How would a President celebrate his birthday… AND MORE!

Hello Friends, Happy Washington’s Birthday!  General Washington is a big deal in our house!   So this is a special day where we are thankful for the life of our great General and President.  Click here to read about the real history on Washington’s Birthday/George Washington Day!

So, how might have General and President Washington celebrated his birthday?

It was said that Mrs. Washington had Japanese Fruit Pie made and served for the General’s birthday at some point. Click here for the recipe.

The historic Gadsby Tavern of the town Alexandria actually held annual Birthright Ball in the honor of the General’s birthday, and he actually attended twice!  It is This tavern is still in operation today, and we always enjoy dining there.  [Miss Baby feels like a “lady” whenever we ate at Gadsby Tavern.]  Gadsby Tavern also has on display the “ice house” – a historically accurate reconstruction of 18th century refrigerator.

Image result for Gadsby Tavern

photo credit: http://www.alexandria.gov

Click here to see how well you know about General Washington.

***

Meanwhile, if only empty thread spools can talk…. hahaha!  These are the empty thread spools I have collected since New Year — all from constructing quilts tops.  As life would have it, I have been spending the last couple of months making quilt top after quilt top.  The following empty spools represent about 11400 yds of threads – yeeeks!

For a long while, I never considered myself a piecer… but I think I am beginning to change my mind. I think I enjoy constructing quilt top almost as much as I enjoy free motion quilting!  Piecing lets the engineer in me to come out and play, out free motion quilting lets the artist out.  Artist has been confined inside of me lately because I have got to get to a few more quilt tops before Artist can come out to play.  But sometimes, that’s how the journey is made completed — when the journey is augmented by something out of the ordinary.

All that said — I am still eager to get these top done so that I can go back to machine quilting, ha!

thread-spools

That’s all for now.  I hope you have a lovely week!!  Hugs to you all, and don’t forget to enjoy the journey!

6 thoughts on “How would a President celebrate his birthday… AND MORE!

  1. I know I can count on you to honor our 1st president. How interesting that Japanese Fruit Pie sounds. The Gadsby Tavern sounds like a place we’d enjoy. Have a good week!

  2. Oh My!! That’s a whole lotta thread!! You must have lots of completed quilt tops just itching to be quilted. Happy Presidents’ Day!!!

  3. Wow a lot of thread you have used. Not surprised. It was fun reading the mix of today’s post. The blending of threads, how many spools you used. Remembering our Founding Father and a Pie Recipe!! A honorable day for all! I’m thinking that I will try to made the fruit Japanese pie recipe when things slow down here. God Bless Everyone! Hugs Nan

Leave a Reply

