Today — Guest posting on McCall’s Quilting blog

Hello Friends,  I hope you have been well.  I do apologize for being super scarce of lately.  I have actually been half way around the globe to visit family in my home country – with stories to tell about being stranded at the airport – and now back Stateside.  I worked a lot to make sure things were turned in before I left town, and I continue to work a lot upon my return catching up on things, and more.  But all is well — so often, it’s just a matter of perspective when it comes to stressful and happening times in life!

If you remember from my posts a few weeks ago, my Village Square made cover of McCall’s Quilting May/June 2017 issue.  Village Square is also the chosen series quilt featured by McCall’s Quilting for 2017.

Today, on McCall’s Quilting’s blog (click here), I am sharing with you the thought process that went into the design of this 94″ x 94″ using many familiar and simple quilting elements.  Leave a comment there for another chance to win a Hamilton Fat Quarter Bundle!!

hamilton-fq

And I leave you with today’s deep “quilty” thought:  A quilt is like a literary work and the quilter is the author. So much is conveyed in the story presented by a quilt! My quilting friends, you aren’t just making a quilt, you are writing a book for all to read (albeit in a different format)!  And with that, I hope to see your version of my Village Square quilt if you aren’t using the fabrics I have chosen for the design.

Happy Quilting, Friends!

24 thoughts on “Today — Guest posting on McCall’s Quilting blog

  1. I agree!!! And I like the idea of authorship in our unique creations!!!
    Thank you for the great giveaway!

  2. Love the quilt and so glad for you that it made the cover! You work so hard, it’s nice to see it appreciated! Thanks for the giveaway and welcome home!

  3. I’m sure you had a wonderful visit with your mom and family, but air travel always seems to be an adventure these days. Glad you are home safely.

  4. Lovely quilt Wendy! I have been wanting to make house blocks and this pattern looks perfect. The fabric is beautiful ! Thanks for the giveaway

  5. Great comment about the book. I really agree. Welcome home, by the way. Sending hugs and hope for some easier days to come.

  6. I went to McCall’s Quilting’s blog and read all your notes, thank you for sharing. It is very inspirational to read other quilter’s thoughts of how they approached their design, why they chose that fabric line, what alterations they may have made etc, I like following your thinking process. I cannot enter the giveaway since I live in Europe, but the fabrics are beautiful anyway!! love the fact that you added the wreaths and the chains with the classic block of the house, they match well together. Thank you for sharing this quilt Wendy, would love to make one too!!!

  7. I love your version of a school house quilt. I’ve always wanted to make one, but never could quite get into making a 2-colored version or just lining up school houses one after the next. Your quilt design adds so many subtle elements that just bring the quilt to life without destroying that iconic schoolhouse image.

  8. Wendy your School House Quilt is beautiful. Brenda said it all. Truthfully I was getting worried thinking if all was well at your end.

Leave a Reply

