FREE PATTERNS & KITS using Windham’s Rosewater …. and GIVEAWAY!

Hello Friends, end of summer is imminent at our end.  Miss Baby starts school again this Thursday.  She told me yesterday she couldn’t believe she has gone through “three hard years of schooling” already!  Hard years of schooling indeed – I have to confess I rolled my eyes above her head! :o)  I have had fun having Miss Baby home this summer. We have had lots of reading, stitching, learning, lounging, daydreaming and Paddington Bear audio books!

butterfly

There’s always lots going on over here besides school starting — all will be shared in due time!  For today, I have a few free-to-use designs to share with you using Windham’s Rosewater fabric line!  I know many of you love florals — and these florals are definitely floral-icious!

Click here to view the fabrics.

Rosewater

#1.  Medallion Star:

Download pattern instructions here.

Purchase quilt kits for a limited time here and here.

High Res_Design 2f_61 x 76

#2. Birds and Stars:  Oh yes, we’ve got to somehow incorporate the Sawtooth Star blocks. :o)

Download pattern instructions here.

High Res_Design 5b_63.5 x 75.5

#3.  Maple Leaf Chain

Download pattern instructions here.

Purchase quilt kits (no border) for a limited time here.

High Res_Design 4b_66.5 x 86.5

High Res_Design 4c_56 x 76

Windham is very generously sponsoring a giveaway of a Rosewater FQ Bundle to a US address! Leave a comment between now and next Tuesday (August 30th), and tell me what quilts or projects you have completed this summer to be entered in the giveaway. Winner will be on August 31st.  The more details about your projects the better — because I am nosy!

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a lovely rest of your week.

***

My 2016 Line-up

Note:  You may click here for the exhaustive list of my published work.

Editorial Features:

American Patchwork & Quilting 2016 Calendar: In Your Corner

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 79): Little House on the Hill

Australian Quilters Companion (Issue 80): My Heart At Home

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (March/April 2016): Constellation of Stars

Fons and Porter Love of Quilting (September/October 2016): Highland Stars

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Summer 2016): Estelle

Fons and Porter Easy Quilts (Fall 2016): Rainbow

Fons and Porter Scrap Quilts (Summer 2016): Pinwheel Parade

McCall’s Quick Quilts (December 2015/January 2016): Rows of Roses

McCall’s Quick Quilts (February/March 2016): Early Birds

McCall’s Quilting (January/February 2016): Sherbet Stars

Quiltmaker (May/June 2016): Lavender Love

Quiltmaker (July/August 2016): Dawnstar

Quilters Newsletter (April/May 2016): Tartan Links

Quilts and More (Summer 2016): Tutu Cute

 

Free-to-use Designs:

January: Heads Up Crib Quilt & Playmat (Quilting Treasures)

January: Big Love using Go Big or Go Home (Windham Fabrics)

January: Star Dust using Brittany (Benartex)

January: Wish You Were Here (Hoffman Fabrics)

January: Farfalle using Whisper (Windham Fabrics)

January: Tulips Quilt using Flower Pedals (Windham Fabrics)

101 thoughts on “FREE PATTERNS & KITS using Windham’s Rosewater …. and GIVEAWAY!

  1. This summer I actually finished a UFO — Flutter (made with Laurel Burch’s butterflies) and completed Something Fishy (design by Karen Eckmeier).

  2. a quilt called Stairway to Cat Heaven – finally – it was in my to do box almost done and now it’s done – yipee

  3. The only projects I have managed to finish this summer are a couple of pillowcases. Almost finished clearing the room for sewing.

  4. My favorite of those is Birds and Stars, but they are all beautiful in those fabrics. I am still quilting my Thread Journey. I completed a rings and arcs throw, two table runners, quilted and bound some wall hangings made by my granddaughter, put together blocks from my Farmer’s Wife blocks, completed top and pieced backing for granddaughter ‘s quilt, made top using your Cuppa pattern (May), made the local quilt shop’s row from this year’s row by row, and various mending and jeans hemming (at least 6 pair) projects. Now I need to get busy doing some quilting! I didn’t think I had been doing much sewing until I listed my projects. I’m surprised!

