Windham Fabrics Christmas in July Blog Hop & Giveaway: SPARKLE!

Hello Friends, I hope you are enjoying your weekend!  I am happy to be part of Windham Fabrics’ Christmas in July Blog Hop!  For this hop, I got to work with the Sparkle fabrics — it is a metallic group featuring gray(!), red and gold colorways!  Click here to view the individual fabric.

 

For some reason, I associate Christmas with all the different Christmas pillows.  So I have made quite a few Christmas pillows over the years, and would bring them all out during Christmas time.  It’s not a surprise therefore I made a another Christmas pillow with the Sparkler fabrics, based on Bunny Hill Designs’ Block 1 of her free pattern Sugar Plum Stocking Treats.  You can check out the information on the pattern here.

I followed the applique stitchery pattern exactly, except for the tag.  Instead of applique-ing the tag, I fussy-cut and appliqued a bauble from one of the prints instead.  The stitchery and applique were made possible by an assortment of Aurifil threads: buttonhole stitching around applique uses Mako Cotton 50wt; stitchery of antlers and ornaments in red and brown use Mako Cotton 12 wt (and I am LOVING the effect!); stitchery of whiskers, eyes and paw use Aurifloss.

As soon as I saw the gray in the collection, I knew I had to make a “cat”-related project with the fabrics in honor of Smokey, the mascot of Windham Fabrics.  Some of us affectionately call Smokey the Fabric Mogul!  Follow Windham Fabrics on Instagram to catch sightings of Smokey sporting his custom-made bow ties!

I hope you have liked seeing my “Sparkle” Christmas pillow.  I am actually sending this pillow as a gift to a girl with a heart of gold.  Would you like some Sparkle fabrics to play with?  If so, you have a chance to win a FQ bundle of Sparkle fabrics if you live within the United States.

Between now and next Saturday (July 29th), leave a comment and tell me what your favorite Christmas project is, and I will pick and announce a winner on July 31st!

Have a lovely rest of your weekend, Friends!

125 thoughts on “Windham Fabrics Christmas in July Blog Hop & Giveaway: SPARKLE!

  1. Cute pattern. I usually make quilts for Christmas. Each year someone gets a quilt from me for a Christmas present. ndfromsdATgmailDOTcom

  2. Hello Wendy, Oh this is an adorable applique pattern for a Christmas project! In the last couple of years, I have fallen in love with Christmas quilts and projects, just last night I was looking through your free Christmas Patterns. I would love to win a bundle of these beautiful fabrics to make a Christmas Project with! Thank you for sharing and have a great day!

  3. Advent Calendars are my favorite Christmas projects. I made my first one for my Mother, which I now have and use each December. Each of my Daughters also have one for their families. Kitty is very cute.

  4. Wendy, such a cute, cute pillow. I am a cat lover and this is purrfect! I love anything Christmas. I love to make table runners and Christmas pillow cases, especially. Love me some sparkly fabrics.

  5. I totally agree with you—pillows are fun and quick to make and can really add a festive “punch” to holiday decor! I’ve been making seasonal pillows and just love them! Mug Rugs and Wall hangings are also fun and quick! Thanks for the chance! :)

  6. This year my Christmas project has been to make a Christmas quilt for each of my two granddaughters. Other years I have enjoyed making ornaments, your pillow is so cute I may have to try that.

  7. Such a cute pillow pattern for a cat lover!!!!! My favorite Christmas projects have been tree skirts. Making them for all my kids and adult grandkids.

  8. Love your pillow-so sweet! Every Christmas I make an ornament for the tree & give one to each of my siblings & children. I try to craft something different each time-lots of fun! Thank you for sharing, Susan

  9. So stinkin’ cute. Love this blog hop and so many great ideas. I like to make little table top designs to hang from the table top holders. Thanks.

  10. Adorable pillow! Love this fabric! My favorite thing to make at Christmas is ornaments! i can decorate everything with crafted ornaments

  11. Over the last few years I have tried to make Christmas door panels to give to family members. Your pillow is giving me some new ideas

  12. Cutest pillow ever! I usually get crafty late in the game but I like making cross-stitched ornaments and things for the home, tabletunners, tea towels,quilts and such. Loving Christmas in July this year and trying to get a head start!

  13. I usually quilt something for our family grab bag! I also make little holiday things for co-workers.
    Adorable pillow!

  14. My favorite Christmas project is making table toppers. They’re small enough that I can finish several of them as gifts before Christmas arrives!

  15. I love making Christmas stockings, though lately I’m thinking of more holiday placemats and napkins. The pillow is so cute with the smokey cat. I really love the Aurifil 12 wt too, so versatile when you want your stitches to show up well.

  16. My favorite Christmas project is a whimsical applique quilt I made for my grandchildren. They hang it on the wall above the sofa at Christmas time, I’m working now on an Advent Calendar for them.

  17. My favorite projects are quilted table runners/small table covers since who doesn’t love to have a festive table during the holidays! Thanks for your pillow project – looks very beautiful!

