Windham’s Rhapsody in Blue Designs

Hello Friends, you know I am a blue and white type of gal… and I am also infatuated with history.  So, it was doubly thrilling for me to be assigned to work with Mary Koval’s new fabric line for Windham Fabrics, Rhapsody in Blue! Click here to view the collection!  If you like reproduction fabrics… you owe it to yourself to check these fabrics out.  I am totally in love with these fabrics!

#1.  Northern Star

design-3c_67-5-x-92-5

You may download the free-to-use pattern here.

You may purchase quilt kits here, and here.

#2.  Compass Star

design-5a_57-x-77

You may purchase quilt kits here and here.

#3. Blue Star (my personal favorite)

design-2a_94-x-94

You may purchase the kit here.

#4.  Wizards Spell

design-1f_49-5-x-63-5

You may purchase the kit here.

#5.  Passage of Time

design-4b_58-5-x-68-5

***

So, curious mind would like to know which is your favorite out of the 5 designs shown above?

Thanks so much for stopping by.  I am still in pre-Market mode, and I leave in about a week.  So, I’d better get back to work.  I will be sharing Market peeks before I leave town.

***

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 79): Little House on the Hill

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 80): My Heart At Home

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (September/October 2016): Highland Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Fall 2016): Rainbow

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2016/January 2017): Domino

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

McCall’s Quilting (November/December 2016): Winter Wind

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

22 thoughts on “Windham’s Rhapsody in Blue Designs

  1. Wow, you’ve been busy! I love them all, especially Blue Star and Compass Star. Great collection of fabric, too. Hugs to you all.

  2. They are all beauties, but Northern Star really caught my eye…followed by Passage of Time. I don’t know how you do it–so creative! I love blue and white, too, so I have put Northern Star on my bucket list! Thank you!!

  3. My favorite is Wizard’s Spell although Northern Star is a close second. Beautiful work, Wendy! You have had a lot of work published this year too–congratulations!

  4. I like #5, Passage of Time, best, because I have always liked that old block, “Rose Dream.” But I am surprised you didn’t use these blue fabrics in a Dresden Plate design, since you love blue pattern china so much!

  5. The collection reminds me of old transfer ware dishes… some of the platters have yellowed and became creamy colored with time.

    My favorites there would be Wizards Spell and Passage of Time.

  6. They are all wonderful! I love Blue Star the best. I followed the link before the pics downloaded and saw Blue Star and fell in love! The fabric is gorgeous and would be so fun to play with. Hope you get a little down time before market! Hugs

  7. I like Passage of Time the best, but I wouldn’t want to piece it! Lol I like Northern Star, too. Then again, Wendy, I love all your stars!

  8. My long armer made the Blue Star for the Windham shop, so I have seen this one in progress and finished – beautiful. My favorite though is Passage of Time

  9. Wow! Your designs are always so great it’s hard to choose. Blue Star probably has the most visual interest, but I really love the Northern Star. It reminds me of the Star of Bethlehem. Thank you for sharing the pattern!

  10. All the patterns are enticing. I like Passage of Time. However, my favorite is likely to,change depending on the fabrics. Quilt Market already? Oh my, how quickly time passes! Have a fabulous time!!

  11. Due to the complexity, design balance and colors, I love the Blue Star best. But, closely following are the Compass Star and Northern Star quilts. All 5 are just lovely!
    I have a message from Ft. Wayne for you. So text me back and I will relay it to you.
    Take care friend.
    Donna Jean

Leave a Reply