  5. Rosewater is a beautiful collection! This summer I’ve finished a quilt, a tote bag and 4 apron panels for Christmas gifts…….also 8 Little Wallets for gift cards for Christmas.

  6. I have been very busy this summer with taking short trips and also major landscape work around our yard, so I’ve only been able to piece the front of baby quilt, sew several zipper pouches, and hand quilt some placemats as a gift.

  7. Those Rosewater fabrics are spectacularly beautiful, so old fashioned farmhouse-looking, my favorite kind of fabrics. Now, projects finished this summer are few, but many started, lol! I’m just finishing stitching on the label for a baby quilt made for our church’s quilt ministry, haven’t even had a chance to blog about it yet.

  8. Well much like procrastinating on my summer reading list back in the day when I was in school, I wouldn’t exactly say anything was completed…yet. However, summer isn’t officially over yet so there is still time right? :)

  9. this summer i really did finish 3 baby quilts, one boy one with lots of quilting, one fun zebra one, one old fashioned one with lots of triangular quilting one quilt as you go girly girl one, and then a beautifully full of batik table cloth and a fun watermelon table runner with matching place mats. wow, i guess i really did get some time in there!!!!

  10. I completed a QS lemoyne star quilt in dirty reds, browns, greens and golds. I am currently working on a basket quilt in blues and cheddars and I completed a floral quilt for my bed early in the year and have been using it through out the summer months.

  11. This summer I finished sewing a quiet book for my first grandson! It took many many hours, but was so much fun! It’s a good way to use of scraps and odds & ends from my sewing room. Thanks for having this giveaway!

  12. HELLO, since January, I’ve made 5 Baby Charity Quilts(teal+white+rose floral blocks, teal+white+lime+pink blocks for little girls; navy+red+white sailboats, peach+green+brown of forest animals,multi polka dotted for little boys). Love your Blog so much! Thank You for sharing another sweet giveaway! HAPPY DAY!

  13. only mission quits this summer big push at Dorcas Club to do quits for Africa but we are looking into quilts for Louisiana flood children If anyone has a charity contact there please send a note

  14. Oh wow! I love this fabric. I have been working on Christmas presents this summer :-) A couple of table runners and a lap quilt in the making. Thanks for sharing the beautiful patterns.

  15. The schools here started way early – the first few days of August. I would have hated that – it would have felt like 1/3 of the summer was taken. But they are getting more snow days, so I guess they had to start earlier to accommodate those.

    I have done no quilting project except pinning interesting one to Pinterest. :-) But I LOVE those fabrics – color and pattern!

  16. I finished a twin-size quilt with Kansas Troubles Favorites fabric and ruler-foot quilting. I split the top and batting into thirds, which made the quilting much easier.

  17. I love the colors in this bundle! Bird and Stars looks like the birds are standing on very tall cakes…very fun! I have finished several things this summer, trying to get things out of the way. I did the Fat Quarter Shop “Snapshots” quilt last year and finally got the quilting done, adding a scalloped border that turned out great. I also participated in the row by row, and finished that quilt, and have made several small zipper bags out of recycled candy bags (fun!), and a travel jewelry roll to use for teaching a class. Thanks for sharing the great giveaway!

  18. Quilted and bound a quilt for my lovely aunt (we share a birthday date), 4 commission wallhangings for a presentations, 20 mini key chain purses (own pattern) for special order, lots of hexie flowers for 2 different quilts in progress, help my Mom set up her special exhibit with Quilter’s Hall of Fame, rail fence colorwash (Marti Mitchel technique) lap quilt, 3 baby quilts with donations for charity, designed tute for feather tree and tested a pattern (made a large and mini)for Christmas in July Hop, a mini ‘freedom flag’ wallhanging, mini Back Porch Blooms, charity quilt from HSTs, and 2 doll quilts with dollie.

  19. I have finished 2 quilt tops, ready for quilting-Thread Journey, Wendy Sheppard’s beautiful design & Pixie Summerhome, Julie Dueck’s unusual design. I am a beginner, so lots of free-motion practice in the near future! I am cutting out 3 baby bibs & burp cloths for my nephew’s new baby boy, with a personal touch of his three initials on each to match (monkeys, squirrels & Pooh bear of course).