  18. I like to make Christmas ornaments for my family. Each year a different one. I think I’ll make folded stars for this Christmas.

  19. I love your pillow. I usually make Christmas pillowcases for my grandchildren and table toppers as gifts. Thanks for the chance to win this lovely fabric

  20. It’s difficult to pick a favorite project to make. I’m in need of Christmas placemats and a long table runner, so those are first on my list. Really cute pillow. Thanks for the linkto the pattern by Bunny Hill Designs.

  21. My favorite Christmas project is the French braid tree skirt I made several years ago. Turned out beautifully, and even took a ribbon at our local quilt show! As to one I need to make now . . . I think I need a table runner to put on our kitchen island. Something with a good bit of sparkle would be perfect!

  22. HI, love making Christmas stockings too. Your pillow is so cute with the smokey cat. Must start thinking about Christmas Gifts here at our house too! Thanks for sharing!

  23. Love the pillow and that cute cat face…Those colors are so lovely…very classy. I am working on little totes for gifts to be placed in…

  24. I want to make some quilted casserole carriers this year for presents. My problem is I usually wait til Thanksgiving to think about Christmas gifts and its too late.

  25. I love making table toppers or runners for the holidays. Everyone seems to love them and I even encouraged 2 ladies in church to start stitching again once they received their runners. One had not stitched in 15 years!

  26. I have been making pillow covers too! I have made two so far, with 4 to go.
    Your pillow is just darling, and since I have just lost my sweet kitty, it gives me an idea to make one like that in her memory. The kitty on my pillow cover will be black because my kitty, named Midnight was all black!

  27. My fav Christmas projects are quilted “wall” hangings which I actually place on entrance or interior doors.

  28. I love to make Christmas ornaments. It’s a sweet way to be a part of a loved one’s Christmas traditions for years to come, whether near or faraway. I know that I treasure the ornaments I received from someone else.

  29. HI Wendy, I have to say, I love all Christmas projects. There is something about Holiday music while crafting, sewing or baking that is soothing. My favorite project of the last couple of years is making dip mixes and putting in food safe, clear ornaments. They have been very well received by many!

  30. My favorite Christmas project is a disappearing nine patch quilt made with Christmas prints. I love it so much, I am making one for my three brothers and sister.

  31. My favorite Christmas projects are always decor for the home! I love Christmas so the whole house gets decorated.

  32. I LOVE Christmas! Making pillows is something I have not done before. Thinking about it, it makes sense. I can use up scrap fabric and have something meaningful.

  33. Actually, my favorite Christmas project is making small gift boxes from the previous year’s Christmas cards. I fill them with small wrapped candies and hand them out to people wherever I go. I use some cards for making gift tags and some for ornaments.

  34. I do love making table runners. I can use them not only on the dining table, but on my coffee table and the accent table by our front door. Thanks for the giveaway.

  35. Cute, cute handstitching in your pillow! I’ve only made a pajama bag for Christmas, but like the idea of doing pillow covers so will try to make some as gifts this year. Thanks for the chance.

  36. My favorite project at Christmas is making holiday wreaths using holiday fabrics. I also like to make small wall hangings that complement the wreaths. Wrapping packages is also right up there in my favorite Christmas projects. Lovely fabric bundle – thanks for the giveaway!

  37. Your pillow is so adorable. Thank you for the chance.
    I like to make candle mats for Christmas.

  38. My favorite is usually the one I am binding while someone is driving to holiday gatherings!!! (Happened more than a few times). Seriously – Mug Rugs, easy quick and personal.

  39. My favorite {and simple} Christmas project is to make pillowcases for my grand children. I pick out the fabrics I know they would love according to their personality and interests. I then use them to put their gifts in instead of wrapping paper. They love them and have a special case to use until the next Christmas.

  40. Now I am making mug rugs. I would love to win this fabric collection and I absolutely adore the pillow!

  41. One of my favorite projects is decorating a little tree with Hawaiian ornaments that I have collected. Last year I enjoyed making Bunny Hill’s heart shaped snowman ornaments to hang on a quilted Christmas tree.

  42. Wendy,
    One of my favorite projects is not a quilting related item. My favorite project is having a house full of guests on Christmas Day night. Everyone brings their favorite dessert, appetizer. My husband gets a bonfire going out at our fire pit in the middle of our woods. We do smoores(in December?) etc. and just have a great time.
    Barb

  43. Two Christmases ago we made bed-sized quilts for all our grandchildren. We pieced and then longarm quilted them on a friends machine. There were 22 of them. Since then we have added 3 more grandchildren and we need to do more. I am excited to work on them now. Thank you for the opportunity to participate in this giveaway. You have wonderful projects!

