Happy & Merry Christmas 2016!

christmas2016

Artist: Miss Baby, 2016

“In the bleak midwinter, frosty wind made moan,
earth stood hard as iron, water like a stone;
snow had fallen, snow on snow, snow on snow,
in the bleak midwinter, long ago.

Our God, heaven cannot hold him, nor earth sustain;
heaven and earth shall flee away when he comes to reign.
In the bleak midwinter a stable place sufficed
the Lord God Almighty, Jesus Christ.

Angels and archangels may have gathered there,
cherubim and seraphim thronged the air;
but his mother only, in her maiden bliss,
worshiped the beloved with a kiss.

What can I give him, poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd, I would bring a lamb;
if I were a Wise Man, I would do my part;
yet what I can I give him: give my heart.

Text: Christina G. Rossetti, 1830-1894
Music: Gustav Holst, 1874-1934
Tune: CRANHAM, Meter: Irr.

***

I love this Christmas hymn (In the Bleak Midwinter), but I haven’t heard it sung except on the radio for a long while. I love this hymn for the last stanza for the reminder to give my heart as a gift to my King.

Friends, I hope you have a most blessed and lovely Christmas!

20 thoughts on “Happy & Merry Christmas 2016!

  1. Thank you for keeping Christ in Christmas, thank you for blogging. Merry Christmas! Love & all God’s blessings, Anita in North Carolina

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I, too, love this hymn. I listen to it daily (yes, I play Christmas music CD’s year round when I drive…I find it very relaxing)!

  3. Wendy, I also love this hymn, although I never realized that Christina Rossetti wrote the words! Thank you for sharing this. Merry Christmas, and may the New Year bring your family many blessings and happy memories.

  4. Merry Christmas to you and your family! What I like best about Miss Baby’s drawing is that every one is smiling. Baby Jesus is smiling and even the sheep is smiling. She does wonderful work πŸ˜€

  5. Thank you, my friend, for the beautiful remember of the true meaning of Christmas. You have a very talented artist!! God bless you and your beautiful family. Love to you, always! Rhonda

  6. Merry Christmas Wendy and Miss Baby! Her artwork is lovely and makes me smile just like everyone in the artwork. What blessed lyrics to remind us the true meaning of why we celebrate this holiday. Thank you for sharing this precious and most valued message of all!

  7. Miss Baby is quite the illustrator! Beautifully done! A glorious day filled with an uplifting message. Christmas blessings for a special family.πŸ˜πŸŽ„

  8. I enjoy being the daughter of the King. Soon I shall see Him and praise Him as the angels do now. Isn’t that just something to really look forward too?

  9. This has been my favorite carol for many years. We have a gentleman in our choir with a lovely tenor voice who has been ill and near death….his rendition of this song will bring tears to one’s eyes. Merry Christmas….love the artwork….she’s a real artiste!

  10. Merry Christmas to you and yours. I love Miss Baby’s artwork. She is awesome. I hope she played you a Christmas concert on her violin. Thanks for sharing the hymn. I loved the last verse. My favorite Christmas song is Little Drummer Boy, I always imagined playing my violin for Him. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