  20. I made a queen size quilt and two ruffled shams for my granddaughters new bed. I had enough scraps left over to make her a lap quilt to match. Now I have another queen and a baby quilt cut out and ready to sew.

  21. What a beautiful bundle of fabrics! Quilting and stitching are my therapy as I’m a caregiver. Finished a quilt for adult daughter and used scraps plus charm squares to make baby quilt for grand-niece and am also working on the Ivory Springs mystery quilt. Have also embroidered block of each month of year as a table topper. Have made wool applique for framed monthly mini quilts as well. I’ve made so many more projects, but I’ve probably shared too much already! Thanks so much for this terrific chance to win the lovely fabric bundle!

  22. I have been very busy this summer. I have hand quilted three quilts and made nine more tops, ready to quilt. I have a queen size quilt almost ready to start cutting out. Love quilting and this giveaway!!

  23. I have been working diligently on three quilts to enter my guild’s show in September. Fortunately, I have not procrastinated and they are getting finished with a day or two to spare! One is a block of the month Christmas quilt, one is a twin size cowboy boot quilt for my grandson and one is a miniature red white and blue quilt just for the fun of it. I made the miniature from scraps left over from a bee project. Whew! it has been busy.

  24. I am presently working on 4 October themed pillows,using Michael Millers Spooky fabric, featuring ravens, skulls, feathers- very Steampunky, some in an elegant damask. I’m going to back them in black velvet.Fun!

  25. I made a lap quilt for one of my sisters – she was recovering from surgery. I used a Kit called Melodies which used fabrics from Sarah Campbell’s gorgeous fabrics. A Minky-like fabric for the backing made it so cozy!

  26. I just finished a memory quilt for my 40th high school reunion, to be part of a silent auction to raise fund for said reunion. I have also pieced a Miami Dolphins quilt and a jelly roll race quilt plus another jelly roll race type quilt of my own design. And I’ve made 3 photo wall hanging and a couple of baby quilts. I start quilting the tops tomorrow. Whew!!

  27. I completed a lone star quilt pattern by Kaye Wood called Nebula. I did mine with a light teal in the center radiating out to blue, dark blue, then purple points on a background of black. When I decided on the color scheme, I already had the name of Aurora Borealis. As a break from working on the stars, I did a very large vintage scrap log cabin.

  28. Oh my, I have not finished a quilt top yet this summer,,,but I have made quite a few t-shirt fabric dresses…both from new material and by taking the leftovers from tshirt quilts that I have made and using up all those scraps into dresses for myself…So much fun in doing that….But I must say this fabric line is simply lovely in those Ohio Star blocks,,,and those cute little birds…yes, oh, my, indeed…..

  29. I pieced and quilted a walk walk hanging I donated to a Catholic Church in New Mexico to be raffled for fund raiser. I also made 2 of my nieces quilts to be given to them for Christmas.

  30. What a beautiful bundle! I’ve only managed to finish a second Judy Niemeyer quilt, the Prismatic Star. I’m close to finishing a scrappy row quilt. This seems to be my year for trying my hand at scrappy projects. Thank goodness I have a couple of retreats coming up, so I can hopefully get caught up on two WIP’s!

  31. I had a long list of UFOs for the summer, but I’m most happy that I completed my oldest quilt first! That was pretty amazing for me. Thanks.

  32. I finished one of the block of the months I started last year in to a “flimsy” stage. It is now it the “to be quilted” stack. I also made a pair of slacks and a pair of capris for me and hemmed two uniform skirts for a friend. Those pleats were so hard to hem. Sure glad there weren’t a lot of them!

  33. This summer I made a quilt top[ with my Daughter…we did same Pattern , different fabrics. we are set to quilt them both soon! :) We have been cutting Tumblers also, and I am working on a couple baby quilts for Oct & Dec babies.

    Thank you for chance to win your Give-a-way too! :D

  34. Oh My, these fabrics are beautiful, all three patterns, while different, are all awesome!!

    One of my summer projects was completing the ZenDoodle pillow sham for my grandson. Another project was the family signature quilt for my Aunt, for her 90th Birthday. I am midstream with your summer “Harmony” quilt, Wendy. It is going to be a beauty. “Thread Journey” is still on my plate, and I think it will remain there as it is getting time to gear up for holiday projects.

