print fabric placed in the quilt.  I think the irregular grid quilting kept the lighthearted feel of the kid-friendly wallhanging.

This fabric line also has the landmarks of the world print that I used for the backing… more educational opportunities!

Isn’t it amazing these days how spoiled we quilters are with the different fabrics afforded to us by the different fabric companies?  If you need another excuse to buy more fabrics, don’t forget to use “education of the younger generation”, ha!

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you have had some fun with me today looking at my “geography class” wallhanging!

***

For a chance to win fabrics, leave a comment on Windham Fabrics’ blog.  Here are the official rules:

Be sure to follow Windham Fabrics’ blog and comment on their post for a chance to win a Fat Quarter bundle of the line!

The giveaway will be open from now until 8PM PST on Friday, September 22, 2017. The winner for this bundle will be picked at random and we will announce the name HERE on Monday, September 25, 2017.

This giveaway is open to everyone, USA and International.

If you’re a “no reply” or anonymous commenter, please remember to include your email address in your comment!

HAPPY HOPPING!!!  REMEMBER, LEAVE YOUR COMMENT ON WINDHAM FABRICS’ BLOG TO WIN FABRICS, not here…

16 thoughts on “My turn: Windham Fabrics’ Back to School Blog Hop

  1. As a teacher, I’ve always enjoyed hand-made items in my classroom. This geography wall-hanging would be perfect with my tastes! The colors are bright and the fabrics are so interesting to look at and find details.

  2. Wendy, just got my American Patchwork and Quilting December issue and saw your quilt on the cover. Another cover quilt!!! It is absolutely gorgeous!! Our Guild Quilt show is coming up in March……hmmmm…..could this be a possibility???

    Great Job!!

    Kathy

  3. Your project is super cute and would have come in handy when I was homeshooling my son. The backing definitely brings back memories of when we were traveling oversees thanks to hubby working out of the country!!

Leave a Reply

