FREE PATTERNS & GIVEAWAY featuring Windham Fabrics’ HAMILTON – and more!

Hello Friends, I hope you have had a great day!  The sun is out in northern Virginia today, and the sunshine means a lot to me today – it’s as if God opened up the heavens and extended comfort those who seek comfort.  The spring blooms are coming early this year in the Washington DC greater!  I hope to share with you some cherry blossoms pictures in a couple of weeks.

[I just had a thought:  I think the colors in the flowers would make a great palette for a new quilt.  Your thoughts on combining purple, light purple, orange, yellow, green and brown?]

flowers

It is no secret I love the people at Windham Fabrics.  They share with Miss Baby pictures and videos of their mascot cat, Smokey, at the office.  Smokey the Cat at Windham Fabrics exchange correspondence with Miss Baby from time to time.  You can read about one such exchange here.  My popular pattern Smokey & Friends is inspired by Smokey. The pattern can be purchased here.   Shown below are Smokey & Friends colored differently.   You can easily spot Smokey — he is the only cat in one colorway. :)

design-1b_40-x-48

Kits are available for the colorway below.  Click here to purchase.

high-res_smokey-friends-crib2_40-x-48

All that to say this — the kindness/friendship Windham Fabrics has extended toward me has extended to you, my readers as well.  They are always generous in sponsoring fabric giveaways whenever asked.  The giveaway today is for a FQ bundle of Windham’s newly release fabric line, Hamilton.  Click here to view the fabrics in detail.

hamilton-fq

Hamilton is a pretty pretty line!! And I designed two free-to-use designs to highlight the fabrics:

#1.  Schuyler Sisters (oh, surprise — another sawtooth star quilt!).  Click here to download pattern instructions.  Kits are available for sale here.

design-4a_67-5-x-79-5

#2.  Eliza.  Click here to download pattern instructions.  Kits are available for sale here.

design-5c_49-x-67

STAY TUNED:  I have a very exciting and upcoming project using these very same fabrics!!!!

GIVEAWAY: Between now and next Thursday (March 9th), leave a comment here. Open to US addresses only.  I will select and announce the winner the following day.

That’s all for now, Friends!  Enjoy the rest of your day!

p.s.  Did you know today is Dr. Seuss’ birthday?!

Image result for green eggs and ham

***

My 2017 Line-up

Editorial Feature

American Patchwork & Quilting (Jan/Feb 2017):  Close Quarters (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quick Quilts (Feb/March 2017):  I’m Blue For You

McCall’s Quick Quilts (April/May 2017): Stamp Pad

 

Free-to-use Design

Jan 2017:  Stars and Stripes Forever (Hoffman Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  HOPE (Windham Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  Bleecker Street (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Sheeps and Peeps (Quilting Treasures)

Feb 2017: Smarty Cats (Windham Fabrics)

Feb 2017: Wildwood Way (RJR Fabrics)

March 2017: Hamilton (Windham Fabrics)

130 thoughts on “FREE PATTERNS & GIVEAWAY featuring Windham Fabrics’ HAMILTON – and more!

  1. What gorgeous fabrics! I looked at the big picture. I love the patterns you designed as well. That blue is just so delicious and I love your flower picture. I like the combo. Thanks for sharing with us. K-

  2. Oh my goodness. this fabric is really very pretty
    I would love to have a pile like this and make the Saw tooth Stars Quilt

    Thank you Wendy for always providing so much encouragement with your creativity and enthusiastic updates of Miss Baby. ♥️

  3. I love your work and color selections and the soft beauty of the fabric. Thank you for the giveaway and your creativity. You are so kind to share!

  4. Love these fabrics. And the quilts you designed for them. Downloading those next. Thanks for the giveaway.
    kakingsbury at verizon dot net

  5. These fabrics are beautiful! I like the quilts you designed to use these fabrics in. It is hard to decide which I would like best.

  6. Love your kittens! They remind me of a block swap I did many years ago. The block was similar; the kittens were sitting up instead of laying down. I have the blocks in a top but need to add a border or two to get it bigger. Thanks for the reminder!

    Oh, and the fabrics are gorgeous!

  7. Sawtooth Stars are a classic and perfect with ‘heritage’ fabrics. Thank you for hosting the give away and for all the wonderful patterns you give us.

  8. The fabrics are beautiful. I love the Eliza pattern. I also love your quilt alongs. Thank you for the opportunity to win.

  9. Lovely fabrics and lovely patterns. The colors in the blossoms would make a beautiful quilt. Hi to Smokey and Miss Baby! Hope she is busy practicing for Spring recitals!

  10. I love the quilt designs and the fabric, which I would love to win. Thanks for the giveaway and the chance to win!

  11. I like the color pallet of the flowers in the first photo. I know you will make something beautiful with the combination. Thank you for the free patterns. You have so much talent! Have a great rest of the week.

  12. The patterns you designed for this new fabric line are beautiful. Thanks for offering such a generous giveaway 😊

  13. I’m glad you didn’t ask us to choose a favorite. Not sure if I could. Love the patterns and fabric. Thank you for the giveaway.

  14. The fabric in the Hamilton collection is great. I have a “beachy” theme going in my home and I think the blues would fit in perfectly! Like the patterns as well – great job, well done.

  15. You keep right on creating those Sawtooth Star designs! They not only make you happy, but they are fun for the rest of us, too!
    Hamilton is a very lovely fabric collection!