  35. I have completed an Ocean Waves quilt using Ambleside fabrics for a grand daughter’s graduation next year. Have top completed of a Moda layer cake quilt using Lecien Princess Rose fabrics. It has some rather large empty spaces on it so I may stitch some of my mother’s vintage doilies to the squares. Have 3 other quilts in various processes for grandsons graduations, and lots of ideas for others.

  36. I’ve made a table runner for a September wedding and I’m working on two quilts, one of which is close to being finished!! Only a couple more hours on it!! So thankful to feel like sewing again.

  37. I quilted 5 tops for my Mom, made a twin size for my DGD, and a baby quilt for our newest DGS, born the 9th. I also put together a quilt for a friend battling cancer. And in between those projects, I am trying to get a bed quilt made for my bed. LOL

  38. I completely finished a simple plus quilt, two small quilt tops, two lap size quilt tops for Christmas gifts, and two small projects for my quilt group’s challenge prompt. Now I’ve got to get quilting and stop starting new projects. Insert crazy laugh here as I know for every completion I’ve got two starts! Oy!

  39. The most important one to me is I finished piecing my Red and White Vortex quilt. Other then that I have done lots of Interleave quilts.

  40. I have been working on table toppers for a monthly class that I am taking. Also, I have been finishing some UFOs. And, finally I am currently working on a new tote bag.

  41. Very pretty colors! I have made a few quilts this summer, one for a family bride, one for a charity giveaway made of cowboy fabric, and one 4 patch variation with floral fabrics just because it’s so pretty, I love the Maple Leaf Chain pattern, thanks for sharing it,

  42. Lovely fabric and beautiful patterns. Alas, I have no completed projects for the summer. I have been busy moving, sorting and de-cluttering. We sold our house in Galveston and now have stuff from two houses in one house PLUS a storage unit. I’ve almost de-cluttered every room in my house and will start bringing things from the storage unit soon.

  43. Beautiful quilts. I love the Medallion Star, but each is wonderful. Summer has been busy but I have managed to complete a birthday, baby and qal quilt as well as a cute summer table runner. As well I finally finished my long running cross stitch project. Yeah!!!

    I hope Miss Baby’s year isn’t too tough this year. ;-)

  44. I have just finished a quilt made in lovely traditional rose prints for my mother-in-law which featured a center panel of larger rose sprays that allowed me to outline and highlight the prints with stitching in the ditch around the roses to make them pop and then FMQ in the open areas. I feathered all the borders and I am quite pleased with how it all turned out…and I called it “Rosemae Memories” honoring the town where she got her first teaching job and met my father-in-law. She just turned 88 this month and her heart is needing her to rest daily and so this quilt lets her know how much she is loved as she rests and celebrates her accomplishments in youth and meeting the love of her life.

  45. My nephew got married this summer, so I was busy making a quilt for the shower and a tree skirt and Christmas stockings for the wedding.

  46. I took a longarm class so that I could finish three quilts. I’ve finished two and the other is in my car. I also joined several swaps so I’ve made Christmas coasters and some blocks for the swaps. I’m going to go on a cruise shortly so I’m going to make a cross shoulder bag out of waxed canvas.

  47. What a lovely fabric package! I have not done much quilting this summer as we are traveling. I did make a bag for carrying refrigerated items all from things I had in my stash. My husband uses it and always receives many comments on it! It will hold a couple gallons of milk with no problem. I have also made a baby wuilt from 9 fat quarters. A quick, fun easy project using 4.5″ by 20.5 inch strips. I did purchase the fat quarters during our travels.

  48. I just finished a Rickey Timms Kaleidoscope quilt that just about kicked my butt. I usually walk away if I have to pull something apart 3 or more times but this project took 3 times 3. Still would not have finished it without some help.

  49. Lovely fabrics!!! Sadly, I have only one baby quilt to show for all summer! But there are reasons: a house move, major travel, and major surgery all came to us since April, leaving very little time for sewing. Looking forward to a (much) calmer fall! (lynnstck[at]yahoo.com)

  50. I’ve finished a few quilts — one that has blocks pieced by my mom, my grandma, and I; my biggest quilt to date for ME!: and a Quilt of Valor for my grandpa, a WWII veteran.

