Cinnamon Swirl in QUILTS & MORE (Fall 2017) & More…

Hello Friends, I hope you are well!  I am noticing it’s a bit chillier in the mornings these days, which means summer is quickly fleeting away — giving rise to everything good that is associated to cinnamon!  Though I am a winter wimp, one thing I do like about the colder weather is that cinnamon gets to shine in all the bake goods etc.

I am so happy my quilt Cinnamon Swirl is being featured in the Fall 2017 issue of Quilts and More!

Used with permission from Quilts and More magazine. ©2017 Meredith Corporation. All rights reserved.

 

Cinnamon Swirl uses Autumn Air fabrics from RJR Fabrics.  These fabrics are absolutely gorgeous.  Take a look at the fabrics in the group here.  You know I almost never design anything too complicated to make…. the blocks are basically 9-patch blocks, elongated and sashed within the blocks!  The pinwheels sashing blocks add to the visual effect, and the overall layout gives an Argyle impression.  The construction went really fast even for a “snail-paced” piecer like myself. :)

Used with permission from Quilts and More magazine. ©2017 Meredith Corporation. All rights reserved.

So… curious mind wants to know if you are excited about fall/autumn…. TELL ME!

***

I am also happy to announce the winner of my Sparkle FQ Bundle Giveaway.  I had used the fabrics to make a Christmas pillow a couple of Saturdays ago.  Congrats to Janie — I have emailed you separately, if you could email me your shipping address, I will get the FQ bundle out to you!

***

And a quick update on “Help Me De-Stash” project…. THANK YOU ALL for the very overwhelming responses!  I have almost shipped out my first 20 boxes!  The upside of that is I am finally able to see the floor of my family room. I will work on the boxes on my first waiting list.  I had hoped to write those on the first waiting list yesterday, but that didn’t happen.  I am running late this week — Miss Baby’s camp and other work-related deadlines.  But please don’t give up on me.  I hope to write those who made it to the waiting list by this weekend!

My de-stashing effort has been a good one.  Even with the fabrics I am keeping, Miss Baby walked into my sewing room a few nights ago, and commented, “Mom, seriously, who is going to use up all these fabrics?” — she did a sweeping motion with her hands!  I have officially nominated her to be my “conscience” for all things sewing!

***

Thanks for stopping by, Friends!  I hope you have a lovely rest of your day!  I need to get going — I have pattern writing to do for more than 10 patterns!  Yikes!!!

***

My 2017 Line-up

 

Editorial Feature

American Patchwork & Quilting (Jan/Feb 2017):  Close Quarters (Cover Quilt)

American Patchwork & Quilting Calendar (July 2017):  Summer Sparkler

Australian Patchwork & Quilting (Volume 27, Number 4): Wildwood Way

Fons & Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2017): Pound of Sugar (Cover Quilt)

Fons & Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2017): Cozy Castles

McCall’s Quilting (May/June 2017): Village Square (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quilting (May/June 2017): County Fair

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2017): Summer in Quebec

McCall’s Quilting (July/August 2017): Santa’s Tree Farm

McCall’s Quick Quilts (Feb/March 2017):  I’m Blue For You

McCall’s Quick Quilts (April/May 2017): Stamp Pad

Quiltmaker (May/June 2017): Highland Roses

Quiltmaker (July/August 2017):  Santa’s Crossing

Quilts and More (Fall 2017):  Cinnamon Swirl

 

Free-to-use Design

Jan 2017:  Stars and Stripes Forever (Hoffman Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  HOPE (Windham Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  Bleecker Street (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Sheeps and Peeps (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Smarty Cats (Windham Fabrics)

Feb 2017: Wildwood Way (RJR Fabrics)

March 2017: Hamilton (Windham Fabrics)

April 2017: Vines (Windham Fabrics)

April 2017: Storybook Flannel (Windham Fabrics)

April 2017: Monroe (Quilting Treasures)

