Pinwheel Quilts in Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016) and McCall’s Quilting (November/December 2016)

Hello Friends, Happy Monday, Happy Week and Happy October!!!

autumn

A few months ago, I shared with you some tips on making pinwheel blocks here.

IMG_3946

Well, that’s because I was making pinwheel blocks upon pinwheel blocks for a while there for the two following pinwheel projects. :)  It truly is amazing to me how a simple unit, when used differently, can create totally different looks.  I think that’s what appeals to me in designing quilts.  I love to see what I can do with simple quilt blocks.

#1.  Pinwheel Parade in Fons and Porter’s Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016)

cover_summerscrap

Pinwheel Parade is made with Windham Fabrics’ Chambray Rose.

img_4730

I enjoyed quilting this quilt — and here are a few pictures.

IMG_1321

Here is the back:

IMG_1327

And the front of the quilt center looks like this:

img_1313

You may recall I had another editorial feature in McCall’s Quilting last year using the same Chambray Rose fabrics.

chambray-rose

#2.  Up next is Winter Wind in McCall’s Quilting (November/December 2016)

_cover-full

A special thank you to my dear friend Darlene Szabo of Sewing Graceful Quilting for quilting the quilt for me.

winterwind600s

Winter Wind is made with fabrics from Quilting Treasures‘ Canterbury line – elegant & masculine & timeless! Exclusive kits are available for a limited time here.

canterbury-recolor4_56-x-67

I have 2 copies of the magazine issues to give away.  If you would like to have it, just leave a comment! :)

That’s all for now, Friends!  Lots more to come…. but lots more to do as well, so I’d better fly for now!  Hugs to you all.

***

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 79): Little House on the Hill

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 80): My Heart At Home

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (September/October 2016): Highland Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Fall 2016): Rainbow

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

McCall’s Quilting (November/December 2016): Winter Wind

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

35 thoughts on “Pinwheel Quilts in Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016) and McCall’s Quilting (November/December 2016)

  1. Your talent for design and quilting is nothing short of amazing. Wonderful that your
    daughter can watch your progress and then create delightful stitcheries of her own.
    You are truly blessed.

  2. Congrats on both features! I also love pinwheel blocks, and your quilts and fabric choices are really pretty.

  3. Not only do I like the pinwheels but the border around them in Winter Wind. Really give great interest to the pinwheels. And of course your quilting is amazing! Thank you for the opportunity to win a magazine copy :)

  4. My SIL just made a queen size quilt for herself using the Chambrey Rose line – lovely fabrics. She did a bit of a ‘twist’ to the pinwheel to make it her own. Love the half framed pinnie block – what fun laying out a design with this.

  5. I enjoy making pinwheels. Quilts with pinwheel blocks make me think of summer days and playing with pinwheels. Your creations are all lovely.

  6. Your quilts are stunning, as always! I particularly like Winter Winds, and would love a copy of the magazine!

  7. You are a very gifted quilt designer. I have already made two of the quilts you have designed and have my eye on several more. I just love the way your quilt designs ‘flow’ and have movement. My favourite medium is scraps.

  8. I really like Winter Wind! I like the asymmetrical placement of the pinwheels in the multi frame layout. Thanks for the giveaway

  9. I just read thru your tips on pinwheels, and will press the seams open the next time I make a pinwheel. I press seams open when making lone star strips, but didn’t think of doing it for a HST. So glad you always share what works best for you.

  10. Pinwheels are one of my favorites though I haven’t made any in over a year now. Your Winter Wind design is outstanding! Love it (and would love to see the magazine too!)

  11. Your Pin Wheel Quilts are beautiful! More eye candy and beautiful quilting. Love all. Especially how you added the strips next to the Pin Wheel’s to change the looks. You also have a eye for color. Thanks for sharing ! XO

  12. I don’t know how your mind can design so many different quilt patterns and I love every one of them. Don’t stop!

  13. I have been a fan of your work for many years. This is my first post. You have a wonderful eye for taking the simple designs and creating fresh new looks. I also enjoy your machine quilting, you have inspired me time and time again. Thank you!

  14. I just love the quilt on the cover of “Scrap Quilts” so alive looking and bright… definitely want to get this magazine!! Great job!!

Comments are closed.