  51. I haven’t completed any sewing projects. I have cleaned out and reorganized 6 cupboards and 1 closet, dug up and cleaned out an old flower bed, and processed a lot food for the freezer.

  52. I managed to finish a queen sized bed quilt of my own design for a wedding gift (the wedding was last fall!) as well as a baby quilt and a single bed quilt for a grand-nephew. Most productive summer I’ve had in a long time.

  53. I have completed 2 table runners, quilted 4 full-size quilt tops, quilted 2 large throws, and pieced a couple of wall-hangings….on my ‘almost finished’ list is my Harmony Summer Mystery top, my Thread Journey top, and another batik wall hanging….they are ALMOST ready to quilt! Thank you and Windham for a chance to win…these are MY kind of fabrics…florals are my favorite.

  54. I have finished a BOM from my local quilt shop from last years BOM. I finished an Arkansas Crossroads for a charity quilt. Am working on 3 different projects right now. Love this fabric line!

  55. This Summer I have finished 3 quilts and a small table topper called Harvest Blessings. Now of course in that same time period I have added double that number of projects to make!
    “Sew much fabric, Sew little time”

  56. This summer I finished cutting out a quilt. My gimpy arm isn’t letting me get much farther. It hasn’t stopped me from adding to the fabric collection…

  57. Wendy, these fabrics are beautiful
    Thank you so much for sharing your quilt patterns. I will print them out!!
    Here we are, back to boiling hot weather. I am taking mom to the dentist today for tooth extraction. wish me luck and prayers for mom.- and dad too. He and I have to hold her hand and be brave

  58. First as always I loved Miss Baby’s comments! Sharing her words always makes me smile! Wendy – I loved all 3 of your pink and brown quilts! Each design was stunning and beautiful. Even the chicken quilt caught my eye. As a child my job was to take care of our chickens. Your hen designs were a blast from my past. Your stylized elegant hens were beautifully placed on that quilt. Thank you for all that you share and do.

  59. I’ve made several scrap quilts. The one with wonky houses and trees was so much fun to make and is my favorite thing I’ve made in the last few months. I’ve made a handful of zip pouches, pillow covers, tote bags, etc. Right now I’m working on a set of seasonal table runners for a bridal shower gift — the invitation was a surprise and only 10 days notice so I’m sewing as fast as I can!

  60. I must admit I haven’t finished anything yet! Spending too much time in the garden. I am working on a number of quilts but they are no where near completion. Love the Rosewater Collection.
    nikilsend(at)outlook(dot)com

  61. I haven’t finished anything yet, but I have been working on my LQS block of the month and keeping up with that. I am also close to completing a paper pieced rose pillow for my niece’s birthday. And lastly, I’m working on the Craftsy BOM.

  62. hard to believe that summer is almost over. sigh. where did the time go? lol. i have finished a baby quilt for a great niece due in October. it is bow ties, the background of all are light purple and blue kinda swirled. on top one is ramdom light bulbs, on another kitties and feathers and birdies, on another is just kitties, and another is yellow feathers. all form the same set so they match really well. these are all on moda white backgroudnd. the border and binding is a light purple/white (reminds me of the galaxy). the back is one big square of paw prints in lots of bright colors going every which way, surrounded by the same purple fabric.

  63. I just finished Coral Queen of the Sea. It was a panel with a doll, mermaid tail, skirt, quilt, pillow and toy, all with ocean theme. My Granddaughter is turning 6 and just learned to swim this summer, so her birthday party will be at a swim center with a mermaid theme. Other than that, I have been finishing UFOs.

  64. I have a finished quilt top it was a cross/plus larger sized lap quilt. I have a disappearing nine patch a few blocks from being completed then I will quilt them both. I love your projects with this fabric line. Thank you for the links to the tutorials. Thank you for the giveaway.

  65. My sister and I held ‘Grandma Camp’ with three of our grandkids. We helped them sew drawstring bags and notebook covers and of course some other crafty items. I also made a small table topper with leftover hst from an old project.

