I’m Blue For You in McCall’s QUICK QUILTS (February/March 2017) & Giveaway

QQ10217 Im Blue for You: A Visit with Wendy Sheppard

Hello Friends, I hope you are doing well!  I am happy to share a little about my I’m Blue For You quilt that is featured in the Feb/March 2017 McCall’s Quick Quilts magazine!

atlas-quilt

This is a super easy quilt to put together as you can easily use 5″ charm squares as your starting point.  But fun thing about this is that with the very basic squares and half-square-triangle units, you can create a striking check mark effects with the quilt layout! :)  You know me, I hardly ever design quilts with difficult to piece block elements.

design-1a_55-x-65_blue

I used the blue fabrics from Windham Fabrics’ Atlas collection.  Check out the entire collection here, as they also have the same fabrics in tan colorways.  And if you use the tan fabrics, your quilt will end up looking like this.

design-1a_55-x-65_brown

I quilted random straight lines at various angles across the width of the quilt using Aurifil’s Mako 50wt.  The good thing about that is there is really no planning except for the plan of filling the quilt top with straight lines.

atlas

McCall’s Quilting blog features a post about my I’m Blue For You.  Click here to find out my suggestions on different (and hopefully fun) ways to use this quilt design.

I have actually designed two more quilts using the same line for Windham Fabrics.  You might check if your local quilt shops are selling the kits.  If not, they might be able to order the kits for you from Windham Fabrics.

#1.  Color Coded

design-3a_54-x-54

Here is Color Coded displayed at this past Fall Quilt Market in Houston.

atlas-market

#2.  In Motion

design-4a_63-x-83

And now for the GIVEAWAY – Windham Fabrics are generally giving away three charm packs to US addresses. Leave a comment below between now and next Thursday, and I will pick three winners on Friday.

charm-packs

Thanks for stopping by, Friends!  I hope you have a lovely rest of your week — can’t believe the weekend is already upon us!

***

My 2017 Line-up

Editorial Feature

American Patchwork & Quilting (Jan/Feb 2017):  Close Quarters (Cover Quilt)

McCall’s Quick Quilts (Feb/March 2017):  I’m Blue For You

100 thoughts on “I’m Blue For You in McCall’s QUICK QUILTS (February/March 2017) & Giveaway

  1. I admire your ability to start with fabrics and make quilt designs. You did a wonderful job showcasing the Atlas line. Thanks for the chance to win a charm pack.

  2. I love seeing the quilting and what goes into the decision about “how to” quilt a project. This is a beauty and I CAN DO random straight lines. LOVE my walking foot quilting. Thanks for the opportunity to be in a giveaway. Beautiful fabrics. :)

  3. I love how you show a pattern in different color ways. I am headed to Windham Fabrics in Windham NY (The Patchwork Co) tomorrow with some of my guild sisters – big sale.

  4. Beautiful quilts, I’ll definitely check back on Windham’s website for the free patterns. Thank you, you are a very talented lady.

  5. Your pattern looks like my style! Love angular quilts, and this one really hit me!! Thanks so much for the chance to win, too!! Blessings!!!

  6. Great quilts and quilting! I love when you show stuff like this. It’s inspirational. Love both, but need to make the NYB style one. Thanks.

  7. Really love Color Coded!!!! (Love the other two, too, but especially love Color Coded!) Thank you for your blog, Wendy. I always enjoy reading it. (lynnstck[at]yahoo.com)

  8. You are an inspiration you must be brimming over with your designs and RL too. Thanks for the opportunity of a drawing. I do love Blues!

  9. Loooove your Blues quilt!! Thank you for sharing all these ideas..love Color Coded too…would love to make for my Son..the two colorways together are just his Taste!! :)

    Thank you for chance to win your Give-a-way too! :D

  10. I don’t know how every year new, beautiful fabrics keep showing up in our quilt stores. Thank you Wendy, for showing us so many techniques we can use! i love your quilting on Color Coded!!

  11. Great designs, as always! My favorite is Color Coded – I’m always drawn to bold geometrics and the contrasts with the greys and whites is really striking. Thanks for a chance to win some Windham charms!

  12. Hi, Wendy–my favorite is In Motion. I’m always drawn to circles, rings, New York Beauty, etc. On the other hand, the quick charm quilt would be a fun project for my granddaughter or when I need a quick gift. I really like the big check marks and would be trying that for sure!

  13. Just stumbled upon your blog and reading back posts. So much fun to read.
    I’m always a big fan of blue. And when it’s paired with such lovely shades of tan, it’s beautiful.

  14. oh i love that quilt!!! such a simple idea turned into such a striking quilt. i could sure use a fabric win. i left most of my things behind due to a DV at my home and i haven’t been back yet.
    thanks for the chance

    sara

  15. Probably too late for the giveaway, but I still want to tell you how impressed I always am with your designs. You can take a “simple” idea and turn it into a gorgeous quilt that can be made by people with basic sewing skills. Love them.

  16. I am impressed with how colors of fabric can be put together to make such an interesting quilt. The colors in these quilts blend so well, I really admire the softness of the hues.

  17. I have never made a whole quilt, only blocks, but I’ve collected charm packs, hoping to get up the courage to make a quilt with them. This looks so pretty and maybe even doable for me!

  18. Hi Wendy, Happy New Year, I haven’t checked in for a while. It is good to see what you are doing. I like this because it is simple and easy. I do more embroidery but I like quick simple quilt idea’s. I also can use good fabric charm squares to make up a quick quilt. Bobbi

  19. You are a creative genius!!! I love all your work. I am definitely going to make the “Color Coded” quilt. It is hard to find quilt designs that are beautiful and still be made manly. The colors are spot on for my son in law. Great job to Wyndham fabrics!

  20. I love your “I’m Blue For You ” pattern and would love to make one (I am quite a fqn of all of your work!) P.S. We still have our Christmas tree up also!

Leave a Reply