  16. I love all the patterns but maybe if I had to choose, I think Eliza would be my favorite. I love any and all Windham fabrics. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Windham fabric I didn’t love! Thanks for everything you do for the quilting community. You are a true inspiration.

  17. Oh My…….., love the Eliza quilt…….printed out and on my to do list (working on two now, but may be the next one. The fabric line is perfect with this pattern. Thank you for the opportunity to win, and thank you for all the free patterns.

  18. I like Schuyler Sisters, too. As well as Smokey and Friends. I’ll have to see if my daughter wants a Smokey quilt.

  19. Hamilton is so pretty, and I would love to make Schuyler Sisters. I know who I would give it to. And sending hugs. I think I know why you needed the pretty flowers today. I’ll be thinking the same thing soon, although he’s never far from my thoughts. Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

  20. Hello Wendy! As always, your patterns are just spectacular! Since learning a couple of fantastic ways of making half square triangles, my courage facing stars and so many other designs in patterns has opened such a brilliant array of patterns. I would love to win these superbly beautiful fabrics to create your patterns with. Thank you and Windham for the opportunity! Have a great evening!

  21. I Love Love LOOOOOVE your Smokey & Friends pattern!!! Both Star quilts are Super too..but Smokey is my Favorite!! :)

    Thank you for chance to win the Beautiful Bundles too.. :D

  22. You got me again! I love Smokey & Friends and will be ordering it tomorrow. It’s in my cart!! I also really like Eliza and downloaded it! Hamilton is a great new fabric line. I like it, of course.Working on Wind Chimes at the moment. Thanks again for sharing your incredible talent.

  23. I’ve been looking for the perfect pattern for a star quilt for my dad. Now I’ve found it! And I love the kitty quilts and the sharing of Smokey. All kids and kitties need friends!

  24. Thank you for the lovely patterns. I think the cat one would be purrfect for a Project Linus one. Can’t wait to start.

  25. I just love that Smokey and Friends in the second colorway you showed. Definitely will need to make one for my little grandson who lives with three cats and a dog!

  26. Thank you for the giveaway and chance to win these gorgeous fabrics. The 2 quilt patterns you designed are just beautiful and really showcase this line. Schuyler Sisters especially pretty—a Sawtooth Star block is my favorite go-to pattern. I was recently gifted with a beautiful fq pak that I’ve already started cutting into Sawtooth Star blocks….so this post is very inspiring. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your designs in the Hamilton line. Blessings and enjoy the sunshine. (btw—YES—the purple, white, orange, green and brown would be a lovely palette….or better yet…why don’t YOU design some fabrics with those lovely little flowers in those colors…we will thank you in advance…lol).

  27. I would love to make a Quilt of Valor with the Hamilton fabrics. Regarding a quilt using shades of purple, light purple, orange, yellow, green and brown? Our Father used those colors in this beautiful world He gave us, so I’d say “Go for it!”. Thank you for sharing with us.

  28. Oh he’s my favorite author. Who doesn’t love the good ole DR. Brings back some fond memories of when my children were little. Thanks for a chance to win some stunning fabrics.

  29. Nothing could be more perfect than the fabrics in this collection….the dainty flowers, the brillant reds & blues….WOW. I love your quilt patterns using these fabrics, they are the best ever.

  30. I love red, white and blue fabric especially with stars – my birthday is July 5th so 4th of July is very special to me

  31. i really like the fabrics in that bundle and did you know that March 2nd is also Texas Independence Day! I could be making a Texas Independence Day quilt with those fat quarters. Hope you have wonderful weekend. I will be sewing samples for the class I teach to my guild.

  32. Those quilts turned out beautifully. I love the Eliza.

    Sunshine is always a mood elevator. I thrive on sunny days. I can’t believe how early the cherry blossoms will be out back there. What a great winter you have had.

  33. I love the pretty colours of the new line Hamilton. Your patterns using the line showcase them well. Thanks for offering a giveaway.

  34. Love the free patterns – and the fat quarter collection is gorgeous!!! Of course everything looks better when the sun is shining!!!

  35. Love the Schuyler Sisters and Eliza quilt designs! I’ve downloaded BOTH patterns with hopes to begin making them soon! The Hamilton fabric line is simply gorgeous…like a Summer breeze! Please include my name in a chance to win some!

  36. Wendy in NH
    Lovely fabric line, the colors & prints are right up my alley! Both quilt patterns showcase them nicely & I look forward to seeing your next project.

  37. Beautiful quilts and fabric bundle. Thanks for the free patterns. I’ll have to get the cat quilt pattern too. Thanks for the chance to win this great giveaway.

  38. I have so wanted to make a quilt, it is hard to buy the fabric when you are on a small budget. I have been saving up old clothes and sheets to make a quilt. I was in the process of sewing my pieces together and my machine tears up. Been researching new sewing machines.

  39. I always enjoy your Smoky the Cat stories, and the quilts are cute as can be!
    The spring picture of what we called Johnny Jump Ups is the perfect quilt palette. Purples and oranges are complimentary colors, so pops of yellow and greens with a little tan and brown… happy quilting! I hope to see your new creation!
    The Hamilton fabrics are beautiful–soft and calming and would make a lovely quilt for a special lady. Thank you for the opportunity to win!

Leave a Reply