  44. I have made a couple of Christmas quilts and also a table topper.
    barbkaup(at))(yahoo)(dot)(com)

  45. That is the sweetest pillow!! I love to make monogrammed pillows and Christmas stockings for my family.

  46. The pillow is adorable. I’m not sure if I have a favorite project, since I make many of my gifts, and like to do a variety, depending on the person. Hugs, and thanks for the inspiration.

  47. I’m a dog person but I have to admit I love the grey cat. Well done. I’m still having trouble thinking about grey and Christmas, so I choose to think of it as tarnished silver. My favorite project so far is a Hanukkah quilt for a Jewish friend. It turned out beautiful and she was very appreciative.

  48. Last year, I made a large quilt for each of my kids and I loved the entire process, but didn’t get much else done during the holiday season. This year, it will be simpler projects like table runners and mini wall hangings to decorate their homes. I need some Sparkle fabric to help me to do this!

  49. what a sweet pillow. every year is different. but I like making things for the house, pillows, table runners etc

  50. My favorite item to make for Christmas is quilts – lap size so they can be used for warmth or decoration,

  51. I like making Christmas ornaments or quilted candle mats that can be reversed to use for another holiday.

  52. I do a different project every year. Ornaments one year, table sets the next year. This year I am making stockings for everyone in the family – 15 in all. These fabrics will be perfect for my daughters-in-law. So, please pick me!

  53. Oh, I love this!! I get “stuck” for Christmas gift ideas sometimes. I did a group of 6 Christmas fabric “slip covers” for my daughter’s sofa pillows. She did not have storage space for holiday pillows, so the slip covers store nicely. I didn’t want the “base” decorator pillow to show through, so I made sure I chose a pattern for her that I could quilt before assembly, and that gave a nice lining, and will save the wear and tear on the piecework as she takes them on and off. I loved them so much, I made myself one, which has stayed out ALL year in a chair. I enjoy all things cat! I am going to save this pattern and go look at this beautiful fabric collection!

  54. I love your pillow and that cute little cat peeking out of the stocking! My favorite Christmas project is actually sewing Christmas stockings. Thanks!

  55. The pillow is so cute! As always I love you design and color choices. I love to make and gift tote bags filled with homemade goodies. Thanks for sharing.

  56. Table runners get my vote. I put them on the back of the dining room chairs as well as down the center of the table.

  57. I love making Christmas placemats and mug rugs – they can be used in so many ways! Thanks for the chance to win.

  58. Christmas stockings – I have lost track of how many I have made over the years – all of my many nieces and nephews have them, my children, my grandchildren, a few children that are no relation to me but related through family. I might add I am one of 12 children so when I say many nieces and nephews I REALLY mean it :)

  59. My favorite project to make for Christmas is lap quilts. They are always used in our family and they wear out, so it is a good thing to make.

  60. Such a cute kitty!! My mom is THE crazy cat lady, so there is always some sort of Christmas kitty. I like giving homemade ornaments and I try to give one quilt each year. Takes me forever!

  61. Even though my son is a grown man I still make a handmade ornament for him every year, his tree is full of memories that we both treasure.

  62. That is so cute, Wendy, and will be nice to display with your other pillows. I like your embroidery work on the cat. My favorite Christmas projects are stockings for the grandchildren.

  63. That is such a cute pillow. I saw the bunny hill patterns and didn’t know what to make with it. Your pillow is perfect

  64. I made a cross stitch tree skirt years ago. It took years to make and I love it still. I love the kitty in the stocking. So cute!

  65. I love a Ole Santa that I cut out of wood and painted. With fabrics I am making a table topper with stars blocks that is Christmas themed. Love your project and thank you for a chance to win these pretty fabrics.

  66. My favorite Christmas project is a quilt that I made quite a few years ago. It was called “Isn’t Christmas Jolly” designed by Mary Engelbreit, and I purchased a kit on eBay! It was a learning experience, as it was much more detailed piecing than I had ever done. I hang it or put it on the back of the couch every Christmas Season.

  67. CUTE!! I’ll make to make the kitty all gray to match my sweet Siddi girl. I made appliqued Santa gift bags one year. They turned out really cute. Only problems was nobody gave them back to be ‘refilled’ next year – they all kept them. ;o)

  68. I love making Christmas table runners and placemats as well as Christmas stockings for the wee ones. One can never decorate too much at Christmas time.

  69. My favorite thing to make are quilts. Lots and lots of quilts. :-)
    Thank you for the giveaway!!!

  70. Oh Wendy, the things you create are so very charming! It is always a delight to view your site and see what you are doing. Thank you for showing details of your stitches – it helps to see up close how things look when they are done. Enjoy your creativity and the many blessings you bring to others. Happy rest of your summer to you and your family. PS: I am hoping to make some ornaments out of felt with my Grandkids for Christmas this year. I already have the patterns of some cute mittens, stars, sleds, bells, etc.

  71. I love your pillow and I love your thoughts about Christmas pillows. I make stockings, everyone must have a stocking including visitors. I love Christmas quilts too, and have amassed quite a few patterns I want to make, but only have a couple completed.

Comments are closed.