Comfort Quilt Patterns & More

Happy Monday, Friends.  I hope you are well!  This week will find me feverishly piecing quilt tops… so, here’s to productivity to you and me!

1.  A little Behind-the-Scenes.  I am often asked about my designing process.  What comes first for me: design concepts in my head or fabric choices?  For my “work” work, more often than not, it’s the fabric choices.  What happens is fabric companies would send me images of upcoming fabric lines, and ask if I could come up with supporting quilt designs for the specific lines.  So I would look at and start getting a feel for the mood and theme of the fabrics.  I would then do research related topics based on the theme of the fabric groups to get ideas on how best to showcase the fabrics through quilt designs.  For example, I was asked to play with an upcoming fabric line that has the 50’s theme.  Mind you, I am not a child of the 50’s — still a whipper snapper that I am, just kidding! :)  So, I read up on a bit about the cultural aspects of the 50’s, and came up with this Movie Night design, accented by the 50’s style glasses!  Click here to see this fun fabric group – details on the quilt pattern are forthcoming! :)

movie-night

2.  Comfort Throw Quilts.  Every so often I get to work fabric themes that aren’t as carefree as the 50’s.  Last year, I got to work with one fabric group related with breast cancer (Anything Is Possible by Windham Fabrics), and the other with heart disease (Quilting Treasures).  It is my hope that these quilts, when made, will bring comfort to the recipients.

HOPE Quilt:

high-res_design-4a_61-5-x-61-5

Click here to download free to use pattern.  I know Keepsake Quilting was carrying the kits, but the last I check, the kits are out of stock.

Kick Heart Disease Quilt:

high-res_design-5a_60-5-x-67-5

Click here to purchase the quilt kit.

3.  Giveaway Winners / Windham Fabrics Atlas Charm Packs

charm-packs

Congratulations to the winners:  kathrie2013, Sandy Allen, and Lori Morton.  An email was sent to you – please reply with your mailing address so that I can have the charm packs sent to you!  Thank you to EVERYONE for playing along!

That’s all I have for now!  I hope you have a lovely week ahead.  Hugs to you all!!!

***

My 2017 Line-up

Editorial Feature

American Patchwork & Quilting (Jan/Feb 2017):  Close Quarters (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quick Quilts (Feb/March 2017):  I’m Blue For You

 

Free-to-use Design

Jan 2017:  Stars and Stripes Forever (Hoffman Fabrics)

Jan 2017:  HOPE (Windham Fabrics)

7 thoughts on “Comfort Quilt Patterns & More

  1. Such a cute 50’s quilt. Wonderful fabrics that certainly bring back fond memories. Oops, showing my age………. Comfort quilts like these will definitely bring comfort to the recipients 😊. Thanks for continuing to inspire us, Wendy!!!!!

  2. Oh, I really like the HOPE quilt pattern! I, too, have made my share of comfort quilts for people struggling with health issues. I love that your pattern could feature any color or fabric design, but still carry that all-important Hope message. While I “hope” I don’t need it, life has a way of asking us to help others with our own special talents, so having this pattern in my quilty tool kit will be oh, so helpful at some point, I’m sure! Thank you, once again, for freely sharing your talents, Wendy.

  3. Cute patterns Wendy! I like the Kick Heart Disease pattern for large prints. (Often hard to find a pattern where the print is showcased.) The Movie Night pattern does that as well. I do pray that when people make these Comfort Quilts, the recipients are filled with love and encouragement and HOPE. :)

  4. With your research it is no wonder that your quilts are always so beautiful. You really make the company’s fabrics special with the extra effort that you put into showcasing their fabrics. I really enjoyed reading this post, Wendy.

Leave a Reply