May 2017:  Not Your Garden Variety (Quilting Treasures)

May 2017: Love My Hero (Quilting Treasures)

June 2017:  Flag Banner (Windham Fabrics)

July 2017: Zola (Ink & Arrow)

18 thoughts on “Cinnamon Swirl in QUILTS & MORE (Fall 2017) & More…

  1. Your new quilt is lovely, Wendy. I agree, it is a great fabric collection. Fall is my absolute favorite season–love the colors, cooler temps, and most all, LEAVES! By the way, it’s a good thing Miss Bay can’t see my fabric stash–who knows what kind of comments it would elicit! She cracks me up.

  2. We would never loose faith in you Wendy! 😄. Love that Cinnamon Swirl…I will be sure to pick up the Quilts and More magazine.

  3. What a wonderful pattern! I love fall. It’s my favorite season. I can’t wait for cool, crisp air! The view will be clear & sharp rather than hazy. If my tablet had fall colored leaves I’d be sprinkling
    them here! 😍

  4. Hello Wendy, Your Cinnamon Swirl Quilt is “yummy”….LOL…I could not resist! Seriously though, it is really beautiful with all of those brilliant fall colors. I hope I will be able to find a copy of the magazine in town, I would love to make this quilt for my Mother. Boy, I sure was sorry that I missed out on your “Help-Me-DeStash” project !!! We have been dealing with a lot of bad health issues in our family. Reading and responding to my favorite blogs has become almost non existent. If for any reason you decide to continue due to Miss Baby’s recommendations I would love to be placed on the waiting list! But also totally understand missing out also! I still always smile that you were the first one to follow me once I began to try and blog once again! It made me feel so wonderful. I am still struggling terribly to get it up and going, but hope someday to run a good blog! Thank You so much for all that you share and do for us, you fill this quilting world with great feelings of happiness and wonderful quilts that make the world a better place because people know someone loves them when they snuggle in a quilt! Quilt Patterns you design and share so often for free that quilters can make into quilts for Project Linus, Quilts of Valor and so much more…..Wendy you are a superb woman of this world and I thank the Lord he gave you to our quilting world! Have a spectacular day!

  5. I like everything about this quilt, Wendy. The colors and design are just fabulous and I love the chain that snakes through the design.

    Cinnamon and autumn just go together. Our days are definitely shortening.

  6. Cinnamon Swirl is a beauty………..oranges, rusts, etc. are usually not my colors. This one is special. It is beginning to be Fall here in Middle TN also. Mornings are a bit cooler, leaves are beginning to flutter from the trees, and there is just “that feeling.” Bet that you are feeling the weight off your shoulders now that you are “de-stashig.” Such a glorious feeling. Cinnamon gets used year round in my house, we love it on our oatmeal. Yup, oatmeal is a year-round favorite too!

  7. I am amazed that you could let go of that much fabric! Wow! Now that is a determined destasher! Now if you ever want to destash your pile of quilts, put me on the list!! Ha! Ha! I’ve been quilting for almost a year and a half but I’ve given away or sold everything I made! My house is crying out for quilts! I’m sure I’ll eventually get some made for me.

  8. The quilt is yummy, I love it and I love cinnamon anything!
    Congratulations to Janie! Have a happy rest of the week and stay cool

  9. That’s a nice setting for your Swirl quilt. Sounds like you are making some good progress in “sharing” your stash!

  10. Just saw this quilt in the magazine and knew immediately that it was your design!! Sorry I missed your de-stashing post! A few years back you posted about some cabinets that you had made for your fabric, after de-stashing will everything fit in them?

    Keep Miss Baby’s comments coming. She has quite the sense of humor! Is it safe to assume that things are never dull in your household?

  11. Love the fabrics!!! Am I too late to get in on the de-stashing fabric?? Would love any hand-me-downs you have extra! You are still my favorite quilter, dear friend!

Leave a Reply