  66. This summer, I have finished 4 bibs and one lap quilt. The lap quilt was made for my husband’s aunt and you can see it on my blog. The bibs were made and personalized for friends having grandbabies. I am now in the process of piecing the back of a CrossCut quilt. It’s going to be a modern beauty! Oh, I’d love create something awesome with that bundle of fabric too!

  67. Oh my…you guys are making me look bad! I have only finished one queen size quilt that I started a year ago. I’ve got two more queen size quilts that I’m working on now and a baby quilt that has become a UFO recently. I love that Rose Water bundle. It is especially pretty in the Medallion Star. Thanks for the giveaway and the patterns. I downloaded two of the patterns. :)

  68. This summer, I made a baby quilt for our newest granddaughter. My daughter-in-law and I picked out the fabric after she chose a herringbone pattern. The colors included coral, aqua, peach, terra-cotta, and white. I backed the quilt in a aqua minky fabric. All are colors in her nursery. I also quilted two matching throw pillows, one with the matching herringbone pattern on a smaller scale and one in a modified star pattern.

  69. Gorgeous floral fabrics, and great projects. I hope Miss Baby has a wonderful year. I haven’t finished as much as I had hoped this summer. I did get one finished recently, and have a few more ready to quilt. Binding is already made for 2 of them. Need to get to them all. Thanks.

  70. Well, I only finished 2 BIG projects this summer. Both were for our large quilt show in Wichita. first was a king sized strippy quilt that I had started in 2010 then set aside to work on other things. Now I am proud to say it is on the bed. And what’s even better….my DH loves it! The second was a hand-appliqued quilt I had started 2 yrs ago. It doesn’t actually take that long to do one quilt. It’s that I have to start other quilts so I will have some hand work when watching TV while my applique quilt is being worked on with the DSM. And I am totally excited and proud to say that my applique quilt won BOS and Best Applique for the quilt show! How exciting was that!?

  71. I’ve finished quite a few projects this summer. I’m not sure if I will remember them all, but I’ll name a few. Lat week I put the final binding stitches in 2 Prairie Women’s Sewing Circle quilts. I also finished the Bonus Quilt from Lori Holt’s Great Granny Squared book. Before that, I added a faux piped binding to a Bargello Americana for my husband. Now I’m working on the binding of the Prairie Cactus Table Runner by Kansas Troubles Quilters after adding a bunch of applique to the plain center area….hoping to finish that this weekend :)

  72. Oo, I really like Medallion Star! That will make a beautiful quilt in many different fabrics. I think a Christmas one would be especially nice :)

    Let’s see, I’ve been quite busy this summer. I’ve finished a cousin’s baby quilt featuring a cute panel with owls, foxes and hedgehogs; a purple and gray lap quilt for a friend with Parkinson’s disease; a toddler quilt for the Project Linus charity; two snap-on window covers for our boat; and four dog beds stuffed with trimming scraps from these and other projects! Going back through my list of projects, I realize I started many more things that are currently in the UFO stage. Need to remedy that soon!!

    One of my UFOs that I will probably finish next week (so I can’t count it for this give away, rats!) is the quilt I’m making with your Movement in Squares pattern. My husband says it is one of his favorite patterns! I’m quilting a different motif inside each colored square, so that’s been quite fun. Thanks for sharing your great, free patterns with us, Wendy!

  73. I SO wish that I had a list of projects to share with you, but I’ve sewn nothing while I’m waiting for my daughter’s bedroom to be made into my sewing room. My husband is building cabinets and using her bedroom to do all the painting and varnishing….so at the moment, it’s definitely a workroom but not for sewing. I can hardly wait to have my own space….these fabrics would be great as a first project in my new sewing room! thanks for the chance.

  74. So late, never mind. I have finished some sewing cases, an applique case which includes a sand paper board and tools necessary for applique preparation and two full size bed quilts. I have worked on a few of my other projects: wool applique wall hangings, a BOM and some embroidery as well. I have quilted two quilts that will be used for a raffle for our Quilting Group. Love being retired lol. I would be most honoured to be selected for this giveaway as the colours in the fabric are just drop dead beautiful. Makes one heart sing!

Leave a Reply

